Musicians at Gus O'Connor Pub, Doolin, Ireland. Photo by Gérald Tapp. Image gratefully adapted with a CC license from Wikimedia.
Ancient and Modern Scottish Songs, Heroic Ballads, Etc. In Two Volumes. Edinburgh: printed by John Wotherspoon. For James Dickson and Charles Elliot, 1776.
Chambers, Robert. The Scottish Ballads. Edinburgh: W. Tait, 1829.
Hayes, Edward. The Ballads of Ireland. Dublin: James Duffy & Sons, 1800.
Joyce, Patrick Weston. Old Irish Folk Music and Songs: A Collection of 842 Irish Airs and Songs, Hitherto Unpublished. London: Longmans, Green, 1909.
Dowling, Martin W. Traditional Music and Irish Society: Historical Perspectives. London: Routledge, 2016.
Fitzgerald, Mark, and John O’Flynn, Eds. Music and Identity in Ireland and Beyond. Surrey, England: Ashgate, 2014.
Gardiner, Michael. Modern Scottish Culture. Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, 2005.
McAulay, Karen (Karen Elisabeth). Our Ancient National Airs: Scottish Song Collecting from the Enlightenment to the Romantic Era. Burlington, Vt: Ashgate, 2013.
McDonald, R. Andrew, Ed. History, Literature, and Music in Scotland, 700-1560. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2002.
McKerrell, Simon, and Gary West, Eds. Understanding Scotland Musically: Folk, Tradition and Policy. London: Taylor and Francis, 2018.
Motherway, Susan H. The Globalization of Irish Traditional Song Performance. Burlington, Vt: Ashgate, 2013.
O’Flynn, John. The Irishness of Irish Music. London: Routledge, 2016.
Ó hAllmhuráin, Gearóid. A Short History of Irish Traditional Music. Dublin: The O’Brien Press, 2017.
O’Malley, Michael. The Beat Cop: Chicago’s Chief O’Neill and the Creation of Irish Music. Chicago, Illinois: University of Chicago Press, 2022.
Smyth, Gerry.Music and Irish Identity: Celtic Tiger Blues.London: Routledge, 2017.
Williams, Sean. Focus: Irish Traditional Music. New York: Routledge, 2010.
Cleary, Joe, and Claire Connolly. The Cambridge Companion to Modern Irish Culture. . Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2004.
Connolly, S. J. The Oxford Companion to Irish History. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2007.
Duffy, Seán, Ed. Medieval Ireland: An Encyclopedia. London: Routledge, 2005.
Viking invasions, language, mythology, saints, clothing, craftsmanship, architecture—these are some of the many topics covered in this encyclopedia. The entries, centred on such themes as lineage, manuscripts, persons and scholarship, focus on the period 500 to 1600 A.D., and come with cross-references and bibliographies. There are alphabetical and thematic tables of contents.
Ellis, Peter Berresford. Dictionary of Celtic Mythology. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1992.
Encyclopedia of Irish Spirituality. ABC-CLIO, 2000.
Fox, Renée, Mike Cronin, and Brian Ó Conchubhair. Routledge International Handbook of Irish Studies. Abingdon, Oxon: Taylor and Francis, 2020.
Koch, John T. Celtic Culture: A Historical Encyclopedia Santa Barbara, Calif: ABC-CLIO, 2006.
Both online and in print, and containing more than 1,500 articles, this 5-volume set is the major encyclopedia for Celtic studies.
Lynch, Michael. The Oxford Companion to Scottish History. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2007.
MacKillop, James. Dictionary of Celtic Mythology. Oxford University Press, 1990.
Peberdy, Robert, and Philip Waller. A Dictionary of British and Irish History. Hoboken, NJ, USA: Wiley Blackwell, 2021.
Reily, Suzel Ana, and Katherine Brucher. The Routledge Companion to the Study of Local Musicking. New York: Routledge, 2017.
Stafford, Pauline. A Companion to the Early Middle Ages: Britain and Ireland c.500-1100. Somerset: Wiley, 2013.
Vallely, Fintan. The Companion to Irish Traditional Music. Cork: Cork University Press, 2011.
Larkin, Colin. The Encyclopedia of Popular Music. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2006.
Oxford Music Online.Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2008.
Rice, Timothy, James. Porter, and Chris. Goertzen. The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music: Europe. London: Taylor and Francis, 2017.
Up to date, and intended for both novices and specialists, this 4-volume set covers European history, society, religion, and culture between A.D. 500 to 1500. Articles number about 5,000. They range from brief to lengthy, include bibliographies, and often unearth material you can only find elsewhere with difficulty. Women and children, for example, get substantial attention. The set contains a thematic listing of entries, a general index, a list of medieval popes and antipopes, and an index of alternative place names.
The major English-language comprehensive history of the Middle Ages, this work is a completely new edition of the former standard work, The Cambridge Medieval History (New York: Cambridge University Press, 1911; St. Michael’s 2nd Floor – D117 .C3).
The major English-language encyclopedia on Catholic topics, it contains some 17,000 articles, each with a bibliography emphasizing the primary sources. Unfortunately many of the articles in the 2003/online edition are reprints from the 1967 edition without any updating. Use this work to get an overview of a subject and to see how it can be divided into narrower topics for a paper.
Known as LibrarySearch, this interdisciplinary database is UofT's largest--and your best bet when more focused databases let you down. It combs through more than 1,200 databases, journal packages, e-book collections, and other resources ranging from the sciences to the social sciences and humanities. At its best, LibrarySearch finds relevant results you won't find elsewhere; at its worst, however, LibrarySearch can overwhelm you will a mish-mash of results from different subject areas.
The MLA is the major English literature database. It covers criticism related to literature, linguistics and folklore from 1921 to the present, and contains more than 1-million citations to journal articles, series, books, working papers and conference proceedings. Most of the materials indexed before 1963 are American.