Skip to Main Content

Research Guides

Family Care Office Library and Resource Centre

About the Resource Centre

Resource Centre

Adoption

  • Adoption Council of Canada: The ACC is Canada’s voice for adoption -- unifying communities’ commitment to permanency for waiting children and youth. We support and encourage people along their adoption journey, connecting them to the families and resources they need.
  • Adoption Council of Ontario: ACO is a non-profit charitable organization formed in 1987 by representatives of the adoption community. Their services include adoption information and referrals, seminars, a library, newsletter, and helpline.
  • AdoptOntario: AdoptOntario is for families interested in adoption – whether approved for adoption, in the process of being assessed, or making initial inquiries about the process. They support the connection between families, and children waiting in Ontario’s foster care system for a permanent family, using technology, clinical support and cooperation with adoption workers in Ontario's public and private adoption systems.
  • Government of Canada: Adoption Authorities: This Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada page has links to Canada's provincial and territorial Central Adoption Authorities, info for adoptive parents before they travel, and a description of the IRCC's role in adoption. 
  • Government of Ontario: Adoption Process: The Ontario Ministry of Children, Community and Social Services website has services and resources for whichever step of the adoption process you're at.

Child Care

Child Care at U of T

The Family Care Office can provide you with information about child care options near the University, near your place of work and/or near where you live. To receive information for child care centres, in-home child care registries and caregiver registries, call: 416-978-0951 or email us. Much more information is located on the Family Care Office's main website. Topics on the FCO site include:

  • Babysitting: Babysitter Listing, tips for finding the right caregiver, how to conduct reference checks 
  • Back-Up Child Care: information about childcare centres that accept children on an emergency basis
  • Breastfeeding at U of T: a list of places on the three U of T campuses to breastfeed, chestfeed or pump
  • Family Support Programs: friendly environments for children to play and learn that also provide a way for parents and caregivers in the community to meet one another, which helps caregivers to break the isolation

Child Care Resources

  • Child Care Canada: Resources for Canadian Parents: In an effort to assist parents who have questions about accessing child care and managing their child care arrangements, CRRU has developed this resource to provide answers to some of their frequently asked questions. The site provides information for parents looking for quality child care that's affordable and meets the needs of their families.
  • Child Care Fee Subsidy: City of Toronto: A Child Care Fee Subsidy helps a family with the cost of licensed child care. You can apply for a fee subsidy as soon as you know you are pregnant or expecting a child through adoption.
  • Finding Quality Childcare: A Guide for Parents in Canada: This site provides information for parents in Canada looking for quality child care that’s affordable and meets the needs of their families.
  • Healthy Moms Discount Card: The Healthy Moms Discount Card is the key to citywide savings on natural products and services for your family
  • Licensed Child Care Finder: Input your address into the City of Toronto's locator to find a child care centre near you. This locator can also find before-after school programs.

Nannies

  • Execu-Nannies is a Nanny and Caregiver Agency in Toronto with 28 years of experience that provides a variety of care services to meet each family's individual needs.
  • Nanny Angel Network is a registered charity providing free, professional relief childcare for GTA-area mothers with cancer.

Programs & Services

  • Alternative Schools: Toronto District School Board: Alternative schools are safe, highly engaged, smaller school environments. They use non-traditional hands-on approaches to learning the required Ontario Ministry of Education Curriculum.
  • Huron Playschool Co-operative: Huron Playschool has been a vital part of the Annex Community since 1968. Over the last 50 years, families and teachers have worked together to offer nursery school programs, summer camps, childcare and after-school programs.
  • Nobody's Perfect: Government of Canada: Nobody's Perfect is a facilitated, community-based parenting program for parents of children from birth to age five. The program is designed to meet the needs of parents who are young, single, socially or geographically isolated, or who have low income or limited formal education.
  • Precious Moments Babeez: Precious Moments Babeez is a team of PNSWs, Labour and Postpartum Doulas, Registered Nurses, Night Nannies and Sleep Consultants offering a diverse range of services to support your journey from pregnancy, through childbirth and into parenting.

Child Development & Special Needs Parenting

Programs & Services

  • Bob Rumball Canadian Centre of Excellence for the Deaf: This free adult education program is offered to Deaf and hard of hearing residents of Ontario. They also provide provides employment services to deaf adult newcomers to Canada, sign language services, and family resources.
  • ConnectABILITY: ConnectABILITY is a website and virtual community dedicated to lifelong learning and support for people who have an intellectual disability, their families and support networks.
  • Introduction to Special Education in Ontario: An overview from Ontario's Ministry of Education
  • LHIN: Supporting Youth with Mental Health Care Needs: The Local Health Integration Network works together with local school boards and community partners to support young clients with mental health and addictions to help them stay at school and succeed.
  • Pathway Chart for Developmental Concerns: This chart from Healthy Kids Toronto points to services and programs for if your child has developmental concerns.
  • Services for Children with Extra Support Needs: The City of Toronto provides services to licensed child care programs in Toronto for children with extra support needs and their families.
  • Toronto Autism Schools: This site provides a searchable list of schools in Toronto that provide support for autistic students.
  • Toronto Region Respite Services: Respiteservices.com provides assistance to families of individuals with a developmental disability including autism and/or a physical disability, which includes resources, information, and options related to respite care available in Toronto. Their CHAP Program is the city's leading resource for one-to-one Independent Respite Providers within developmental services.

Publications & Resources

  • Asperger's Society of Ontario: The ASO is a not-for-profit organization founded in 2000 by parents of children with Asperger Syndrome and concerned professionals. Their Searchable Resource Database is continually updated serves those with Asperger Syndrome, their families and other interested individuals.
  • Geneva Centre for Autism: Geneva Centre for Autism is an international leader in the development and delivery of clinical intervention services and training. Their Resources page includes links to readings, videos, current research, and info for students.
  • Helping Kids with Autism Cope with COVID-19: Kids Health provides ways to help children understand what's going on during the pandemic and what to expect from day-to-day, which will help them adjust and even thrive during this time.
  • How to Avoid Burnout When You're Parenting a Child with Special Needs: This article from Huffington Post has talks to parents and experts in the field, as offers tips to help parents reduce their stress levels. 
  • Learning Disabilities Association of Ontario: LDAO assists people with learning disabilities and their families in meeting their expressed needs. Their resources include paid programs, publications, and paid online courses.
  • Parenting Children with Special Needs during COVID-19: The Mayo Clinic provides suggestions for parents to help them successfully navigate the pandemic. 

