Research Guides: VIC245 Science Wars: Finding articles on your topic

Where and how to find articles

Sample search formula (in a database of philosophy journals):

The search above would retrieve any articles with:

"string theory"
AND
testable/testability OR metaphysics/metaphysical OR realism

in the title, abstract, author-supplied keywords and database-ascribed subject terms (that's where the "anywhere except full-text" searches and this avoids retrieving documents that make a passing mention of these terms in their full body text or references list).

A list of a few recommended, subject-specific databases for scholarly articles:

History of Science, Technology and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Scientific material, research, reports, and journals documenting the development of Western scientific knowledge in the 19th century.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database offering informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology and book reviews.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The definitive index of literature covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present.
Humanities Index This link opens in a new window
Citation information including abstracts of humanities journals, magazines and newspapers published in the UK or other English speaking countries.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation information and research impact factors for multi-disciplinary journal articles, conference papers, books, and more.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of scholarly journals, dissertations, books, and conference papers in the social and behavioural sciences.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles, books, reviews, and chapters in the fields of anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Citation information including abstracts of economic research.