Research guides: EES1125 Contaminated Site Remediation: Searching the News

Why use News sources

News sites and newspapers may be useful for finding information about site history

Newspapers may also help you get some ideas about what major governmental and other organizations will be interested in the clean up. Some questions you may ask include (but are not limited to):

What municipalities/provinces/states/countries are affected?
Did a specific NGO (non-governmental organization) get involved in clean up? What about government departments?
What companies or organizations caused the mess?

How do I choose the best news database for my search? Look at the resources provided on this page. They are divided by geography (Canadian sources or international sources) and time (current or historical.) Decide what resource is most likely to be relevant to your topic (current Canadian? Historical international?) and search it.

Major News Indexes

Canadian Newsstream
Offers full-text coverage of major Canadian newspapers, including The Globe and Mail, The National Post, and The Toronto Star.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database
Indexes over 50 Canadian newspapers, magazines, and television news programs.
Factiva
Factiva is a global and multilingual news and business information resource, providing full-text access to Dow Jones Interactive and Reuters Business Briefing. Indexes the following major Canadian news publications: Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, National Post
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Globe and Mail
This historical newspaper provides online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Coverage:1844 - 2015
ProQuest US Newsstream
Access to the full text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites, and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. ProQuest Newsstand includes backfiles for most newspapers, providing access to articles, columns, editorials, obituaries, and features published in each paper. Major newspapers include the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian, and many other national and regional titles. ProQuest Newsstand provides local, regional and national news.
Newspapers Research Guide
Please consult for additional assistance in accessing newspapers and other news media

EES1125 Contaminated Site Remediation

Why use News sources

Major News Indexes

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us