Please contact me!
British Welcome and Welfare League, group of immigrants, Irish. Adapted with a PD license from the City of Toronto Archives.
Davin, Nicholas Flood. The Irishman in Canada. Toronto: Maclear, 1877.
Illustrated Historical Atlas of the County of Huron, Ont.. Toronto : H. Belden, 1879. 
Download this book as a PDF.
Emigration: Copy of a Letter from Mr. John Freeman, Residing at Goderich, Lake Huron, Upper Canada, Dated the 21st of June, 1832, together with a Letter and Extracts of Letters from Settlers in the Huron Tract, and Other Parts of Upper Canada, Containing Useful Information Respecting that Country. [Framlingham, England? : s.n., 1833?].
Goderich, Ontario: The Healthiest, Coolest, and Prettiest Town in Canada. Goderich: Citizens' Committee, [1895?].
Johnston, William. History of the County of Perth from 1825 to 1902. Stratford: W.M. O'Beirne, 1903.
Macfarlane Lizars, Robina and Kathleen. In the Days of the Canada Company: The Story of the Settlement of the Huron Tract and a View of the Social Life of the Period, 1825-1850. Toronto: W. Briggs; Montreal : C.W. Coates, 1896.
Moodie, Susanna. Roughing it in the Bush. Montreal: McGill-Queen's University Press, 1988 [first published 1852].
Widder, Frederick. A Statement of Facts, and Correspondence, Connected with Certain Public Improvements in the Huron Tract, Including a Railroad to Goderich: To which is Added some Information upon Matters Relating to the Canada Company. [Toronto? : s.n.], 1853.
Clarke, Brian P. Piety and Nationalism: Lay Voluntary Associations and the Creation of an Irish-Catholic Community in Toronto, 1850-1895. Montreal; Buffalo: McGill-Queen's University Press, 1993.
Clarke, John. Land, Power and Economics on the Frontier of Upper Canada. Montreal & Kingston: McGill-Queen's University Press, 2001.
Clarke, John. The Ordinary People of Essex Environment, Culture, and Economy on the Frontier of Upper Canada. Montreal: McGill-Queen's University Press, 2010.
Elliott, Bruce S. Irish Migrants in the Canadas: A New Approach. 2nd ed. ed. Kingston [Ont.]: McGill-Queen's University Press, 2004.
Guillet, Edwin C. Pioneer Settlements in Upper Canada. Toronto, [Ontario]: University of Toronto Press, 1969.
Harris, Cole. The Reluctant Land: Society, Space, and Environment in Canada before Confederation. Vancouver: UBC Press, 2008.
Houston, Cecil J. Irish Emigration and Canadian Settlement: Patterns, Links, and Letters. Edited by William J. Smyth. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1990.
Kohli, Marjorie. The Golden Bridge Young Immigrants to Canada, 1833-1939. Toronto: Natural Heritage Books, 2003.
Lee, Robert C. The Canada Company and the Huron Tract, 1826-1853: Personalities, Profits and Politics. Toronto: Natural Heritage Books, c2004.
McGowan, Mark George. The Waning of the Green: Catholics, the Irish, and Identity in Toronto, 1887-1922. Montreal: McGill-Queen's University Press, 1999.
Whyte, Robert. Robert Whyte's 1847 Famine Ship Diary: The Journey of an Irish Coffin Ship. Edited by Mangan, James J. Cork, Ireland : Mercier Press, 1994.
Wilson, David A., and Graeme Morton, Eds. Irish and Scottish Encounters with Indigenous Peoples Canada, the United States, New Zealand, and Australia. Montreal & Kingston : McGill-Queen's University Press, 2013.
Wilson, David A., Ed. Irish Nationalism in Canada. Montreal: McGill-Queen's University Press, 2009.
Browse by District Number and then Sub-District Number to find census schedules by location. Ottawa County in Canada East, for example, is district 20, while Renfrew County in Canada West is 33.
