Research Guides: EMU410:Introduction to Research: Encyclopedias and Other Reference Works

Journal/Database Resources

APA PsycInfo (ProQuest)
Scholarly psychological journal articles, conference papers, citations, and abstracts.
APA PsycInfo (Ovid)
Contains citation information and abstracts from journals in psychology and mental health. The Ovid platform is appropriate for systematic and scoping reviews as well as other advanced searches.
JSTOR
Multidisciplinary full text database that allows you to search for articles from scholars across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It also gives you access to a major collection of ebooks, primary sources, and images.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature

Citation information and abstracts to research about music on various musical genres from around the world.

ERIC (ProQuest)
The Education Resources Information Center database provides access to scholarly and trade journals in the field of education, and also has broad coverage of grey literature from a variety of sources, including reports, technical papers, dissertations and theses, and conference proceedings

Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database
Full-text access to research providing a Canadian perspective on topics including agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and more.

Encyclopaedias

Oxford Music Online
Contains articles on cognitive theory, analyses, computers, cryptography, perception, and more.
Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
A reference source on psychology and behavioural science.
Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology
A reference source for applications of psychological knowledge and procedures in psychology.

Encyclopedia of the Sciences of Learning by Norbert M. Seel (Editor)
Call Number: e-book

Broad coverage of terms and concepts used in the sciences of learning and related fields, including instruction, pedagogy, cognitive sciences, and especially machine learning and knowledge engineering.

Handbooks

Handbooks are a great place to get started on your research, as they give you an in-depth recent scholarship on music education topics.

The new handbook of research on music teaching and learning : a project of the Music Educators National Conference
ISBN: 9786613888921

Publication Date: 2023

This volume surveys the literature, and presents the significance of the research, evaluates new developments, and frames issues, theories, and ideas with suggestions for future research. It features an expanded section on teacher education.
Music in early childhood : exploring the theories, philosophies and practices
ISBN: 9781003331193

Publication Date: 2024

Music in Early Childhood is an accessible and practical handbook, which introduces theories and pedagogical approaches for early childhood music education from birth to 8 years and explains their practical application.
MENC Handbook of Research Methodologies (2 vols.) by Richard Colwell (Editor)
ISBN: 1280655585

Publication Date: 2006-01-01; 2023

Providing coverage of such topics as: the role of research in music education; philosophical method; qualitative research; quantitative research; historical methods; and assessment and its relationship to research, this collection is useful for students and scholars of music education.
The Oxford Handbook of Music Education (2 vols.) by Gary McPherson (Editor); Graham Welch (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199928019

Publication Date: 2012

The Oxford Handbook of Music Education (2 vols.) offers an overview of the many facets of musical experience, behavior, and development in relation to formal and informal educational contexts.
The Sage handbook of school music education
ISBN: 9781529679625

Publication Date: 2024

An international overview of school music education with a broad focus on curriculum and teaching issues, alongside a contemporary perspective examining where music education meets social justice issues.
Music in early childhood : exploring the theories, philosophies and practices by Young, Susan, 1951-
ISBN: 9781003331193

Publication Date: 2024

Music in Early Childhood is an accessible and practical handbook, which introduces theories and pedagogical approaches for early childhood music education from birth to 8 years and explains their practical application.
The Bloomsbury handbook of popular music education : perspectives and practices by edited by Zack Moir, Bryan Powell and Gareth Dylan Smith
ISBN: 1350049441

Publication Date: 2019

The Bloomsbury Handbook of Popular Music Education draws together current thinking and practice on popular music education from empirical, ethnographic, sociological and philosophical perspectives.
The child as musician : a handbook of musical development by edited by Gary E. McPherson
ISBN: 0191061883

Publication Date: 2015

The Child as Musician' celebrates the richness and diversity of the many different ways in which children can engage in and interact with music. It presents theory - both cutting edge and classic - in an accessible way for readers by surveying research concerned with the development and acquisition of musical skills.

EMU410:Introduction to Research

Journal/Database Resources

Encyclopaedias

Handbooks

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us