Research Guides: MUS3610 Music Entrepreneurship: Music & Cities : Home

Welcome

This guide contains links to resources for the market research workshop, as well as workshop slides.

The left navigation includes links to further resources for market research, company and competitor and industry information. These won't all be covered in the workshop.

If you have any questions about market research, please email Carey Toane at carey.toane@utoronto.ca or book a 30-miinute research consultation.

Questions related to searching the health sciences literature can be directed to Gerstein Science Information Centre staff at ask.gerstein@utoronto.ca.

Market research databases

eMarketer
Research on digital marketing, social media, online advertising, and e-commerce. Includes demographics of online consumers and marketing and advertising performance benchmarks.
EMIS (Emerging Markets Information Service)
Emerging markets information as well as global industry reports from BMI Research and GRDS among others.
Mintel
Offers research reports covering US & Canada (Mintel Reports (US & Canada) and Mintel Global Consumer: A bi-annual survey across 36 countries that allows you to uncover the differences and similarities in attitudes, preferences and behaviors in the world's most important consumer markets.
Passport GMID
Global coverage of more than 20 industries, with focus on consumer products and services. Includes country and city-level demographic consumer data through Categories tab or via search tool.
Statista
Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
SimplyAnalytics
A web-based data visualization application to create simple thematic maps and tables from census and other socio-demographic data, as well as business point data.

Municipal data and directories

Many Canadian cities have municipal music offices or music strategies that can include directories and maps of venues and companies. Alternatively, government tourism or arts ministries may collect and make available data on major cities.

Google Advanced Search
Much government statistical information is accessible online via search engine. Use Google Advanced Search to limit search results to a particular domain, timeframe, file type, and other operators. See the Web Research Tips page in the left navigation for more information.
City of Toronto Music Office
Resources, directories, videos and reports to support the music industry in Toronto. Part of the City of Toronto Economic Development and Culture office.
Music Cities Ontario
A map of the 10+ municipalities in Ontario participating in the Music Cities initiative. To find resources on a city listed on the map, use a search engine for [CITY NAME] music city
World Cities Culture Forum - Data homepage
WCCF is a global network of over 40 cities worldwide, advocating for cultural industries and economies. Includes data on cultural infrastructure. participation tourism, creative economy and arts education.

Passport GMID
Access city-level data including population, households, digital consumer, disposable income, expenditure, consumer pricing, economy, labour, transport and more. Tables are adjustable.

UNESCO Creative Cities Network
UNESCO’s Creative Cities Network provides one-page profiles on creative industry in 350 member cities around the world. Includes music, crafts and folk art, design, film, gastronomy, literature and media arts.

Consulting firms and associations

Canadian Live Music Association - Research and Reports
The CLMA publishes live music industry data including studies and economic impact reports, as well as reports on music cities in Canada and internationally.
Music Canada
Resources from Canadian music industry advocacy group, representing Canada’s major record labels: Sony Music Entertainment Canada, Universal Music Canada and Warner Music Canada. Resources include research and reports, service providers directory, and a guide to licensing in Canada.
Nordicity
Reports on arts and culture, creative and digital industries in North America and Europe. Consultancy based in UK and Canada.
SOCAN - Resource Centre
Guides and tools to help music creators navigate the Canadian and international music ecosystem, including a list of industry associations
Spotify for Artists - Fan Study
Drawing on proprietary platform data, reports provide insights into behaviours, trends and preferences of millions of Spotify users.

Industry journals and websites

Official Charts Company
The UK’s official, trusted weekly barometer of what is popular in music right now. Initially formed in 1998 to manage the future development of the charts in the fast-moving entertainment industry, and control rights to the historic charts. A joint venture operation owned by two key music industry bodies: the BPI and ERA.
Billboard magazine

Music Periodicals Database
Citation information, including abstracts, of key music journals and magazine articles, with additional full-text coverage for select titles.

Rolling Stone magazine
Music Business Worldwide
Music Business Worldwide (MBW) is a leading information service for the global music industry. Established in 2015, MBW provides news, insight and jobs to the worldwide business.