Conception, Pregnancy & New Parents

Pregnancy

  • Best Start: Information on Pregnancy: Best Start, a key program of Health Nexus has guides and digital brochures with reliable information on pregnancy. The materials can be accessed online for free in PDF format.
  • Guide to Healthy Pregnancy: Download the Public Health Agency of Canada's The Sensible Guide to a Healthy Pregnancy for information on pregnancy and: healthy eating and pregnancy; folic acid; alcohol; physical activity; smoking; oral health; Omega-3 fatty acids and fish; and depression during pregnancy.
  • Guide to Understanding Prenatal Screening Tests: Prenatal screening tests are blood tests, sometimes with an ultrasound, which are done starting at 11 weeks of pregnancy. They are screening tests, which means they tell you your chance of having a baby with Down syndrome, trisomy 18 or an open neural tube defect.
  • Prenatal Classes: Mount Sinai Hospital: The Prenatal Education Program at Mount Sinai Hospital offers a variety of prenatal and parenting classes to meet your needs. All of their classes are taught by experienced health-care professionals.
  • Teen Pregnancy: Government of Canada Information: In this section, teenagers, family members and community organizations will find links to information about teen pregnancy, prevention and related issues.
  • What To Expect: Pregnancy Tools & Resources: The pregnancy resources individuals need, from what to expect each week, to how to prepare for labor, and beyond.

Fertility

Breastfeeding

  • BabyCenter: The world's number one digital parenting resource, with information and support that reaches 100 million people monthly. This page includes a Guide for Beginners and resources on how to store breast milk, positions for breastfeeding, and how to handle pressure to wean. 
  • City of Toronto: Includes information in multiple languages on services, the right to breastfeed, and expressing breast milk. 
  • Information Sheets from the International Breastfeeding Centre.
  • 10 Reasons for Low Milk Supply When Breastfeeding: From Today's Parent.

Sleep

  • Baby Sleep: Articles and resources from the American Academy of Pediatrics. 
  • Safe Sleep: Brochure, video, and resources from the Government of Canada that promote awareness of Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) and safe infant sleep environments. HealthLink BC has additional resources in multiple languages. 
  • Sleep Tips by Age: Guidelines from Baby Sleep 101.
  • Sleep Well, Sleep Safe: A free, downloadable PDF from Health Nexus with information to help infants and parents sleep well. 

New Parents

  • Best Start: Information on Caring for a Baby: Best Start, a key program of Health Nexus has guides and digital brochures with reliable information on pregnancy. The materials can be accessed online for free in PDF format.
  • Post-partum Mood Disorders Program: The Women’s Connection Program at the Parkdale Queen West Community Health Centre offers individual counselling and a weekly mutual support group aimed at individuals who are experiencing symptoms of post-partum mood disorders or would like to learn more about post-partum mood disorders.
  • Self-Care for New and Expectant Parents in the Pandemic: New and expectant mothers face a new range of obstacles and challenges to the health and well-being of themselves and their families during the pandemic. Psychology Today provides ways for new moms and moms-to-be to guard their mental health.
  • What to Expect: First Year Tools & Resources: Everything that parents have to look forward to now that they have a baby, from milestones to baby's growth, plus tips to make life easier.

Toronto Public Health Resources

TPH reports to the Board of Health and is responsible for the health and well-being of all residents. Among its services, they develop and implement public policy and practices, promote healthy living, and advocate for conditions that improve the health of Toronto residents. 

  • eChat: Talk with a Public Health Nurse: the eChat is a free and confidential service for residents to ask about programs and services for child and family health, prenatal and postpartum depression and anxiety, chronic disease and injury prevention, mental health promotion, substance use, senior health, and healthy eating. 
  • Breastfeeding: Includes information in multiple languages on services, the right to breastfeed, and expressing breast milk. 
  • Healthy Pregnancy: This site will provide you and your partner with information regarding health before, during, and after pregnancy; common changes during pregnancy; labour and birth; getting ready to be a parent; and TPH prenatal programs and services.
  • Immunization: Includes vaccine facts sheets, immunization coverage rates in Toronto schools, and info on student vaccination clinics. 
  • Sexual Health Clinics: Check their map or table for drop-in hours and appointment hours at clinics across Toronto.

Mayo Clinic Resources

The Mayo Clinic is a non-profit organization committed to clinical practice, education and research, providing expert, whole-person care to everyone who needs healing. 

Doulas & Midwives

  • Association of Ontario Midwives: AOM's mission is to advance the clinical and professional practice of Indigenous/Aboriginal and Registered midwives in Ontario.
  • The Nesting Place: The Nesting Place offers Birth Doula Care and Postpartum Doula Care across all of Toronto, the GTA, Peel, Halton, York and Durham.
  • Sages-Femmes Rouge Valley Midwives: SRVM provides quality care to clients throughout pregnancy, birth, and for six weeks postpartum. Their catchment area includes Scarborough and West Durham (Pickering, Ajax, and Whitby). 
  • Toronto Birth Centre: The TBC is a not-for-profit corporation licensed under the Independent Health Facilities Act. Their purpose is to achieve optimal health and wellness for the whole community through culturally integrated care, education and research, and through supporting the practice of Aboriginal midwifery in its fullest scope both culturally and professionally.

Divorce & Separation

CLEO Resources (Community Legal Education Ontario)

CLEO has developed clear, accurate, and practical legal rights education and information to help people understand their legal rights. Their work focuses on providing information to people who face barriers to accessing the justice system, including income, disability, literacy, and language. You can browse all their resources on their Resources and Publications page. 

FLEW Resources (Family Law Education for Women)

FLEW is a public legal education project funded by the Government of Ontario and Law Foundation of Ontario to assist women in understanding their family law rights. Their resources are available in 13 different languages.

Separation & Divorce Guides

  • Family Law: Ministry of the Attorney General: Includes general information from the Government of Ontario on family law and courts, as well as links to legislation and forms.
  • Family Service Toronto: Families in Transition (FIT) supports the well-being of children who are experiencing significant change brought on by separation/divorce of parents. Family Service Toronto's services are available to everyone who lives or works in Toronto.
  • Finding and selecting an appropriate mediator: Family mediators come from different professional backgrounds. They may be lawyers, social workers, psychologists, or financial professionals, like accountants. This guide from the Ontario Ministry of the Attorney General helps individuals select someone who has the right skills for the issues in their case.
  • A Kid's Guide to Separation and Divorce: This website from Families Change provides age-appropriate information to help kids, teens and parents deal with a family break up.
  • Mental health during separation and divorce: If you or someone you know is going through a separation or divorce, this pamphlet from CAMH will hopefully help you understand and cope with your range of emotions during this difficult period of adjustment.
  • A Parent's Guide to Separation and Divorce: This information from Families Change helps parents guide their children through separation and divorce and calculate a child support amount to cover the costs of raising their children.
  • What are my rights if I get separated or divorced?: Settlement.org answers questions about economic support, property, and Canadian Pension Plan contributions following a separation or divorce.

