Research guides: Resource Guide to Cantonese Learning: Printed Materials

Dictionaries

A Dictionary of Cantonese Slang by Christopher Hutton; Kingsley Bolton The publication of this dictionary locates the discussion of its subject, Cantonese slang, within the social, cultural, and political dynamics of Hong Kong society. The "slang" of the title refers to a wide range of Hong Kong vernacular Cantonese speech styles, notably the language of the underworld (a major source of innovation in late 20th-21st century speech), of teenagers, and of Hong Kong movies and comics. The volume offers a general introduction to the history of "vernacular" and "vulgar" dictionaries, including the lexicography of Cantonese; the sociopolitical and linguistic background to Hong Kong; and the specific problems faced by the linguist as urban anthropologist in researching such issues. The Dictionary itself offers for the first time a survey of the commonest slang and colloquial phrases used in Hong Kong, including taboo language not hitherto found in any dictionary. It is Cantonese-English, arranged alphabetically according to a widely-used transcription system.
ISBN: 0824815955
Publication Date: 2005-05-01
Cantonese-English/English-Cantonese Practical Dictionary by Editors of Hippocrene Books (Editor) A comprehensive, up-to-date Cantonese reference for students and travelers from a trusted name in foreign language study. Spoken by nearly 60 million people, Cantonese rivals Mandarin as the lingua franca of both south China and of the worldwide Chinese diaspora population. Unique among all the Chinese dialects, Cantonese also has a writing system that is distinct from Mandarin Chinese and makes use of characters generally not understood by non-Cantonese speakers. The Cantonese Practical Dictionary includes over 14,000 entries, providing students and travelers with a portable, yet comprehensive resource for everyday use. Cantonese is an official language of Hong Kong and Macau, and written Cantonese is commonly found on street signs in Hong Kong as well as in newspapers and novels. The spoken language also exerts a strong cultural influence on East Asia, due to the prominence of Hong Kong's film and music industries. This is also a useful guide for Cantonese heritage speakers, or as English-Cantonese resource for ESL students.
ISBN: 9780781813129
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
English-Cantonese dictionary : Cantonese in Yale romanization
Publication Date: 1991
广州音字典 : 普通话对照
Publication Date: 1983
廣州話指南 The Right Word in Cantonese The Right Word in Cantonese is a quick reference for everyday vocabulary with specialized glossaries of material specifically applicable to life in Hong Kong. In this revised edition, with a total of 7,800 entries, all information has been updated and new entries have been added. Featuring two new sections about how to describe people and major festivals in Hong Kong, this revised edition is complete with English entries, Yale Romanizations with syllable breaks and Chinese characters. With exercise and an audio CD. This is a handy, accurate, concise yet comprehensive dictionary for students of Cantonese and a practical handbook for visitors to Hong Kong.
ISBN: 9789620718984
Publication Date: 2010-11-01
香港话普通话对照词典
Publication Date: 1997
粤港俗语谚语歇后语词典
Publication Date: 1997
粤語拼音字表 by 香港語言學學會粤語拼音字表編寫小組
Publication Date: 1997
香港粤語大詞典
Publication Date: 2018
粵語會話寶典 : 從起居、社交、工作到文化的廣東話萬用表達 / Cantonese Conversation Handbook
Publication Date: 2022

More Cantonese dictionaries and reference books

Textbooks

Chinese-Cantonese (Toishan) basic course by United States. Army Language School, Monterey, Calif.
Call Number: PL1733 .U5
Publication Date: 1962-
Communicate in Cantonese. Pack Cd Version Designed for English speakers who wish to communicate with native Cantonese speakers. There are 27 lessons built around dialogues from everyday life, using real, commonly used words and phrases, both colloquial and formal, rather than "textbook language".
ISBN: 9789620716164
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Illustrated Hong Kong Cantonese = 圖解港式廣東話
Publication Date: 2019
圖解廣東話 1 & 2 / Cantonese.jpg 1 &2
Publication Date: 2021-2022
英粵通語 : 香港大學粵語教材(一九三一) = Cantonese for everyone
Publication Date: 2021
邊學邊用 : 粤語聽說教材 = Cantonese in communication : listening and speaking
Publication Date: 2018
广州話教程
Publication Date: 1989
粤語(香港話)教程
Publication Date: 2014
邊學邊用 : 粤語聽說教材
Publication Date: 2018
粤語(香港話)入門 : 從零基礎到粤語通
Publication Date: 2019

More Cantonese Learning books in print format

Cantonese Reading

廣東話資料館通學系列

Researrrrch Guides

Resource Guide to Cantonese Learning

Dictionaries

Textbooks

Cantonese Reading

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us