Please contact me!
Digging Homegrown Potatoes. Photo by James Mooney. Image gratefully adapted with a CC license from Flickr.
Search LibrarySearch
Known as LibrarySearch, this interdisciplinary database is UofT's largest--and your best bet when more focused databases let you down. It combs through more than 1,200 databases, journal packages, e-book collections, and other resources ranging from the sciences to the social sciences and humanities. At its best, LibrarySearch finds relevant results you won't find elsewhere; at its worst, however, LibrarySearch can overwhelm you will a mish-mash of results from different subject areas.
The MLA is the major English literature database. It covers criticism related to literature, linguistics and folklore from 1921 to the present, and contains more than 1-million citations to journal articles, series, books, working papers and conference proceedings. Most of the materials indexed before 1963 are American.
Looking for articles, books or essays? This article database, covering from 1920 to the present, is one of the most important resources available. Packed with more than 840,000 records, ABELL refers you to journal articles, books, essay collections, book reviews, and doctoral dissertations. Another advantage is scope. Covering American, British and Commonwealth literature, as well as some material in languages besides English, ABELL is one of the two key indices for literature students--the other is the MLA International Bibliography.
Bibliography of British & Irish History (BBIH)
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. The database contains over half a million annotated entries.
Dennison, John. Seamus Heaney and the Adequacy of Poetry. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2015.
Duffy, Edward. The Art of Translation in Seamus Heaney’s Poetry: Toward Heaven. New York, NY: Routledge, 2024.
Foster, R. F. (Robert Fitzroy). On Seamus Heaney. Princeton, New Jersey: Princeton University Press, 2020.
Hall, J., and A. Crowder, Eds. Seamus Heaney: Poet, Critic, Translator. London: Palgrave Macmillan UK, 2007.
Hickey, Ian. Haunted Heaney: Spectres and the Poetry. New York: Routledge, 2022.
Hickey, Ian, and Ellen Howley, Eds. Seamus Heaney’s Mythmaking. New York, NY: Routledge, 2023.
Higgins, Geraldine, Ed. Seamus Heaney in Context. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2021.
Lavan, Rosie. Seamus Heaney and Society. Oxford: OUP Oxford, 2020.
Lidstrom, Susanna. Nature, Environment and Poetry: Ecocriticism and the Poetics of Seamus Heaney and Ted Hughes. London: Routledge, 2015.
Quinlan, Kieran. Seamus Heaney and the End of Catholic Ireland. Washington, D.C: The Catholic University of America Press, 2020.
Russell, Richard Rankin. Seamus Heaney: An Introduction. Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, 2016.
Vincent, Bridget. Moral Authority in Seamus Heaney and Geoffrey Hill. Oxford: OUP Oxford, 2022.
Death Of a Naturalist. London: Faber and Faber, 1966.
Door Into the Dark. London: Faber and Faber, 1969.
Wintering Out. London: Faber and Faber, 1972.
North. London: Faber and Faber, 1975.
Field Work. London: Faber and Faber, 1979.
Station Island. London: Faber and Faber, 1984.
Sweeney Astray. London: Faber and Faber, 1984.
Haw Lantern. London: Faber and Faber, 1987.
New Selected Poems: 1966-1987. London: Faber and Faber, 1990.
Seeing Things. London: Faber and Faber, 1991.
Opened Ground: Poems 1966-1996. London: Faber and Faber, 1996.
The Spirit Level. London: Faber and Faber, 1996.
Electric Light. London: Faber and Faber, 2001.
District and Circle. London: Faber and Faber, 2006.
The Cure At Troy: A Version Of Sophocles’ Philoctetes. London: Faber and Faber, 1990.
The Burial At Thebes: Sophocles’ Antigone. Translated By Seamus Heaney. London: Faber and Faber, 2005.
Beowulf: a New Verse Translation. London: Faber and Faber, 2007.
Preoccupations: Selected Prose, 1968-1978. IN PRINT. New York: Farrar, Straus, Giroux, 1980.
The Government of the Tongue: The 1986 T.S. Eliot Memorial Lectures and Other Critical Writings. IN PRINT. London: Faber and Faber, 1988.
The Redress of Poetry: Oxford Lectures. IN PRINT. London: Faber and Faber, 1995.
Gale Literature Criticism provides detailed critical essays—often by well-known critics—on a wide range of authors. Works by anonymous authors (e.g. Táin Bó Cúailnge) are listed in the title section. Most essays are available online in Literature Criticism Online, a database comprising 10 print series and consisting of more than 250 volumes compiled over the past 30 years. Using this online collection, you can search individual series titles (e.g. Contemporary Literature Criticism) all together, in a selected combination, or individually. You can find articles on such topics as Irish nationalism in literature, the Irish novel, and the Irish literary renaissance. Arranged alphabetically, the entries provide in-depth critical essays on an author’s work, along with biographical facts, a list of major works, and related sources. Usually, the essays give an overview of a writer’s work or themes.
With more than 9,000 articles on subjects ranging from politics, law, engineering, and religion to literature, painting, medicine, and sport, this encyclopedia is a key resource for Irish studies. The entries, written by established academics, contain bibliographies to guide students in further research. The 9-volume set is so detailed that you get thorough articles on a wide range of people, from internationally-famous figures such as the poet W.B. Yeats to lesser-known persons such as Denis Kilbride, a 19th Century agrarian campaigner and MP.
Cambridge Companion to Seamus Heaney (2009)
A Dictionary of Celtic Mythology. By Peter Berresford Ellis. ABC-CLIO, 1992.
A Dictionary of Celtic Mythology. By James MacKillop. Oxford University Press, 2004.
Both online and in print, and containing more than 1,500 articles, this 5-volume set is the major encyclopedia for Celtic studies.
Cambridge Companion to Modern Irish Culture
Oxford Handbook of Modern Irish History
Oxford Companion to Irish History
Routledge International Handbook of Irish Studies.