Research guides: HIS465: Gender and International Relations: Home

Welcome

This guide was created for students in Gender and International Relations. It introduces key resources, and makes suggestions for further research.

Books

Enter your keywords in the search box. Keep the keywords simple. Examples:

Topic: How do campaign promises sway voters?

campaign
promises
voters

How do I choose good keywords?

Using the library catalogue

Begin from the advance search option on the library website.

If you know the title or author of the book, change the search field on the left to title and/or author.

If you're searching for a books on a topic, enter your keywords into the search.

Other Libraries

Other library catalogues
The UTL Web site provides an Other Library Catalogue list with links to selected local, Canadian, and International Library catalogues, as well as union catalogues, databases that allow you to search multiple catalogues at once, and periodical lists. To access the list, place your mouse over the Resources & Research tab on the library home page, and then slide to the bottom of the list.
WorldCat
Search library catalogues from thousands of academic & public libraries from North America & the rest of the world.
Interlibrary Loans
If we do not have a book, or article at the U of T Libraries, members of the U of T community can request it from other libraries through our interlibrary loan department.

Journal Articles

Use a database to find journal articles on your topic. Key databases are listed below.

Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Provides interdisciplinary coverage of gender-related topics including women's studies, men's studies, ethnic studies, health issues, and sexual diversity.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citation information and abstracts for international research, including journals, books, book chapters, reviews, and dissertations.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles about issues that influence women's lives around the world.
LGBT Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to historically-significant LGBT journals, magazines, regional newspapers, and books.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The definitive index of literature covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present.
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books This link opens in a new window

More article databases
To find more, select "Subjects A to Z" on the library home page. Then choose a discipline, such as "Women and Gender Studies," or "International Relations."

Online Texts and Microform

Primary Sources

1. Start with what you know: You may uncover references to valuable primary sources in your textbook, course notes, or bibliographies from your journal articles and other secondary sources.

2. Use the library catalogue to find books and other kinds of primary sources in the library collection.

Do a keyword search for your topic, and include one of the following keywords:

sources
documents
texts
correspondence
diaries
interviews
pamphlets
personal narratives

3. Use reliable digital collections

Digital Collections

For government, international organization, and inter-governmental organizations see the appropriate tabs. For a more comprehensive list of primary source databases, go to the library home page, and select Subjects A to Z. Choose a subject. Or, see Primary Source Databases for Historical Research.

Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970: The Middle East Online Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office, and Cabinet Papers.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Published non-fiction works by African American authors from pre-contact times to the present.
China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980 This link opens in a new window
English-language primary sources relating to Chinese interactions with the West.
Conditions & Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945 This link opens in a new window
Sources on life in German-occupied states from intelligence reports available to the British Foreign Office during World War II.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Primary and secondary resources related to the study of global imperialism, spanning the last 500 years. Includes British, French, Spanish, Portuguese, and indigenous perspectives.
Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through Twentieth Century Archival Documents This link opens in a new window
First World War: Personal Experiences This link opens in a new window
Personal writings, printed material, military files, ephemera, and artwork describing the experiences of soldiers, civilians and governments during World War I.
Gerritsen Collection This link opens in a new window
Documents from Western Europe and English from 1543 to 1945 which trace the evolution of feminist consciousness and women's rights. Includes monographs, periodicals, and pamphlets in fifteen languages.
Iraq 1914-1974: The Middle East Online Series 2 Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950 This link opens in a new window
Documents and files for the study and understanding of the challenges facing the European peoples in the aftermath of World War II.
Slavery, abolition and social justice, 1490-2007 This link opens in a new window
Primary sources, including maps, documents, essays, and more, documenting global involvement in the slave trade from 1490 to 2007.
Testaments to the Holocaust This link opens in a new window
Documents and printed materials documenting the anti-Semitic activities of the German Nazi Party from the Wiener Library, London.
Women and Social Movements, International - 1840 to Present This link opens in a new window
Primary source collections documenting the involvement of women in various social movements from around the globe.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (scholar's edition) This link opens in a new window
Primary source collections documenting the involvement of American women in various social movements over the course of four centuries.
Women in the National Archives This link opens in a new window
Index of documents relating to women in the British National Archives.

Roper iPoll Up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion. 1935 to present. Surveys were originally gathered by academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as Gallup Organization, Harris Interactive, Pew Research Associates, and many more

Non-Governmental Organizations

Web Portals

Databases Indexing NGO Publications

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
Try limiting to 'report' as an article type
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Provides interdisciplinary coverage of gender-related topics including women's studies, men's studies, ethnic studies, health issues, and sexual diversity.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
International research in public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. Provides access to journal articles, books, government documents, research and conference reports, and more.

Organizations

Governmental and Intergovernmental Organizations

Directories & Research Tools

Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
World events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II-through the 21st century.