COPB30 / COPB31

Welcome to UTSC Library!    Use the navigation menu (left side of the screen) to search this website.  

1. Oxford Bibliographies: This is a great resource to find background on a topic, including key resources. 

https://librarysearch.library.utoronto.ca/permalink/01UTORONTO_INST/14bjeso/alma991105939852906196

YOUR TURN:  Search 'Populism' 

2. Popular Databases: You can find a variety of popular databases by visiting the library website, selecting databases, and then popular databases.       Here are a couple of databases that are often particularly useful for IDS students.  

• International Bibliography of the Social Sciences: https://guides.library.utoronto.ca/ibss

• Web of Science: https://guides.library.utoronto.ca/wos

YOUR TURN:   Select one of these databases and try looking for articles on food security among refugees.

3. Google Scholar:  You can set up Google Scholar on your laptop/device to get automatic links to Library content: https://onesearch.library.utoronto.ca/faq/how-can-i-connect-google-scholar-librarys-resources 

YOUR TURN:    Try connecting Google Scholar to Library resources on your laptop or device

4. Check if an article is from a peer-reviewed journal - Ulrich's Periodical Directory: https://guides.library.utoronto.ca/peer-review

YOUR TURN:    Check if the following article is from a peer-reviewed journal

Scanlan, S. J. (2003). Food security and comparative sociology: Research, theories, and concepts. International journal of sociology, 33(3), 88-111.

5. Research and Course Guides: The library has a variety of course, discipline and topic guides to support your research:   https://utsc.library.utoronto.ca/research-guides.    

YOUR TURN:   Explore the following guides for IDS students

International Development Studies: https://guides.library.utoronto.ca/utscids

IDSA01: https://guides.library.utoronto.ca/IDSA01