Early Years

Programs & Services

  • Association of Early Childhood Educators Ontario: The AECEO is the professional association for early childhood educators (ECEs) in Ontario, and its primary purpose is to advocate for respect, recognition and appropriate wages and working conditions for all ECEs.
  • Safehaven Respite Care: Safehaven's respite and residential care provides exceptional care to families whose children have complex medical, physical, and developmental disabilities. They have 5 locations across the GTA.
  • School Health Support Services for Students: The Local Health Integration Network (LHIN) provides School Health Support Services on a priority-needs basis. Through this program, a LHIN Care Coordinator arranges in-school access to a range of services, which may include nursing services, dietetic services, and information and referral services.
  • Toronto Region Respite Services: Respiteservices.com provides assistance to families of individuals with a developmental disability including autism and/or a physical disability, which includes resources, information, and options related to respite care available in Toronto. Their CHAP Program is the city's leading resource for one-to-one Independent Respite Providers within developmental services.

Guides & Resources

  • Building Resilience in Young Children: This resource from the Best Start Resource Centre contains helpful tips, stories from parents, and up-to-date information for parents and caregivers help their children become more confident, handle everyday frustrations better, and become resilient youths and adults. The PDF can be downloaded, or there is a physical copy in the FCO Library.
  • Infant Care: Safety Information: Find safety information from the Government of Canada on baby slings, strollers, bottles, pacifiers, and infant nutrition.
  • Ontario Autism Program: Information Kit for Families of Newly Diagnosed Children: The PDF resource, found on the sidebar of the above link, is a tool kit to assist families of young children in getting the critical information they need in the first 100 days after an autism diagnosis.
  • 10 Tips for Stressed Out Parents: Round-the-clock newborn care can turn parents' lives upside down. These practical strategies from the Mayo Clinic can help parents handle the new stress in their lives. 

Elder Care

Community and Not-for-Profit

  • ACE: Advocacy Centre for the Elderly: Their library contains resources in areas such as Consumer Protection, Elder Abuse, Health Care Consent & Advance Care Planning, Long-Term Care, Pensions and Income, and Retirement Homes.
  • Caregiver Stress: Tips for taking care of yourself: The Mayo Clinic provides steps to help caregivers preserve their health and well-being. 
  • Caregiver Stress and Burnout: HelpGuide provides additional steps to help caregivers rein in stress and regain a sense of balance, joy, and hope in your life. 
  • Managing Stress for Caregivers: The University Health Network in Toronto has information and links to other community agencies in the GTA that help caregivers. 
  • Mood Disorders Association of Ontario: MDAO answers FAQs about Seniors and Depression. They also have many fact sheets and guides on mood disorders.
  • Pat's Place: Family Service Toronto: Pat's Place is a temporary safe haven for older people experiencing elder abuse. They offer a welcoming environment where an older person can live with dignity and in peace. 
  • Spectrum Health Centre: Their Seniors Resources page is consistently updating with posts such as 'Are you experience early warning signs of dementia?', 'Gift ideas for seniors', and 'Fitness and physical activity for seniors.' 

Government Resources

  • Caregiving Benefits and Leave: Government of Canada information on the Employment Insurance program and how to access EI benefits. 
  • City of Toronto Seniors Services: A list of senior centres and activities; health, well-being and safety services; and housing support. 
  • Falls Prevention for Older Adults: The risk of injury from a fall increases with age, and Hastings Prince Edward Public Health has tips and steps to help older adults keep their independence and continue to enjoy the fun things in life. 
  • Find a Family Doctor or Nurse Practitioner: Information on health care and wellness services in Ontario.
  • Guide to Programs and Services for Seniors: Find information on resources available for seniors in Ontario, including tax credits, health, caregiving, housing, driving, and staying safe. 
  • Living Life to the Full for Caregivers 55+: Through the Canadian Mental Health Association (CAMH), caregivers at least 55 years old in the Toronto area can access Living Life to the Full, a free eight-week course designed to provide skills and knowledge to cope with life's challenges. 
  • Long-Term Care Homes - City of Toronto: Interactive map and information on Toronto's long-term care homes. 
  • Providing Care and Support for Seniors Living with Frailty: Caregiving Strategies is a collection of educational resources that have been developed and/or curated for family and friend caregivers who provide care and support for seniors experiencing frailty. 
  • Safe Driving for Seniors: Information on assessing your driving skills, renewing your license, how age can affect your driving, and medications and driving. The CAA toolkit can help you maintain driving confidence as you age and take concrete steps to modify your driving habits if needed.
  • Seniors and Caregivers Support Service: The SCSS Unit at Family Service Toronto provides social work services to older people and caregivers. Their work includes counselling, group work, advocacy, training, and educational sessions on topics such as aging and memory loss, anger and guilt, how to access community resources, and elder abuse. 

National Incentive for the Care of the Elderly (NICE)

NICE is an international network of researchers, practitioners, students and seniors dedicated to improving the care of older adults. Their wide range of resources and tools can be viewed online by clicking the 'Preview' link on the respective page. 

Local Health Integration Network: LHIN (formerly Community Care Access Centre - CCAC)

Toronto Central LHIN helps with the process of moving from a family home to long-term care setting by helping individuals understand the available options and supporting them to make decisions that are right for them. These options include: 

Additional resources and information include:

Community Legal Education Ontario (CLEO)

CLEO has developed a clear, accurate, and practical legal rights education and information to help people understand and exercise their legal rights. All of their resources can be found online here. 

Parkinson Canada

Throughout your Parkinson's journey, you'll seek information and support to help you deal with various challenges you may encounter. This section has downloadable educational publications that can be your personal Parkinson's library. Some resources are also available in languages other than English and French. 

  • Educational Publications: a broad range of materials to help individuals, families, and health professionals learn about Parkinson's, which is a complex neurodegenerative disease. This wealth of resources has been organized into smaller, more easily digestible segments that are explained on this page. 
  • Information and Referral Helpline: a toll-free, Canada-wide number for people living with Parkinson's, their caregivers, and health care professionals. 
  • Knowledge Network: video and audio resources, as well as webinars.

