Please contact me!
The Ambassador Cinema, Dublin. Photo by William Murphy. Gratefully adapted with a CC license from Wikimedia.
Barton, Ruth. Irish National Cinema. Routledge, 2004.
Barton Palmer, R., and Marc C. Conner, Eds. Screening Modern Irish Fiction and Drama. Springer, 2016.
Ging, Debbie. Men and Masculinities in Irish Cinema. Palgrave Macmillan, 2013.
MacKillop, James, Ed. Contemporary Irish Cinema: From The quiet man to Dancing at Lughnasa. Syracuse University Press, 1999.
This title is available to only one user at a time. If you can't access the book, try again later.
Martin-Jones, David. Scotland: Global Cinema -- Genres, Modes, and Identities. Edinburgh University Press, c2009.
McFarlane, Brian. The Cinema of Britain and Ireland. Wallflower, 2005.
This title is available to borrow online through the Internet Archive. To access the book, create a free account and click Borrow for 1 Hour.
McIlroy, Brian, Ed. Genre and Cinema: Ireland and Transnationalism. Routledge, 2007.
Monahan, Barry, Ed. Ireland and Cinema: Culture and Contexts. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, [2015].
Murphy, Robert, Ed. The British Cinema Book. London: BFI, 2009.
This title is available to borrow online through the Internet Archive. To access the book, create a free account and click Borrow for 1 Hour.
Murphy, Robert, Ed. British Cinema of the 90s. London: BFI, 2020.
This title is available to borrow online through the Internet Archive. To access the book, create a free account and click Borrow for 1 Hour.
Murphy, Robert, Ed. Directors in British and Irish Cinema: A Reference Companion. London: BFI, 2006.
This title is available to borrow online through the Internet Archive. To access the book, create a free account and click Borrow for 1 Hour.
Nowell-Smith, Geoffrey. The History of Cinema: A Very Short Introduction. Oxford University Press, 2017.
O'Connell, Dióg. New Irish Storytellers: Narrative Strategies in Film. Intellect, 2010.
This title is available to only one user at a time. If you can't access the book, try again later.
Rockett, Kevin, Luke Gibbons, and John Hill. Cinema and Ireland. Routledge, 2014.
Wood, Michael. Film: A Very Short Introduction. Oxford University Press, 2013.
Irish Cinema. Oxford Bibliographies. Oxford University Press, [2013-].
Britsh Cinema. Oxford Bibliographies. Oxford University Press, [2013-].
Petrie, Duncan. "Trainspotting, the Film." Edinburgh Companion to Irvine Welsh, edited by Berthold Schoene. Edinburgh University Press, 2010.
A Companion to British and Irish Cinema. Edited by John Hill. Wiley-Blackwell, [2019].
This title is available to only one user at a time. If you can't access the book, try again later.
Like other good encyclopedias, Oxford Bibliographies offer thorough overviews, but their strength lies in the lengthy annotated bibliographies that follow. This source is an excellent place to begin your research in Irish Cinema.
Encyclopedia of International Media & Communications
International Dictionary of Broadcasting & Film
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers
The Palgrave Handbook of the Philosophy of Film and Motion Pictures.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Film Theory.
A Dictionary of Celtic Mythology. By Peter Berresford Ellis. ABC-CLIO, 1992.
A Dictionary of Celtic Mythology. By James MacKillop. Oxford University Press, 2004.
Both online and in print, and containing more than 1,500 articles, this 5-volume set is the major encyclopedia for Celtic studies.
Oxford Companion to Irish History
Oxford Companion to Scottish History
Routledge Handbook of British Politics and Society
With more than 9,000 articles on subjects ranging from politics, law, engineering, and religion to literature, painting, medicine, and sport, this encyclopedia is a key resource for Irish studies. The entries, written by established academics, contain bibliographies to guide students in further research. The 9-volume set is so detailed that you get thorough articles on a wide range of people, from internationally-famous figures such as the poet W.B. Yeats to lesser-known persons such as Denis Kilbride, a 19th Century agrarian campaigner and MP.
Ireland and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History - A Multidisciplinary Encyclopedia
Film Studies Resources - Research Guide by Gabbi Zaldin
Cinema Studies - Research Guide by Kate Johnson
Research Guide to Celtic Studies
Research Guide to Irish Literature & Cinema
UofT E-Resources for Cinema & Film
UofT E-Resources for Celtic Studies
Irish Cinema - Kelly Library Movies on DVD
Irish Literature on Film - Kelly Library Movies on DVD
Scottish Cinema - Kelly Library Movies on DVD
Welsh Cinema - Kelly Library Movies on DVD
Search LibrarySearch
Known as LibrarySearch, this interdisciplinary database is UofT's largest--and your best bet when more focused databases let you down. It combs through more than 1,200 databases, journal packages, e-book collections, and other resources ranging from the sciences to the social sciences and humanities. At its best, LibrarySearch finds relevant results you won't find elsewhere; at its worst, however, LibrarySearch can overwhelm you will a mish-mash of results from different subject areas.
Film & Television Literature Index
The MLA is the major English literature database. It covers criticism related to literature, linguistics and folklore from 1921 to the present, and contains more than 1-million citations to journal articles, series, books, working papers and conference proceedings. Most of the materials indexed before 1963 are American.
Journal of Popular Film & Television
Intellect Cinema Journals - List from Kate Johnson, Innis College Library
Visit this comprehensive self-guided tutorial site to master essential research skills.
Drag the letter icons to the correct citations.