Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
John M. Kelly Library Research Guides

CLT345H1: Writing Ireland

CLT345H1: Writing Ireland - Customized Resources



River Liffey, Dublin, Ireland. Photo courtesy of Pxfuel.

Open this guide in a new tab.


Article Databases

 

Search LibrarySearch

Known as LibrarySearch, this interdisciplinary database is UofT's largest--and your best bet when more focused databases let you down. It combs through more than 1,200 databases, journal packages, e-book collections, and other resources ranging from the sciences to the social sciences and humanities. At its best, LibrarySearch finds relevant results you won't find elsewhere; at its worst, however, LibrarySearch can overwhelm you will a mish-mash of results from different subject areas.

 

Everything Search

Advanced Search

Other Databases

The MLA is the major English literature database. It covers criticism related to literature, linguistics and folklore from 1921 to the present, and contains more than 1-million citations to journal articles, series, books, working papers and conference proceedings. Most of the materials indexed before 1963 are American.

Looking for articles, books or essays? This article database, covering from 1920 to the present, is one of the most important resources available. Packed with more than 840,000 records, ABELL refers you to journal articles, books, essay collections, book reviews, and doctoral dissertations. Another advantage is scope. Covering American, British and Commonwealth literature, as well as some material in languages besides English, ABELL is one of the two key indices for literature students--the other is the MLA International Bibliography.

Literature Online

Bibliography of British & Irish History (BBIH)

Bibliography of the History of Art

JSTOR

Catalogue Search


 


Workshop Tutorial


Advanced Search

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries


Cambridge Companion to Contemporary Irish Poetry.

Oxford Companion to Irish Literature

Cambridge Introduction to Modern Irish Poetry, 1800–2000.

A Dictionary of Celtic Mythology. By Peter Berresford Ellis. ABC-CLIO, 1992.

A Dictionary of Celtic Mythology. By James MacKillop. Oxford University Press, 2004.

Both online and in print, and containing more than 1,500 articles, this 5-volume set is the major encyclopedia for Celtic studies.

This series provides detailed critical essays—often by well-known critics—on a wide range of authors. Works by anonymous authors (e.g. Táin Bó Cúailnge) are listed in the title section. Most essays are available online in Literature Criticism Online, a database comprising 10 print series and consisting of more than 250 volumes compiled over the past 30 years. Using this online collection, you can search individual series titles (e.g. Contemporary Literature Criticism) all together, in a selected combination, or individually. You can find articles on such topics as Irish nationalism in literature, the Irish novel, and the Irish literary renaissance. Arranged alphabetically, the entries provide in-depth critical essays on an author’s work, along with biographical facts, a list of major works, and related sources. Usually, the essays give an overview of a writer’s work or themes.

Oxford Companion to Irish History

With more than 9,000 articles on subjects ranging from politics, law, engineering, and religion to literature, painting, medicine, and sport, this encyclopedia is a key resource for Irish studies. The entries, written by established academics, contain bibliographies to guide students in further research. The 9-volume set is so detailed that you get thorough articles on a wide range of people, from internationally-famous figures such as the poet W.B. Yeats to lesser-known persons such as Denis Kilbride, a 19th Century agrarian campaigner and MP.

Research Guide to the Modern Irish Language

Research Guide to Irish Literature & Cinema