Research Guides: CIN3008: Film Archives: Find Scholarly Articles (LibrarySearch, Databases, Specific Journals)

Find an Article By Topic in LibrarySearch

Interdisciplinary Databases - Use Filters! (with videos)

UofT LibrarySearch - Advanced Search for Scholarly Resources
Options for limiting searching to article with the Advanced Search functions:

1. If searching in 'Everything,' use the Format drop-down menu to select 'Articles.'
2. Select the 'Article' option in the 'Search for:' field.
3. Enter your search terms & find the Format filter (left of your search results) and choose Articles.

To limit your results to Peer-Reviewed Articles, select that filter in the left sidebar under 'Show Only.'
FIAF Film Archive Databases (OVID)
A collection of International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) Film Databases (International Index to Film Periodicals 1972 onwards and International Index to TV Periodicals 1979 to 2006). Databases are available through OVID https://bit.ly/OVIDhelpvideos
Access - Limited number of users at one time

ProQuest
Multidisciplinary search engine of academic journals, newspapers, ebooks, dissertations and theses, and more.
Use ProQuest Search Filters to narrow your search results using filters on left sidebar
>> Peer Review (be sure the combine with Document type)
>> Full Text (PDFs stored in ProQuest)
>> Source Type (e.g., Newspapers, Magazines, Trade Magazines, Scholarly Journals)
>> Publication Title (e.g., New York Times, Variety)
>> Document Type (e.g., Feature, Front Page/Cover Story, Article, Interviews, Editorial, or try excluding advertisements)
>> Subject (this filter is most effective with scholarly journals and books, as well as, some trade journals or magazines)
Learn more about ProQuest: https://proquest.libguides.com/proquestplatform/advanced

EBSCO Platform
Multidisciplinary search engine of academic journals and ebooks.
>> Click on the "Select / deselect all" Check box to search all databases.
- Note: Selecting all databases for search may result in slow response time.
>> Filters: Peer Review, Full text
- Source Type: Academic Journals, Books, or more popular Magazines, Trade Publications (industry or professional audiences), News
- Various Subject filters

JSTOR
Multidisciplinary full text database that allows you to search for articles from scholars across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It also gives you access to a major collection of ebooks, primary sources, and images.

Project MUSE
Interdisciplinary search engine of peer-reviewed academic journals and books (digital humanities and social sciences).

Find an Article by Title in LibrarySearch

International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) Databases

FIAF International Film Archive
Limited to 3 Users at a time
Contains international coverage in various languages of publications in a curated collection crafted by International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF), including publications from Africa, Asia, Slavic language regions

FIAF treasures from the film archives
Limited to 3 Users at a time
Contains information about silent-era film holdings in international film archives.
NOTE: Users must be aware that the inclusion of a title in this database does not indicate whether the material is complete, nor does it guarantee access to that material. Access regulations may differ from archive to archive according to their individual and national policies and restrictions, and researchers must query individual archives regarding access.

FIAF International Film Archives

Searching Tips for FIAF Databases (IIFP & IITP) in OVID

LIMITED to 3 users at a time. If you can't access it, return later when one of the 3 seats have opened up to new users.
This an OVID database which requires different search strategies so take a look at these search tips:
1. Search by one Subject Heading - OVID platform
2. Search all fields by one Keyword - OVID platform
3. Combine Searches - OVID platform
4. Video tutorials for searching in OVID (bit.ly/OVIDhelpvideos)
To access the resource, use GET IT UTL button on left side of record to access item through UofT Libraries
- If you don't see a UTL link, try to find an article by title in LibrarySearch
- Not available through UofT Libraries? Submit an Interlibrary Loan Request
More details about FIAF Databases:
- OVID Advanced Search fields/options for FIAF Databases
- OVID FIAF Database Guide

ProQuest Database

ProQuest

ProQuest is a platform containing over 100 databases. ProQuest contains publications (i.e., newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals, eBook titles, dissertation and theses) in different subjects areas including film. Remember you might find content in a non-film related resource from your time period, (i.e., newspapers, business or tech magazines).

1) Use the Advanced Search Tool

screen shot of ProQuest Advance Search box

2) Sort your Results

Sort your results (Relevance, Date)
- Sort by Date: It may be useful to arrange the results chronologically (oldest first) in order to follow the entire production process of a particular film, from gossip about potential stars to reviews and box-office grosses.

3) Using ProQuest Search Filters

Narrow your search results using filters on left sidebar:
- Source Type (e.g., Scholarly Journals, Newspapers, Magazines, Trade Magazines)
- Publication Title (e.g., Cinema Journal, New York Times, Variety)
- Document Type (e.g., Reviews - film or books, Feature, Front Page/Cover Story, Article, Literature Review, Interviews, Editorial, or try excluding advertisements)

4) Mark relevant records

If you find interesting articles, be sure to .

Go to the results page and click the check box to the left of the article title
When you are ready to email the articles to yourself, scroll to the top of the results list and click on Email link (on right side)
Email the marked records to yourself

Another option is to create a free ProQuest MyResearch account.

Research Guides

CIN3008: Film Archives

Ask a Librarian Chat - click to start a chat session

Cinema Studies Librarian