Research Guides: HIS395H5: Topics in History: Money and Markets in Canada: Historical Newspapers

How to Find Newspaper Articles in LibrarySearch

Several platforms offer access to historical newspapers. To identify which platforms would meet your needs, LibrarySearch's Newspaper page could be helpful.

LibrarySearch ➤ ➤ Newspapers
How to Find Newspaper Articles in LibrarySearch
NOTE: Even when you see "No Online Access," click the title of the newspaper article. Contradictory to the message, you will see electronic options there.

Useful Databases

Canadiana Online
Use the filter to see newspapers under "Collection".
Google News Archive Search

Renowned Historical Newspapers (English) - Canada [ProQuest]

Historical Local Newspapers by Province

Ontario
— Ontario Community Newspapers Portal [The OurOntario.ca - OurDigitalWorld]
— INK [the list is available here].
The coverage among the communities varies, but can include:
‣ News article indexing,
‣ Births, Marriages and Deaths (BMD) indexing, and clippings
‣ Full page/issue access
British Columbia
— The BC Historical Newspapers [University of British Columbia Library]
Features digitized versions of historical papers from around the province. The titles, which range from the Abbotsford Post to the Ymir Mirror, date from 1859 to 1995.
— The British Colonist [University of Victoria]
The collection contains all the issues of The British Colonist (also called The Daily British Colonist, The Daily Colonist, and other variants) from its first issue in 1858 to December 1950.
— The Bill Silver Digital Newspaper Archive
‣ The Vanderhoof Herald: 1917-1920
‣ Nechako Chronicle: 1920-1983
‣ Omineca Express: 1982-1989 and 1991-2007
— Prince George Digital Newspaper Collection [Prince George Public Library]
— Eleanor Muehle Newspaper Archive [BC History Digitization Program]
— Qiesnel Cariboo Observer [Quesnel and District Museum and Archives]
The Cariboo Observer began publication on August 29th 1908 in Quesnel, B.C., serving the communities of Ashcroft, Quesnel and Barkerville.
Alberta
— Peel's Prairie Provinces [University of Alberta]
➤ ➤ New Peel's Prairie Provinces site
➤ ➤ Original Peel's Prairie Provinces site
— Early Alberta Newspapers [University of Calgary Libraries]
Saskatchewan
— Saskatchewan Historic Newspapers Online (SHNO) [Provincial Archives of Saskatchewan]
The project when completed will see the digitization of newspapers from all across Saskatchewan from 1878 through to the mid 1960s.
Manitoba
— UM Digital Collections - Manitoba - Newspapers [University of Manitoba Libraries]
includes Manitoba Free Press, Winnipeg Daily Sun, Le Manitoba, etc.
Québec
— Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec
This collection gives access to the following newspapers: L'Action catholique, Le Canada, Le Canadien, Le Courrier de St-Hyacinthe, Le Devoir, L'Étoile du Nord, La Minerve, La Patrie, La Presse, Le Petit journal and Le Soleil.
— Le Devoir, 1902—1998 [Google]
New Brunswick
The University of New Brunswick Libraries indexes the newspapers and includes the link to Canadiana by CRKN and Google News Archive when digitized newspapers are available.
Nova Scotia
— Nova Scotia Historical Newspapers [Province of Nova Scotia]
The site offers sixteen different newspapers published in eight very different Nova Scotia communities over a span of 230 years — from The Nova Scotia Chronicle and Weekly Advertiser in 1769, to Le Courrier de la Nouvelle-Écosse in 2002.
Newfoundland and Labrador
— Newfoundland Newspapers [Memorial University of Newfoundland - Digital Archives Initiative]

French-language Newspapers in Canada

Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec (BAnQ)
This collection gives access to the following newspapers: L'Action catholique, Le Canada, Le Canadien, Le Courrier de St-Hyacinthe, Le Devoir, L'Étoile du Nord, La Minerve, La Patrie, La Presse, Le Petit journal and Le Soleil.
Peel's Prairie Provinces
French Newspapers include: Le courrier de l'ouest, Le franco-albertain, La Liberté, La Liberté et le patriote, The St. Albert Star/Étoile de St. Albert, La survivance, etc.
Nova Scotia Historical Newspapers [Nova Scotia Archives]
Le Courrier de la Nouvelle-Écosse (1937-2002) is Nova Scotia's leading French-language newspaper, and the only one with province-wide coverage and distribution. First published by Désiré d'Éon as Le Petit Courrier (Du Sud-Ouest de la Nouvelle-Écosse) on 10 February 1937, it has appeared weekly ever since, informing its readers, defending the interests of Acadians and francophones, and providing a bridge linking all Acadian regions in the province.
New Brunswick
The University of New Brunswick Libraries indexes the province's newspapers and includes the links to Google News Archives when digitized newspapers are available.
Click "Online" under Holdings and "French" under Language.
Ontario
Check INK - ODW Newspaper Collection (List of titles).
Manitoba
— UM Digital Collections - Manitoba - Newspapers [University of Manitoba Libraries]
includes Le Métis, La Liberté, Le Manitoba, etc.
Saskatchewan
— Saskatchewan Historic Newspapers Online (SHNO) [Provincial Archives of Saskatchewan]
The project when completed will see the digitization of newspapers from all across Saskatchewan from 1878 through to the mid 1960s.
Contact Craig Harkema, Digital Initiatives Librarian at the University of Saskatchewan at craig.harkema@usask.ca to obtain the list of French newspapers and the publication ranges.

Canadiana Online
Canadiana offers access to French newspapers, such as L’impartial (La Prairie), L’impartial (Longueuil) (Quebec), Le Madawaska (New Brunswick), and L’impartial (Tignish) (PEI).

See also French Newspapers and Periodicals of Canada and the United States (1913).

You may want to check Bowling Green State University's Library guide, which has compiled a list of Historical Canadian Newspapers Online: https://libguides.bgsu.edu/CanadianNewspapers.

UTM & UTML Collection

★ Microfilms in the UTM Library

"While the amount of online content continues to grow, newspapers on 35mm microfilm remain a viable strategy for the preservation of print newspapers" ("Microforms in Libraries and Archives" by the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services, a division of the American Library Association).

There are microfilms on the ground floor of the UTM Library. Before you use it, please read the guide below:

GTA Newspapers on Microfilm
Please check the guide before using our Microfilm newspaper collection.
This guide was created by our Information & Loans technicians.

★ Digitized Newspapers by the UTML Archives & Special Collections

The Erindalian
The Erindalian was established in 1968 for the purpose of presenting news and opinions relevant to the Erindale College community; celebrating the achievements of community members; and fostering communication between all levels of the College. The newspapers provide coverage of student politics, activities, and campus events, and feature original poetry and cartoons.
Our complete holdings of the Erindalian run from Volume 1, Issue 1 (November 14,1968) to Volume 6, Issue 10 (December 4, 1973) when the newspaper was renamed to the Medium.