Alzheimer Society of Canada

The Alzheimer Society of Canada offers a wider range of resources for people with dementia, caregivers, family members and health-care practitioners. 

  • Alzheimer Society of Toronto: Offers support, information, programs, and education to people with dementia, their families, and their caregivers to increase public awareness of dementia, to promote research, and to advocate for services that respect the dignity of the individual.
  • Alzheimer Society of Ontario
  • Reitman Centre CARERS Program: Reitman Centre at Mount Sinai Hospital offers the CARERS (Coaching, Advocacy, Respite, Education, Relationship, Simulation) Program, an 8 session skills-based group for family caregivers of those with dementia. 

Arthritis Society

  • Arthritis is a collection of conditions affecting joints and other tissues. It causes pain, restricts mobility and diminishes quality of life. 1 in 5 Canadians live every day with arthritis, and there is no cure. 
  • Fibromyalgia is a medical condition that is believed to affect the central nervous system. FM is a relatively common condition, affecting 2% of Canadians. 
  • Gout is a type of inflammatory arthritis caused by small crystals of a chemical called uric acid that form in the joints. The body's immune system attacks these crystals, causing pain, redness and swelling in the joint and sometimes in the surrounding tissue. 

Private Care

Fatherhood

  • Becoming a Father: KidsHealth provides answers to questions that expectant fathers might have, such as: "How can I help my partner?" "Will I be capable of caring for a baby?" "How can we afford this?" and "Is this the end of my independence?"
  • Canadian Centre for Men and Families Toronto: The CCMF is Toronto's first hub for the health and well-being of boys, men, fathers and families. They are an open, inclusive and safe space that provides therapy and counselling, peer support, a legal clinic, fathering programs, mentorship and support services for male victims of trauma and violence.
  • Dad Central: Resources: Dad Central's free resources include booklets on How to Be an Involved Dad, Father-Child Bonding, Guide to Activities & Play, Building Character, Healthy Relationships, Separated/Divorced Dads, and Dads with Blended Families.
  • Expecting Dads and Partners: A month-by-month guide from What to Expect on what fathers and partners need to know to get through the 40-odd weeks of pregnancy.
  • Fatherville: An online resource for fathers, created by fathers and about fathers and the rewards of fatherhood. Its purpose is to provide articles and essays that encourage men to become better fathers through the exchange of ideas that can take place in an online environment.
  • Mr. Dad: Hailed by Time Magazine as “the superdad’s superdad,” Armin Brott is a pioneer in the field of fatherhood and has been building better fathers for more than a decade.
  • Urban Daddy: Toronto-based blog: A Toronto father of three and tax consultant shares his thoughts on a wide range of parenting topics.
  • What Fatherhood Means to a Trans Dad Raising Black Sons: Avi Magidsohn is a 56-year-old trans father of two adult daughters and two young sons, whom he raises with his partner Lainie. He shared with HuffPost Canada his family’s public adoption story, their values, and what it means to raise Black boys at this time.

Financial Info / Health & Dental Benefits

U of T Graduate Students' Union

The UTGSU is a voice for over 18,500 students as well as a platform for community building and services. Student fees enable the UTGSU to provide services such as conference bursaries, free gym access and intramural leagues, health and dental insurance, merit based awards, and academic and funding advocacy appeals. 

Association of Part-time Undergraduate Students

APUS represents over 6,000 fall/winter and 14,000 summer part-time students across all U of T campuses. They ensure that the rights of all part-time students are respected, provide cost-saving services, programs and events, and represent the voices of part-time undergrads across the University and to all levels of government. APUS services include the APUS Health & Dental Plan, APUS Bursary Program, Tax Clinics, APUS Student Study Space and Lounge, Printing Services, Academic Support Workshops & Advocacy, Financial Aid Workshops for part-time students, and Lunch & Learn Career Workshops. 

Other U of T Resources

  • CUPE 3092 Resources: CUPE 3902 has represented contract academic workers -- such as TAs -- for over 35 years. Their resources include guides to the grievance process, collective agreement, and employment insurance.
  • Graduate Professional Development: GPD is competency or skills-based training that is complementary to the discipline-based graduate coursework and research required for a master’s or doctoral degree. They help students succeed in graduate school and prepare them for a wide range of employment opportunities.
  • University Health Insurance Plan: UHIP is a mandatory health insurance plan for all international and exchange students enrolled in an Ontario university. UHIP helps to cover the cost of hospital and medical services you may need to maintain your health while in Canada. Students are automatically enrolled in UHIP, and the coverage charge will be listed on ROSI (student account).

Finances

  • Credits, Benefits, and Incentives for Single People and Families: This page from the Government of Ontario provides a list of provincial tax credits and benefits available to single people and families in Ontario, including single parent families, seniors and First Nations.
  • Income Assistance: This Government of Canada website provides information about the various tax benefits available to families
  • SmartSAVER: SmartSAVER is a non-profit community project who's goal is to make it easier for families to understand and access the government money that is available for education after high school using a Registered Education Savings Plan (RESP).

Health & Dental Care

Grief Support

Services

  • Bereaved Families of Ontario: BFO and their 11 affiliates provide a safe, non-judgmental environment for individuals to discuss their experiences and learn about grief with others who have been there. They provide a chance to talk, in a confidential setting about how the death of a loved one affects your life.
  • Children and Youth Grief Network: The network advocates for educational opportunities and support services that will benefit children and youth who are grieving the dying or the death of someone they care about.
  • Helping You Grieve: BFO - Toronto is a local charitable organization that seeks to inspire hope and transformation in people who are grieving the death of a loved one. Their programs and services range from one-to-one support sessions to 8-week support groups and are based on the peer-to-peer support model in which individuals with similar experiences share their stories, provide support, and inspire hope.
  • Hospice Palliative Care Ontario: Hospice palliative care is aimed at relieving suffering and improving the quality of life for persons who are living with, or dying from, advanced illness or are bereaved. HPCO is a provincial association of hospices and palliative care providers, professionals, and volunteers throughout Ontario.
  • Pregnancy and Infant Loss Network: The PAIL Network is there to help with free group and individual peer-support offered to families across Ontario. 
  • Survivors of Suicide Loss Program: The Toronto Distress Centre's professionally developed traumatic loss support program is a safe space in which survivors of suicide loss can identify/explore/clarify their thoughts as well as feelings and begin to navigate the aftermath of suicide loss with peer-to-peer support. The page includes upcoming support groups, survivor stories, statistics, and downloadable PDFs.