1851-52 Census Districts & Sub-Districts - Canada West & Canada East
Census of the Canadas 1851-52: Volume 1: Personal Census. Quebec, 1853.
*Free with Google registration*
Census of Roman Catholics of Kingston – 1844
Ontario Historical County Maps Project (Marcel Fortin, UofT Libraries)
Pontiac County, Canada East, 1877 (Canadiana, CRKN)
Canadian County Atlas Digital Project (McGill University)
Colton Map of Upper Canada (1857)
Goad's Fire Insurance Plan of Gorrie, ON, 1885
Goad's Fire Insurance Plan of Hamilton, ON, 1898
Goad's Fire Insurance Plan of Listowel, ON, 1894 (Rev. in 1913)
Goad's Fire Insurance Plan of London, ON, 1881
New map of the County of Perth, 1888
Use these detailed maps for a neighbourhood sketch: businesses, taverns, churches, schools, associations and other buildings that can help you understand where Torontonians worked, how they lived, what they believed, and what they did for fun.
House of Commons Parliamentary Debates, 1867-1993
House of Commons Parliamentary Debates (UK), 1803-2005
Search or browse here for discussion related to Canada in the British House of Commons before confederation.
More Information
House of Industry Fonds at the City of Toronto Archives
Toronto House of Industry Minute Book Transcriptions: 1855-1882
Immigrants Before 1865 - List of Records (LAC)
Find RG19, volume 2532.
Immigrants Before 1865 - Search (LAC)
For the micofilm version, go to the Media Commons Library on the 3rd Floor of Robarts.
Comprises The Evening Star (1894-1900), The Toronto Daily Star (1900-1971), and The Toronto Star (1971-2015).
Ottawa Citizen, 1846-2010 [under various titles]
The Packet (Ottawa), 1846-1851
Printing: Very difficult in Google News. The only real way to print is to use ALT-PrtScr (Print Screen) on your computer: this will copy the page. Then paste the image into a word document where you can crop it.
Zooming: Click the zoom in and out magnifying glass icons in the top-right of the horizontal blue bar above the newspaper pages.
Printing: Click the print icon in the top-right corner.
Zooming: Click the zoom in and out icons in the bottom-right corner.
Search: Irish Canadian 1863-1875 (UofT: Paper of Record)
Quebec Spectator, 1848 (Google News Archive)
Morning Courier for the Country (Montreal), 1835-41
New York Daily Tribune, 1842-1866
America's Historical Newspapers
Chronicling America: Historic American Newpapers
Dictionary of Canadian Biography
With more than 9,000 articles on subjects ranging from politics, law, engineering, and religion to literature, painting, medicine, and sport, this encyclopedia is a key resource for Irish studies. The entries, written by established academics, contain bibliographies to guide students in further research. The 9-volume set is so detailed that you get thorough articles on a wide range of people, from internationally-famous figures such as the poet W.B. Yeats to lesser-known persons such as Denis Kilbride, a 19th Century agrarian campaigner and MP.
Ireland and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History - A Multidisciplinary Encyclopedia
Both online and in print, and containing more than 1,500 articles, this 5-volume set is the major encyclopedia for Celtic studies.
Oxford Companion to Irish History
Encyclopedia of Literature in Canada, 2002.
Cambridge Companion to Canadian Literature, 2017
Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature, 1997
Encyclopedia of International Media & Communications
International Dictionary of Broadcasting & Film
Search LibrarySearch
Known as LibrarySearch, this interdisciplinary database is UofT's largest--and your best bet when more focused databases let you down. It combs through more than 1,200 databases, journal packages, e-book collections, and other resources ranging from the sciences to the social sciences and humanities. At its best, LibrarySearch finds relevant results you won't find elsewhere; at its worst, however, LibrarySearch can overwhelm you will a mish-mash of results from different subject areas.
Covering the history of the United States and Canada, America History & Life indexes more than 1,800 journals from 1895 to the present.
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. The database contains over half a million annotated entries.