ENG400 English and Drama Capstone Research Seminar (Fall 2023)

[ProQuest] includes Early English Books Online and Early European Books.

[ProQuest] More than a million and a half Africans, along with many Indians and South Asians, were brought to the Caribbean between the 15th and 19th centuries. Today, their descendants are active in literature and the arts, producing literature with strong and direct ties to traditional African expressions.
Among the authors featured are Wilson Harris, Kwane Dawes, Lorna Goodison, Cyryl Dabydeen, Earl Lovelace, Samuel Selvon, Derek Walcott, Corly Verlooghen, Diana Lebacs, Hubert Booi, Maryse Condé, André Paradis, Phillipe Thoby-Marcelin, José Martí, Julian de Casal, José de Diego, and Salomé Ureña de Henríquez.
Languages vary: Papiamento, French Creole, Jamaican Creole, Belizean Kriol, Singlish, and Sranam Tongo. Translations of major works, dictionaries, and reference materials are included.

[ProQuest] The materials have been compiled from early literary magazines, archives, and the personal collections of the authors. Some 30 percent of the collection is fugitive or ephemeral, or has never been published before.

• African American Poetry 1760–1900
• American Drama 1714–1915
• American Poetry
• Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, 1920 –
• Canadian Poetry
• Early American Fiction 1789–1850
• Early American Fiction 1789–1875
• Early English Prose Fiction
• Eighteenth-Century Fiction
• English Drama
• English Poetry
• English Poetry, Second Edition
• The Faber Poetry Library
• King James Bible
• MLA International Bibliography
• Nineteenth-Century Fiction
• Twentieth-Century African American Poetry
• Twentieth-Century American Poetry
• Twentieth-Century Drama
• Twentieth-Century English Poetry
• W.B. Yeats Collection

Brockelmann's work offers bio-bibliographic information about works written in Arabic and their authors, with an emphasis on the classical period. It is divided in chronologically organized sections, which are subdivided by literary genre. Individual entries typically consist of a biographical section and a list of the author’s works in manuscript and print, with references to secondary literature.

— Asian Theatre Video Collection
— BBC Drama Films and Documentaries
— British, American and Australian Theatre Video Collection
— National Theatre Collections 1
— National Theatre Collections 2
— Stratford Festival Shakespeare Collection (Canada)
— European Theatre Video Collection
— Shakespeare's Globe on Screen 1 and 2
— Shakespeare's Globe to Globe Festival on Screen 1
— Shakespeare in the Present
— Shakespeare Video Collection
— The Donmar Shakespeare Trilogy on Screen
— Hamlet (Maxine Peake as Hamlet)
— The Royal Shakespeare Company Live Collection
— Shakespeare’s Heroes and Villains
— The Classic Spring Oscar Wilde Collection

— Playwrights Canada Press
consists of over 230 plays from notable and award-winning authors including Daniel MacIvor and Hannah Moscovitch. Plays in this collection have won prizes including the Susan Smith Blackburn Prize, the Governor General’s Literary Award for Drama, the Windham-Campbell Prize and the Siminovitch Prize.
— Aurora Metro Books
offers a contemporary list of new drama with a focus on women’s drama, international drama, drama in translation, and drama by black and Asian writers.
— Nick Hern Books Modern Plays
includes over 750 plays from many of the UK and Ireland’s preeminent playwrights, as well as exciting new voices.
— Oberon Books Collection 1
includes over 500 British titles that features a diverse gathering of canonical and contemporary drama
— TCG Books Play Collection
offers 200 plays from TCG Books, the largest independent trade publisher of dramatic literature in North America.
— L.A. Theatre Works (Audio Plays)
— Core Collection

A National New Play Network (NNPN) project offers a digital library of scripts, which currently offers over 33,900 scripts: plays and musicals by living writers in 30+ countries and all 50 states in U.S. as of May 2020.

Digital Theatre Plus offers full-length filmed stage performances of classic and modern plays, along with interviews and workshops with playwrights, directors, designers, actors, musicians, and others involved in the playmaking process.

1: Pioneer Orientalists
2: The Ottoman Legacy of Levinus Warner
3: Arabic Manuscripts from the Hungarian Academy
4: The Shangoda Collections from Dagestan

LibGudies by the University of Chicago Library