Guides & Resources

  • Coping with Loneliness: Loneliness is an experience that means our current close relationships don’t meet our needs, and it can come up whenever we feel alone, unwanted, or isolated. The Canadian Mental Health Association provides information on how to cope and tips to help build social connections.
  • Grief and Children: An article from the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry on how parents can be aware of normal childhood responses to a death in the family, as well as signs when a child is having difficulty coping with grief. 
  • Loss and Grief During the Pandemic: The COVID-19 pandemic is forcing many of us to change the way we go about our daily lives. With those changes, some of us are experiencing a wave of losses: economic, social, physical and emotional. For some, these losses may build up and lead to feelings of grief. The Canadian Mental Health Association provides information on understanding grief and how to cope. 
  • Loss, Grief, and Healing - CAMH: Understand how the pandemic causes experiences of loss and grief, and how to move forward in the face of uncertainty.
  • MyGrief.ca: an online resource to help people work through their grief from the comfort of their own home, at their own pace. It was developed by family members who’ve “been there,” and grief experts to complement existing community resources and help address the lack of grief services particularly in rural and remote areas.
  • Talking with Kids and Teens about Illness, Dying and Death: KidsGrief.ca is a free online resource that helps parents support their children when someone in their life is dying or has died. It equips parents with the words and confidence needed to help children grieve life’s losses in healthy ways.

Legal

CLEO Resources (Community Legal Education Ontario)

CLEO has developed clear, accurate, and practical legal rights education and information to help people understand their legal rights. Their work focuses on providing information to people who face barriers to accessing the justice system, including income, disability, literacy, and language. 

Law Society of Ontario

The Law Society has a duty to protect the public interest, to maintain and advance the cause of justice and the rule of law, to facilitate access to justice for the people of Ontario, and to act in a timely, open, and efficient manner. 

  • Law Society Referral Service: LSRS will help you find a lawyer or paralegal who provides legal services in the area of law that meets your needs. The online request, referral service, and initial consultation of up to 30 minutes are free.
  • Legal Resources and Information: A list of Law Society resources and other organizations that provide legal information and services in Ontario. 

Legal Aid Ontario

Legal Aid Ontario provides legal services for financially eligible, low-income Ontarians in the following areas: domestic violence, family law, immigration and refugee law, criminal law, civil mental health law, and poverty law. Many of the PDF resources are also available in other languages.

  • Fact Sheets provide straightforward summaries of LAO's programs and activities; they are at the bottom of the page. 

Other Toronto Services

  • Downtown Legal Services: Family Law: U of T students in the Faculty of Law's family division are able to provide information and advice to clients on a variety of family law issues, including custody, access, support and restraining orders.
  • St. Stephen's Community House: St. Stephen's works with individuals and communities, primarily in downtown Toronto, to identify, prevent and alleviate social and economic problems by developing and delivering a range of highly effective and innovative programs.

LGBTQ+ Parenting

LGBTQ Parenting Network

The LGBTQ Parenting Network is a program of Sherbourne Health Centre that supports lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans, and queer parenting through research, training, resources, and community development. A full range of their resources can be found through their online library. 

  • Celebrating LGBTQ Parenting: Organizations and service providers who celebrate LGBTQ parenting and celebrate diversity in families are often looking for resources to help them. This page will help you join in celebrating the diversity of LGBTQ parents and their families.

Gender

  • Gender-Neutral Parenting: This short article from Parentology explains gender-neutral parenting, an approach that focuses on encouraging a child to discover their own identity by eliminating gender stereotypes.
  • The Genderbread Person: The Genderbread Person is a teaching tool for breaking the big concept of gender down into bite-sized, digestible pieces. Used by — and contributed to by — countless people around the world and throughout the decades, the genderbread person (and all of the different evolutions of it, and ideas it evolved from) is a wonderful way to start an important conversation.
  • Transition options for gender independent children and adolescents: This brochure from Rainbow Health Ontario offers information for families that are interested in learning more about gender transition options for young people. It can be downloaded for free.

Ontario Services

  • The 519: The 519 is committed to the health, happiness and full participation of the LGBTQ2S communities. A City of Toronto agency with an innovative model of Service, Space and Leadership, we strive to make a real difference in people’s lives, while working to promote inclusion, understanding and respect.
  • David Kelley Services: LGBTQ+ Counselling Program: DKS provides professional, short-term, individual, couple and family counselling to people who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans or queer. Their range of counselling and community support programs help people struggling to cope with everything from depression to physical abuse; sexual orientation issues to marital problems; and intellectual disabilities to the challenges of getting older. There are no fees for DKS services.
  • Gay Fathers of Toronto: GFT understands that coming out is daunting and emotionally challenging. Through the GFT, these dads find common values, a realization they are not alone, and a support as we move forward in our lives.
  • LGBT Youth Line: The LGBT Youth Line provides a confidential database of services and organizations that serve 2SLGBTQ youth across Ontario.
  • Positive Spaces Initiative: Developed by the Ontario Council of Agencies Serving Immigrants, the PSI is intended to share resources and increase organizational capacity across the sector to more effectively serve LGBTQIA+ immigrants, refugees, and newcomers.
  • Rainbow Health Ontario: A program of Sherbourne Health, Rainbow Health Ontario creates opportunities for the healthcare system to better serve LGBT2SQ communities.
  • U of T Sexual & Gender Diversity Office: The Sexual & Gender Diversity Office is one of the places you can look to make community connections and expand your knowledge of sexual and gender diversity. If you have questions about coming out or about how to discuss your sexuality or gender with friends, family or other people at the University, one of their staff would be happy to speak with you and provide support.

Guides & Articles

  • COLAGE: Resources & Guides: COLAGE unites people with lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and/or queer parents and caregivers into a network of peers and supports them as they nurture and empower each other to be skilled, self-confident, and just leaders in our collective communities.
  • Rainbow Health Ontario: Publications & Resources: RHO is a province-wide program of Sherbourne Health that works to promote the health of Ontario’s LGBT2SQ communities and improve their access to services. This database aims to provide the most reliable and up-to-date health resources for LGBT2SQ communities, service providers and others with an interest in LGBT2SQ health.
  • What Fatherhood Means to a Trans Dad Raising Black Sons: Avi Magidsohn is a 56-year-old trans father of two adult daughters and two young sons, whom he raises with his partner Lainie. He shared with HuffPost Canada his family’s public adoption story, their values, and what it means to raise Black boys at this time.

