Please contact me!
Image Source: Autumn Day in the Eifel, by Fritz von Wille. Uploaded by Gottlib. Adapted from Goodfon.com.
Search LibrarySearch
Known as LibrarySearch, this interdisciplinary database is UofT's largest--and your best bet when more focused databases let you down. It combs through more than 1,200 databases, journal packages, e-book collections, and other resources ranging from the sciences to the social sciences and humanities. At its best, LibrarySearch finds relevant results you won't find elsewhere; at its worst, however, LibrarySearch can overwhelm you will a mish-mash of results from different subject areas.
The MLA is the major English literature database. It covers criticism related to literature, linguistics and folklore from 1921 to the present, and contains more than 1-million citations to journal articles, series, books, working papers and conference proceedings. Most of the materials indexed before 1963 are American.
Cooke, Paul. The Lives of Others and Contemporary German Film : A Companion. Berlin: De Gruyter, 2013.
Ginsberg, Terri, and Andrea Mensch, eds. A Companion to German Cinema. Chichester, West Sussex, England: Wiley-Blackwell, 2012.
Baranowski, Shelley, Armin Nolzen, and Claus-Christian W. Szejnmann, eds. A Companion to Nazi Germany. New York: Wiley-Blackwell, 2018.
Jefferies, Matthew. The Ashgate Research Companion to Imperial Germany. Abingdon, Oxon: Routledge, 2016.
Rossol, Nadine, and Benjamin Ziemann, eds. The Oxford Handbook of the Weimar Republic. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2022.
Smith, Helmut Walser. The Oxford Handbook of Modern German History. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2011.
Bartram, Graham, ed. The Cambridge Companion to the Modern German Novel. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2004.
Furness, Raymond, and Malcolm Humble. A Companion to Twentieth Century German Literature. New York: Routledge, 1997.
Gibbs, Marion Elizabeth, and Sidney M. Johnson. Medieval German Literature. New York: Routledge, 2000.
Kniesche, Thomas W., ed. Contemporary German Crime Fiction: A Companion. Berlin: De Gruyter, 2019.
McCarthy, Margaret, ed. German Pop Literature: A Companion. Berlin: De Gruyter, 2015.
Schütte, Uwe, ed. German Pop Music: A Companion. Berlin: De Gruyter, 2017.
Altman, Matthew C., ed. The Palgrave Handbook of German Idealism. Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan, 2014.
Ameriks, Karl, ed. The Cambridge Companion to German Idealism. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2000.
Brusslan, Elizabeth Millán, ed. The Palgrave Handbook of German Romantic Philosophy. Cham, Switzerland: Palgrave Macmillan, 2020.
Gjesdal, Kristin, and Michael N. Forster, eds. The Oxford Handbook of German Philosophy in the Nineteenth Century. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2015.
Rajan, Tilottama., and Daniel. Whistler. The Palgrave Handbook of German Idealism and Poststructuralism. Cham: Springer International Publishing, 2023.
Colvin, Sarah. The Routledge Handbook of German Politics & Culture. London: Routledge, 2015.
MLA Works Cited Citation Examples Chapter 4: Documenting Sources Chapter 5: The List of Works Cited
Chapter 6: Citing Sources in the Text
MLA Style Guide - Purdue University
Chicago Manual of Style Quick Guide - Notes & Bibliography Style
Chicago Manual of Style Full Guide
Pocket Oxford German Dictionary (English-German)
Usage Dictionary (English-German / German-English) - Gebrauchswörterbuch Englisch-Deutsch
Germanic Literature & Cinema (St. Mike's)
The Concise Cinegraph: Encyclopaedia of German Cinema
Encyclopedia of German Literature
Contemporary German Fiction Writers (Gale)
This series provides detailed critical essays—often by well-known critics—on a wide range of authors. Works by anonymous authors (e.g. Táin Bó Cúailnge) are listed in the title section. Most essays are available online in Literature Criticism Online, a database comprising 10 print series and consisting of more than 250 volumes compiled over the past 30 years. Using this online collection, you can search individual series titles (e.g. Contemporary Literature Criticism) all together, in a selected combination, or individually. You can find articles on such topics as Irish nationalism in literature, the Irish novel, and the Irish literary renaissance. Arranged alphabetically, the entries provide in-depth critical essays on an author’s work, along with biographical facts, a list of major works, and related sources. Usually, the essays give an overview of a writer’s work or themes.
Gale Literature Resource Centre
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Literary Theory
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Literature
Oxford Bibliographies: Late Medieval German Literature
Oxford Bibliographies: Israeli Literature
Deutsches Literatur-Lexikon Online - Dictionary of German Literature Online In German
Germany and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History, a Multidisciplinary Encyclopedia
Medieval Germany: An Encyclopedia
Oxford Bibliographies: German Influences in America
Oxford Bibliographies: German Politics & Government
Read the first few paragraphs of a scholarly journal article to identify several features common to scholarly articles. Please review this brief glossary before starting.