Please contact me!
Map - The Kingdome of Ireland devided into fower provinces: Lemster, Munster, Ulster, Connagh. 1700. Adapted from the New York Public Library. Public Domain.
Search LibrarySearch
Known as LibrarySearch, this interdisciplinary database is UofT's largest--and your best bet when more focused databases let you down. It combs through more than 1,200 databases, journal packages, e-book collections, and other resources ranging from the sciences to the social sciences and humanities. At its best, LibrarySearch finds relevant results you won't find elsewhere; at its worst, however, LibrarySearch can overwhelm you will a mish-mash of results from different subject areas.
Covering the history of the United States and Canada, America History & Life indexes more than 1,800 journals from 1895 to the present.
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. The database contains over half a million annotated entries.
Irish Cinema. Oxford Bibliographies. Oxford University Press, [2013-].
Britsh Cinema. Oxford Bibliographies. Oxford University Press, [2013-].
A Companion to British and Irish Cinema. Edited by John Hill. Wiley-Blackwell, [2019].
This title is available to only one user at a time. If you can't access the book, try again later.
Like other good encyclopedias, Oxford Bibliographies offer thorough overviews, but their strength lies in the lengthy annotated bibliographies that follow. This source is an excellent place to begin your research in Irish Cinema.
Encyclopedia of International Media & Communications
International Dictionary of Broadcasting & Film
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers
The Palgrave Handbook of the Philosophy of Film and Motion Pictures.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Film Theory.
Oxford Companion to Irish History
Ireland and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History - A Multidisciplinary Encyclopedia
Both online and in print, and containing more than 1,500 articles, this 5-volume set is the major encyclopedia for Celtic studies.
With more than 9,000 articles on subjects ranging from politics, law, engineering, and religion to literature, painting, medicine, and sport, this encyclopedia is a key resource for Irish studies. The entries, written by established academics, contain bibliographies to guide students in further research. The 9-volume set is so detailed that you get thorough articles on a wide range of people, from internationally-famous figures such as the poet W.B. Yeats to lesser-known persons such as Denis Kilbride, a 19th Century agrarian campaigner and MP.
Ireland (1911) - Encyclopaedia Britannica (Wikimedia)
Ireland (1797) - Library of Congress
Hiberniae, Britannicae Insvlae nova descripto (1598) - Library of Congress
A Pocket Companion of Ireland (1736) - David Rumsey Map Collection
A Map of the Kingdom of Ireland - Northern section (1790) - David Rumsey Map Collection
A Map of the Kingdom of Ireland - Southern section (1790) - David Rumsey Map Collection
Ireland (1823) - David Rumsey Map Collection
Taylor & Skinner: Maps of the Roads of Ireland Surveyed (1777) - Internet Archive
Ordnance Survey Ireland National Townland & Historical Map Viewer - Ordnance Survey Ireland
Samuel Lewis's Topographical Dictionary of Ireland (1837) - Logainm
Placenames Database of Ireland (2021) - Logainm
Bartlett, Thomas, ed. The Cambridge History of Ireland. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2018.
Volume 1, 600-1550
Volume II, 1550-1730
Volume III, 1730-1880
Volume IV, 1880 to the Present
Bartlett, Thomas. Ireland: A History. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2010. In Print Only -- On Course Reserve at the Kelly Library.
Bew, Paul. Ireland the Politics of Enmity, 1789-2006. Princeton University Press, 2016.
Bourke, Richard., and Ian McBride. The Princeton History of Modern Ireland. Oxford University Press, 2009.
Clarkson, Leslie A., and E. Margaret Crawford. Feast and Famine: Food and Nutrition in Ireland, 1500-1920. Oxford University Press, 2001.
Clarkson, Leslie A., and E. Margaret Crawford, Eds.. Famine and Disease in Ireland. Routledge, 2016-2017.
Volume 1
Volume 2
Volume 3
Volume 4
Volume 5
Curtis, Edmund. A History of Ireland : from Earliest Times to 1922. Routledge, 2002.
Edwards, Ruth Dudley, and Bridget Hourican. Atlas of Irish History. Routledge, 2005.
Gibney, John. A Short History of Ireland, 1500-2000. Yale University Press, 2017.
Hoppen, K. Theodore. Ireland Since 1800: Conflict and Conformity. Routledge, 2013.
Kenny, Kevin. Ireland and the British Empire. Oxford University Press, 2006.
Killeen, Richard. A Short History of Modern Ireland. Gill & Macmillan, 2003.
Madden, Kyla. Forkhill Protestants and Forkhill Catholics, 1787-1858. McGill-Queen’s University Press, 2005.
McMahon, Cian T. The Coffin Ship: Life and Death at Sea During the Great Irish Famine. NYU Press, 2021.
Ó Gráda, Cormac. The Great Irish Famine. Cambridge University Press, 1995.
Pašeta, Senia. Modern Ireland: A Very Short Introduction. Oxford University Press, 2003.
Ranelagh, John. A Short History of Ireland. Cambridge University Press, 2012.
Somerset Fry, Plantagenet, and Fiona Somerset Fry. A History of Ireland. Routledge, 1991.
Stewart, A. T. Q. The Shape of Irish History. McGill-Queen’s University Press, 2001.
Barton, Ruth. Irish National Cinema. Routledge, 2004.
Barton Palmer, R., and Marc C. Conner, Eds. Screening Modern Irish Fiction and Drama. Springer, 2016.
Ging, Debbie. Men and Masculinities in Irish Cinema. Palgrave Macmillan, 2013.
MacKillop, James, Ed. Contemporary Irish Cinema: From The quiet man to Dancing at Lughnasa. Syracuse University Press, 1999.
This title is available to only one user at a time. If you can't access the book, try again later.
McFarlane, Brian. The Cinema of Britain and Ireland. Wallflower, 2005.
This title is available to borrow online through the Internet Archive. To access the book, create a free account and click Borrow for 1 Hour.
McIlroy, Brian, Ed. Genre and Cinema: Ireland and Transnationalism. Routledge, 2007.
Monahan, Barry, Ed. Ireland and Cinema: Culture and Contexts. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, [2015].
Murphy, Robert, Ed. The British Cinema Book. London: BFI, 2009.
This title is available to borrow online through the Internet Archive. To access the book, create a free account and click Borrow for 1 Hour.
Murphy, Robert, Ed. British Cinema of the 90s. London: BFI, 2020.
This title is available to borrow online through the Internet Archive. To access the book, create a free account and click Borrow for 1 Hour.
Murphy, Robert, Ed. Directors in British and Irish Cinema: A Reference Companion. London: BFI, 2006.
This title is available to borrow online through the Internet Archive. To access the book, create a free account and click Borrow for 1 Hour.
Nowell-Smith, Geoffrey. The History of Cinema: A Very Short Introduction. Oxford University Press, 2017.
O'Connell, Dióg. New Irish Storytellers: Narrative Strategies in Film. Intellect, 2010.
This title is available to only one user at a time. If you can't access the book, try again later.
Rockett, Kevin, Luke Gibbons, and John Hill. Cinema and Ireland. Routledge, 2014.
Wood, Michael. Film: A Very Short Introduction. Oxford University Press, 2013.