Mental Health & Addiction

Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH) Publications

All CAMH resources for Parents and Families can be found on their searchable Guides and Publications page. 

Student Mental Health Support

  • Gestalt Student Clinic: Gestalt therapy is an opportunity to move through old issues, make changes, improve relationships, express creativity, decrease generalized fear and mistrust, and learn to have more fun. 
  • Good2Talk: Good2Talk is a free, confidential support service for post-secondary students in Ontario. By calling Good2Talk at 1-866-925-5454, students can receive information and referrals about services and supports for mental health, addictions and well-being on and off campus and speak anonymously with a professional counsellor.
  • My Student Support Program: U of T My SSP provides students with real-time and/or appointment-based confidential, 24-hour support for any school, health, or general life concern at no cost to you. Students can call or chat with a counsellor directly from their phone whenever, wherever they are.
  • Navi: Your Mental Health Wayfinder: Navi is an anonymous chat-based service that acts as a virtual assistant for students wanting to learn more about the mental health supports available to them at the University of Toronto.
  • U of T Student Mental Health: U of T has hundreds of resources available to support students no matter where they are on the mental wellness continuum, from being proactive about mental well-being to feeling stressed or needing urgent help. They also host events and can help students build their own mental wellness toolkit. 
  • UTGSU Directory of Black Therapists in Toronto
  • Workplace Wellness: Work-Life Balance: These online work-life balance resources have information on: getting enough sleep and exercise, developing strategies for shift work, setting a healthy pace at work, healthy workday tips for the self-employed, and flexible work arrangements and employee health.

Youth Resources & Services

  • AboutKidsHealth: Mental Health Learning Hub: Resources for teens to help you support your mental health and general wellbeing. Learn how to keep yourself healthy mentally and physically, how to adjust to life with a chronic condition, the signs and symptoms of eating disorders and how to cope with trauma.
  • Anxiety Canada: "How To" Documents for Parents: Anxiety Canada is a leader in developing free online, self-help, and evidence-based resources on anxiety. These PDF resources are for both parents and their children.
  • Black Youth Helpline: BYH serves all youth and specifically responds to the need for a Black youth specific service, positioned and resourced to promote access to professional, culturally appropriate support for youth, families and schools.
  • Children's Mental Health Ontario: CMHO is the association representing Ontario’s publicly-funded Child and Youth Mental Health Centres. They advocate for government investments, policies and programs that are responsive to the needs of children, youth and families seeking mental health services in Ontario.
  • Depression in Kids: How to Recognize Symptoms and Get Treatment: Many people associate depression with adulthood, but an estimated 3.2 percent of children aged 3-17 years suffer from the condition, according to the CDC. Parents.com has compiled a guide to help diagnose, assess, and treat depression in kids.
  • LHIN: Supporting Youth with Mental Health Care Needs: The Local Health Integration Network works together with local school boards and community partners to support young clients with mental health and addictions to help them stay at school and succeed.
  • MindYourMind: MindYourMind exists in the space where mental health, wellness, engagement and technology meet. They work with community partners and young people aged 14 to 29 to co-create interactive tools and innovative resources to build capacity and resilience

Additional Support Services

  • Anishnawbe Health Toronto: AHT's mission is to improve the health and well-being of Aboriginal People in spirit, mind, emotion and body by providing Traditional Healing within a multi-disciplinary health care model. Their mental health and addiction services place Aboriginal culture and tradition at its core, while utilizing a client-centered, strengths-based approach to recovery. 
  • BEACON Digital Therapy: Guided digital therapy with BEACON is highly personalized to what you're feeling and who you are, as a whole person. Through secure digital messaging, and tailored readings and activities, you’ll work 1-to-1 with a registered therapist. 
  • ConnexOntario: Addiction, Mental Health, and Problem Gambling Treatment Services: Funded by the Government of Ontario, ConnexOntario provides free and confidential health services information for people experiencing problems with alcohol and drugs, mental illness and/or gambling.
  • Emotional Wellness Self-Help Tool: This educational resource from Maternal Mental Health NOW has information and activities for those who want to become pregnant, are pregnant, and who just welcomed a baby understand and manage perinatal depression and anxiety.
  • Gerstein Crisis Centre: A 24-hour community based crisis service for adults 16+ in the City of Toronto who are dealing with a serious mental health issue, concurrent or substance use issue, and are currently in crisis.
  • Hope for Wellness Chat: The Hope for Wellness Help Line offers immediate mental health counselling and crisis intervention to all Indigenous peoples across Canada. Phone and chat counselling is available in English and French, as well as Cree, Ojibway, and Inuktitut upon request.
  • Reconnect Community Health Services: A not-for-profit health service organization located in the West End of Toronto. They provide services for seniors, caregivers, and people living with mental health and addictions concerns.
  • Wellness Together Canada: Funded by the federal government, Wellness Together Canada is a mental health and substance use website to support Canadians in English and French. Their free resources include: immediate text support, information and videos on common mental health issues; mental wellness programs you can do on your own and with coaching; and individual phone, video, and text counselling. 
  • What's Up Walk-In: A program of Mental Health TO, What's Up Walk-In provides immediate mental health counselling for children, youth, young adults and their families, and families with infants. When you call, an experienced mental health worker will ask you a short series of questions and help connect you to the right What’s Up Walk-In Clinic.

Parenting

Your Child's Education

  • Family Education Centre: The FEC has podcasts and free downloadable tip sheets in multiple languages, along with paid e-learning programs and webinars. 
  • Tips for Parents with Children in High School: High school is an important time in your child's education. Helping your child stay on track with their high school studies is crucial for their academic and professional development. Here is some information to help you if your child is failing courses or wants to drop out from school.
  • 10 Ways to Help Your Child Succeed in Elementary School: Support from parents is key to helping kids do well academically. From KidsHealth, here are 10 ways parents can put their kids on track to be successful students.

Teenagers

  • Career Coaching Your Teens: This online guide offers practical ideas and resources to help parents support their teens as they explore career options and make informed career decisions. 
  • Drug Awareness: Information and resources from the RCMP. 87% of teenagers think that their parents are credible sources of information about illegal drugs, according to a study from Health Canada. As a parent, you can make a big difference. 
  • Private Schools for Troubled Teens: There many private schools in the GTA for troubled teens and at-risk youth. These schools provide specialized programs for kids with behavioural and emotional problems, and often support other special needs as well.
  • Teen Pregnancy: Government of Canada information for teenagers, family members, and community organizations on teen pregnancy, prevention, and related issues.
  • Teen Smoking: Information from the Mayo Clinic on how to help your teen quit smoking. 

