Skip to Main Content

Research Guides

Japanese Canadian Archival Collections

This guide provides background information on Japanese Canadian archival collections held at the University of Toronto Libraries

Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library Holdings

Collection Description Status
Koyama, Ken 

Small collection of printed material regarding Japanese Canadian immigrants after WWII.

Koyama was the first Asian to join the Royal Canadian Navy after the war.

Link to Discover Archives

Finding aid

Okuno, Sharon  70 photographic negatives taken at National Association of Japanese Canadian (NAJC) meeting, award of merit ceremony and redress celebration dinner.

Link to Discover Archives

Finding aid

Shears, Frank Gould  Consists of material created or gathered by F.G. Shears in his capacity as the director of the Vancouver branch of the office of the Custodian of Enemy Property. The Vancouver office was established in 1942 following the attack on Pearl Harbor, with the special purpose of overseeing the seizure and, later, liquidation of assets of Japanese removed from the Pacific exclusion zone for internment. The office also helped with the administering of Japanese claims for remuneration in accordance with the findings of the Royal Commission, and Justice Henry Irving Bird, in 1950. The office was closed on March 31, 1952.

Link to Discover Archives

Contact archivist for further finding aid information

Watada, Terry

Terry Watada’s second accession primarily contains material relating to his publications, most notably drafts and proofs for two novels: Kuroshio: The Blood of Foxes and The Three Pleasures. The papers also include drafts and correspondence pertaining to individual poetry submissions as well as his published work: Ten Thousand Views of Rain, Obon: The Festival of the Dead and The Game of 100 Ghosts. The collection includes correspondence, drafts and promotional material for Watada’s contribution to anthologies, as well as his involvement in cultural and academic conferences and events.

Link to Discover Archives

Finding aid