Skip to Main ContentJohn M. Kelly Library Research Guides

CLT336H1: Sport in Ireland

CLT336H1: Sport in Ireland - Customized Resources



Image Sources: Defence Forces Vs BOI Gaelic Football at Semple Stadium by Óglaigh na hÉireann; Gaelic Games Project logo by Pauric; Garda V Defence Forces by Irish Defence Forces -- all gratefully adapted with CC licenses.

Open this guide in a new tab.


Article Databases

 

Search LibrarySearch

Known as LibrarySearch, this interdisciplinary database is UofT's largest--and your best bet when more focused databases let you down. It combs through more than 1,200 databases, journal packages, e-book collections, and other resources ranging from the sciences to the social sciences and humanities. At its best, LibrarySearch finds relevant results you won't find elsewhere; at its worst, however, LibrarySearch can overwhelm you will a mish-mash of results from different subject areas.

 

Everything Search

Advanced Search

Other Databases

Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. The database contains over half a million annotated entries.

The MLA is the major English literature database. It covers criticism related to literature, linguistics and folklore from 1921 to the present, and contains more than 1-million citations to journal articles, series, books, working papers and conference proceedings. Most of the materials indexed before 1963 are American.

Bibliography of British & Irish History (BBIH)

JSTOR

Catalogue Search


 



Advanced Search

Ebooks


Collins, Tony. Football and Nationalism in Ireland and Beyond." In How Football Began : A Global History of How the World’s Football Codes Were Born. Boca Raton, FL: Routledge, 2018.

Collins, Tony. "Ireland: Creating Gaelic Football." In How Football Began : A Global History of How the World’s Football Codes Were Born. Boca Raton, FL: Routledge, 2018.

Concanen, Matthew.A Match at Foot-Ball or the Irish Champions. A Mock-Heroick Poem, in Three Canto’s. London: printed for R. Francklin, at the Sun in Fleet-Street; W. Chetwood, and J. Woodman, in Covent-Garden; and J. Graves, in St. James’s-Street, 1721.

Available online through the Internet Archive. To access the book, you'll need to create a free account by clicking the Sign Up link at the top of the screen.

The book is also available in print at the Robarts Library.

Cronin, Mike. "Catholics and sport in Northern Ireland: Exclusiveness or Inclusivness?" In With God on Their Side: Sport in the Service of Religion. Edited by Tara Magdalinski and Timothy John Lindsay Chandler. London: Routledge, 2002.

Cunliffe, Barry. The Celts: A Very Short Introduction. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2003.

Desbordes, Michel, and Simon Chadwick. Marketing and Football: An International Perspective. Oxford, England: Taylor & Francis, 2006.

Free, Marcus. "‘Angels’ with Drunken Faces? Travelling Republic of Ireland Supporters and the Construction of Irish Migrant Identity in England" In Fanatics: Power, Identity, and Fandom in Football. Edited by Adam Brown. London: Routledge, 1998.

Free, Marcus, and Neil O’Boyle. Sport and Media in Ireland Interdisciplinary Perspectives. Chapel Hill: Cork University Press, 2020.

Haywood, John. The Celts: Bronze Age to New Age. Oxford: Routledge, 2014.

Long, A. W. Irish Sport of Yesterday: Sports, Types and Yarns of Western Ireland Life. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1923.

Mauro, Max. Youth Sport, Migration and Culture: Two Football Teams and the Changing Face of Ireland. Milton: Routledge, 2019.

Rouse, Paul. Sport and Ireland: A History. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2015.

McKay, Jim, Michael Alan Messner, and Donald Sabo. Masculinities, Gender Relations, and Sport. Masculinities, Gender Relations, and Sport. Thousand Oaks: SAGE Publications, Incorporated, 2000.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries


Ireland

Oxford Companion to Irish History

Cambridge Companion to Modern Irish Culture

Oxford Handbook of Modern Irish History

A Companion to the Early Middle Ages: Britain and Ireland c.500-1100

Dictionary of British and Irish History

A Dictionary of Celtic Mythology. By Peter Berresford Ellis. ABC-CLIO, 1992.

A Dictionary of Celtic Mythology. By James MacKillop. Oxford University Press, 2004.

Both online and in print, and containing more than 1,500 articles, this 5-volume set is the major encyclopedia for Celtic studies.

With more than 9,000 articles on subjects ranging from politics, law, engineering, and religion to literature, painting, medicine, and sport, this encyclopedia is a key resource for Irish studies. The entries, written by established academics, contain bibliographies to guide students in further research. The 9-volume set is so detailed that you get thorough articles on a wide range of people, from internationally-famous figures such as the poet W.B. Yeats to lesser-known persons such as Denis Kilbride, a 19th Century agrarian campaigner and MP.

Sport

Encyclopedia of British Football

Oxford Handbook of Sports History

Berkshire Encyclopedia of World Sport

Encyclopedia of World Sport: From Ancient Times to the Present

Encyclopedia of Women and Sports

Encyclopedia of International Sports Studies