Toronto-specific Resources & Services

  • Children's Aid Society of Toronto - Fact Sheets: These handouts, which are in multiple languages, explain the works of the Children's Aid Society of Toronto and general information on parenting. These include fact sheets on positive discipline and Canadian laws on child rearing.
  • Essential Toronto Resources for New Parents: This page from the site Help! We've Got Kids has important resources for Toronto parents, from drop-in programs to essential paperwork.
  • Toronto Parents of Multiples: TPOMBA is a volunteer-run non-profit organization that offers advice, support, and social events for parents of twins, triplets and higher-order multiples in the GTA.
  • Wholeplay Family Services: Wholeplay's experts in child development offer premium Parent Support Solutions, Child Development Classes, Consulting, and EFAP services to organizations and individuals -- focusing on supporting a strong parent-child relationship and healthy development in the early years and beyond.

Single Parenting

  • Credits, Benefits, & Incentives: The Government of Ontario provides a list of provincial tax credits and benefits available to single people and families in Ontario, including single parent families, seniors and First Nations.
  • Help & Hope for Single Parents: Single & Parenting groups is a place where single parents share tips and parenting wisdom that will help them find rest, hope, and encouragement. 
  • Single Parent Dating Guide: An article from Parents Canada that touches on timing of when to date and balancing both the parent's and children's needs. 
  • Single Parenting During the Coronavirus Crisis: This resource from the Child Mind Institute provides tips for single parents at any time, which include reaching out to find help, balancing work and time with the kids, and handling difficult behaviour. 
  • Single Parent Travel: Created by a single mother, the site is a resource for advice and opinion that includes travel tips, parenting tips, a blog, and newsletter.

Guides & Articles

  • Best Start: Do You Have Young Children?: As a parent, you are your child’s most important connection to the world. You play an important role in your child’s development – including a healthy brain – through interaction, positive discipline, play and support. These resources help parents support their children during the first 6 years of their life.
  • Bullying Resources for Parents: The effects of bullying are immediate and long-lasting, putting our children at risk for a number of physical, social and mental health problems. This section offers information and practical strategies parents can use to help their children build healthy relationships and prevent violence.
  • Canadian Child Care Federation: 100 Parenting Resources: The CCCF resource sheet series has been developed with both the parent and the practitioner in mind. The information is provided in an accessible, free downloadable format, with concise practical tips on how to manage the early years.
  • Caring for Kids: Developed by the Canadian Paediatric Society, this site provides parents with information about their child’s and teen’s health and well-being.
  • EmbraceRace: The organization is a multiracial community of parents, teachers, experts who identifies, organizes, and creates the tools, resources, discussion spaces, and networks we need to meet 4 goals: nurture resilience in children of colour; nurture inclusive, empathetic children of all stripes; raise kids who think critically about racial inequity; and support a movement of kid and adult racial justice advocates for all children. 
  • Gender-Neutral Parenting: This short article from Parentology explains the gender-neutral parenting, an approach that focuses on encouraging a child to discover their own identity by eliminating gender stereotypes.
  • How to Talk to Your Kids about Sex: An age-by-age guide from experts on how and when to cover everything from sex and puberty to gender identity and consent.
  • KidsHealth: Information for Parents: KidsHealth is a non-profit organization that aims to give families the tools and confidence to make the best health choices. The site includes doctor-reviewed advice, articles, videos, health tools, and more.
  • News & Media Literacy: Common Sense Media's digital literacy resources help parents teach their kids how to fact-check the news, determine reliable sources, and learn to separate fact from fiction. These information-literacy skills will help kids think critically, resist advertising pressure, and become smart consumers.

Nutrition

Childhood Nutrition

  • American Academy of Pediatrics: Nutrition: The specific nutritional choices you and your children make are crucial. Good nutrition is essential to good health and the American Academy of Pediatrics encourages parents to think of their nutritional decisions as health decisions.
  • Baby and Toddler Nutrition: PDFs from FoodShare on introducing solid foods to your baby (6 months - 1 year) and feeding your toddler (1 year - 3 years).
  • City of Toronto: Nutrition & Food Access: A range of Toronto-centric resources such as Student Nutrition Program, Toronto Food Policy Council, and Feeding Your Child.
  • Health Canada: Children & Healthy Eating: Health Canada recognizes the important role healthy eating plays in promoting the health of children and youth. Numerous resources, including dietary guidance, research and reports and tools and resources, have been developed to support evidence-based policy and program development.
  • Healthy Eating & Active Living Resources: Resources from The Hospital for SickKids on Meal Planning, Healthy Snacking, Eating Out, Grocery Shopping, and general Nutrition information.
  • KidsHealth: Nutrition & Fitness: You know the importance of good nutrition and exercise, but how do you feed a picky eater or encourage a child who hates sports to play outside? Learn how to keep your child healthy with the right foods and exercise.
  • Mayo Clinic: Nutrition for Kids: You want your child to eat healthy foods, but do you know which nutrients are necessary and in what amounts? Here's a quick overview.
  • SuperKids Nutrition: Developed by nutrition experts, this website content can be utilized by parents, teachers, dietitians, physicians, nurses, educators, kids, and anyone else looking for tools that help raise a healthy family.

Eating Disorders

U of T Campus Resources

Student Life

  • Build Your Own Experience: Student Life wants students to get good grades and ace their exams, find their people and feel connected, be physically and mentally well, and have their degree help them score the career of your dreams. Their home page has links to the wide range of resources that they offer.
  • Career Planning: Develop your career path and get valuable advice about finding work, job markets, and further education.
  • Centre for Community Partnerships: The CCP connects students with opportunities to take action and learn from intentional community-based experiences outside the classroom, while building sustainable partnerships with community organizations across the GTA and Peel regions. These mutually beneficial partnerships help students deepen their understanding of the social, cultural, ethical and political dimensions of civic life through hands-on experiences working with Toronto’s social sector.
  • Clubs, Groups, and Community Learning: Whether you want to browse U of T’s clubs and groups or start one of your own, this is where you can get involved with communities that matter to you.
  • Gradlife: A Hub For Graduate Support and Community On Campus: Gradlife is a hub to help support grad life through co-curricular programs, events, resources and engagement specifically for grad students. The site includes upcoming event info, health & wellness resources, and a downloadable 'Essential Guide for Grad Students.'
  • Health & Wellness: U of T Health & Wellness provides a range of health services for students' physical and mental health, wellness programs, and information to help support you in achieving your personal and academic goals. 
  • Housing Services: The U of T Housing Services site includes information about residence and student family housing, off-campus housing, and temporary and summer housing, as well as info for international exchange students and landlords. They also have a Housing and Roommate Finder, and they offer drop-in appointments to discuss tenant issues.
  • Multi-Faith Centre: The Multi-Faith Centre supports the spiritual well-being of everyone on campus and provides opportunities for people to learn from each other while exploring questions of meaning, purpose and identity. Our facilities and programs accommodate a wide variety of spiritual and faith-based practices and encourage interfaith dialogue and spiritual development as part of the learning experience for all students.
  • My Student Support Program: U of T My SSP provides students with real-time and/or appointment-based confidential, 24-hour support for any school, health, or general life concern at no cost to you. Students can call or chat with a counsellor directly from their phone whenever, wherever they are.

