Research Guides: CITC17 Civic Engagement in a Digital Age: Home

Learning Outcomes

Search Strategies

You will identify a list of keywords specific to your topic in order to retrieve relevant books and articles in a library database for your research assignment.
You will learn to design and refine search needs and search strategies as necessary and based on search results.

Activity: Writing & Research - Individual Reflection

Mentimeter Survey

Keywords / Search Words

Key e-Resources

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles, books, reviews, and chapters in the fields of anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology.
GEOBASE This link opens in a new window
Database for physical and human geography, earth and environmental sciences, ecology, and related disciplines, focusing on the human and social impacts on both.

Canadian Public Policy Collection (Scholars Portal Books)
This is a collection of materials from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups and think-tanks materials.
ACCESS INSTRUCTIONS: After you click on the link, choose "Canadian Public Documents Collection" from the Collection drop-down menu below the search box.

PolicyFile (US) This link opens in a new window

Institute for Research on Public Policy (IRPP)

Other Key Resources

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
International research in public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. Provides access to journal articles, books, government documents, research and conference reports, and more.

Fraser Institute
A policy think tank organization that measures and communicates how government policies affect the lives of Canadians.
City of Toronto - Reports & Data Centre
Includes detailed data, maps, and information about the city of Toronto and its neighbourhoods and communities.
APA Citation Guide

Undergraduate Research & Creative Events & Prizes

The University of Toronto Scarborough is committed to fostering the undergraduate experience. As part of this commitment, the UTSC Office of the Vice-Principal Research and Innovation and the UTSC Library launched two successful initiatives in 2016 which continue to evolve and grow every year.

Each initiative provides an opportunity for students who have excelled in research, scholarship and creative activities to showcase their work and win cash prizes.

More Information

UTSC Undergraduate Research & Creative Forum - Application deadline: February 25, 2025 12:00 PM ET (noon)

UTSC Undergraduate Research & Creative Prize - 2025 deadlines TBA

Patricia and Peter Shannon Wilson Undergraduate Research Prize - 2025 deadlines TBA

Have questions?

Check out the links above for details, contact your liaison librarian or join us for an in-person info session outside the library

January 9, 2025 10:00AM - 11:00AM
January 14, 2025 2:00PM - 3:00PM

CITC17 Civic Engagement in a Digital Age

City Studies Librarian

Quick Links

Assignment

Learning Outcomes

Search Strategies

Activity: Writing & Research - Individual Reflection

Keywords / Search Words

Key e-Resources

Other Key Resources

Undergraduate Research & Creative Events & Prizes

More Information

Have questions?

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us