Skip to main content
Banner Image

FAH205 Art in Antiquity

Welcome!

Welcome!  This Library Guide is designed to introduce you to some of the extraordinary resources in the University of Toronto's Libraries and elsewhere on the web. These items are just a few offerings selected in consultation with Dr. Lisa Trentin.  Some will be useful for the completion of your course assignment.  

Libation scene. Interior of an Attic red-figure cup. Louvre, Paris. Photograph: By Macron (Marie-Lan Nguyen (2011)) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File%3ALibation_Macron_Louvre_G149.jpg

Background Resources (Print and Online)

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and companions are useful for defining terms and background information.  Here are a few examples which may be useful.

Oxford bibliographies. Classics. History of scholarship of classical art history [electronic resource]

Oxford Art Online

Oxford bibliographies - Art History Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects

Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists by Ian Chilvers Publication Date: Current Online Version: 2014

The Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists

Royal Ontario Museum Library and Archives Website Lots of resources available on this site.

ROM Internet Archives - 450 Catalogues about ROM collections have been digitized and added to this site.