Academic Support

  • Academic Success Centre: Academic Success works with students at any stage of their undergraduate or graduate degrees in any discipline. Students have access to a study space, explore learning strategies, attend a workshop or meet with a Learning Strategist.
  • Accessibility Services: These confidential services are provided to all registered students at U of T. They include: test and exam accommodations; support in determining and negotiating effective accommodations; expertise in learning strategies and adaptive technology; class notes through the volunteer note taking program; tutor list; peer mentoring and drop-in; SASA: connect with students on the autism spectrum for fun and problem solving support; and access to funding for disability-related supports and services for qualified students.
  • Writing Centres: The fourteen or so writing centres at U of T provide free, individual consultations with trained writing instructors, along with group teaching in workshops and courses. The mandate of the writing centres is to help you develop writing skills as you progress through your studies

Safety & Support

  • Community Safety Office: The Community Safety Office is a U of T Equity Office and Tri-Campus service that offers short-term support and assistance to students, staff, and faculty members who have experienced personal safety concerns including: Stalking and Harassment, Bullying and Intimidation, Threats, Intimate Partner Violence, and Family Violence, Workplace Conflict, and Volatile Behaviour.
  • Graduate Conflict Resolution Centre: Wondering how to deal with a difficult grad school situation? Current grad students or postdoctoral fellows can connect confidentially with trained Grad-to-Grad Peer Advisors to talk about options and strategies for addressing a concern and university supports and resources. Faculty or staff members can refer students to G2G Peer Advisors and/or contact the Grad CRC directly to discuss early and effective conflict resolution strategies and skills development opportunities and training for your department.
  • Human Resources & Equity: The HR & Equity portfolio is responsible for a broad range of activities and initiatives across all three campuses and within every division of U of T. They work to retain, engage and attract outstanding employees; promote a community that is diverse and inclusive; provide a safe and healthy teaching, learning and working environment; and develop employees to their fullest potential.
  • Omsbudsperson: As part of the University’s commitment to ensuring that the rights of its individual members are protected, the University Ombudsperson is devoted to ensuring procedural fairness and just and reasonable outcomes. The Ombudsperson offers advice and assistance and can recommend changes in academic or administrative procedures where this seems justified.
  • Sexual & Gender Diversity Office: SGDO develops partnerships to build supportive learning and working communities at U of T by working towards equity and challenging discrimination. The Office provides innovative education, programming, resources and advocacy on sexual and gender diversity for students, staff and faculty across the University’s three campuses.

Women & Safety

Resources & Publications

  • The Centre for Women and Transpeople: Student Resources: This page includes lists of health and safety resources, scholarships & bursaries, community spaces, academic resources, and gender-neutral washroom locations at U of T.
  • CLEO: Do you know a woman who is being abused?: This handbook from Community Legal Education Ontario (CLEO) is for any woman in Ontario who is being abused, or who has been abused, by her partner. It provides practical legal information and tells what to expect if the individual decides to leave their abusive partner or change their situation.
  • Neighbours, Friends and Families: Neighbours, Friends and Families is a campaign through the Western Centre for Research & Education on Violence against Women and Children that raises awareness of the signs of violence against women so that those close to an at-risk woman or an abusive man can help. It engages the power of everyday relationships to help keep women and their children safe. Their resources are available as downloadable PDFs in a variety of formats. 
  • Women's Health Matters: Women's Health Matters is a Canadian source for trusted, evidence-based and timely information on women's health. The website has the latest information, news and research findings on women's health, including feature articles, health centres, and questions answered by experts.

Programs & Services

  • Assaulted Women's Hotline: The AWHL provides crisis counselling, safety planning, emotional support, information and referrals accessible 7 days a week, 365 days a year. They work in tandem with community partners and sister agencies towards bridging gaps in service and identifying emerging issues or trends relevant to the women they work with.
  • Native Women's Resource Centre of Toronto: the NWRCT provides a safe and welcoming environment for all Aboriginal women and their children in the GTA. Their programs fall under six broad categories: Housing, Families, Advocacy, Employment, Education, and Youth. They also host a variety of Cultural Activities for clients and the general public.
  • Red Door Family Shelter: The Red Door Family Shelter provides emergency shelter and support for women and children affected by domestic abuse, families experiencing a housing crisis, and refugee claimants with nowhere else to turn.
  • Take Action: Build Your Capacity to End Violence: METRAC works with individuals, communities and institutions to change ideas, actions and policies with the goal of ending violence against women and youth. They provide legal information, consultation services, training and workshops, and further tools and resources.
  • U of T Community Safety Office: The Community Safety Office is a U of T Equity Office and Tri-Campus service that offers short-term support and assistance to students, staff, and faculty members who have experienced personal safety concerns including: Stalking and Harassment, Bullying and Intimidation, Threats, Intimate Partner Violence, and Family Violence, Workplace Conflict, and Volatile Behaviour.

Young Caregivers

Resources & Publications

Programs & Services

  • Kids Help Phone: Kids Help Phone is Canada’s only 24/7, national support service. They offer professional counselling, information and referrals and volunteer-led, text-based support to young people in both English and French.
  • Online Support Group for Young Caregivers: The Ontario Caregiver Organization hosts a weekly online support group dedicated to young caregivers. Their website features additional information and stories from child and young adult caregivers.
  • Young Caregivers Association: The Young Caregivers Association's vision is to see a Canada where young carers and their families are recognized, supported, and empowered to achieve their full potential. The site has PDF resources and downloadable emergency planning kits.
  • Young Carers Program: The Young Carers Program is an inter-agency strategy developed to meet needs of Young Carers and their families by facilitating supportive programs throughout Toronto. Programs focus on recreational, social, educational, and skill development activities.