The following Encycolpedias, Guides and Dictionaries will be useful for funding more information about Indigenous Canadian figures and Indigenous Canadian culture and history:
Dictionary of Canadian Biography
The Dictionary of Canadian Biography provides authoritative biographical information about significant figures of Canada's past, including both detailed articles on Canada's major historical figures, and short articles on minor personages who have hitherto found no place in reference works or general histories. The Dictionary of Canadian Biography, whose first volume appeared in 1966, is a joint project of the University of Toronto and the Université Laval and presents the work of researchers and writers in many fields from across Canada and around the world.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (formerly "Bibliography of Native North Americans")
A major database on the Indigenous Peoples of North Americans. The Bibliography the history, life and culture of North America’s indigenous peoples. It contains eBooks, essays, journal, magazine and news articles, and government documents from both the United States and Canada.
An open-source database produced at the University of Saskatchewan, this portal includes Indigenous Studies articles, books, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, maps and more. Content is international, with a particular strength in Canadian material. Much of the material is available full-text. The database is also configured to access the University of Toronto Library's subscriptions.
North American Indian Thought and Culture
This fifth release of North American Indian Thought and Culture includes over 57,000 pages of new material, including 112 volumes from the Indian Pioneer History Collection compiled by the U.S. Works Progress Administration. New and current full-length biographies include works on Quanah Parker, Dennis Banks, Susan La Flesche Picotte, Cochise, Jim Thorpe, Crowfoot, Peter Pitchlynn, Sacajawea, Geronimo, Hosteen Klah, Black Elk, Pocahontas, George Washington Grayson, Standing Buffalo, and many more. With 100,000 pages of content, including biographies, autobiographies, oral histories, reference works, manuscripts, and photographs, the database presents the life stories of American Indians and Canadian First Peoples in their own words and through the words of others. Much of the material is previously unpublished, rare, or hard to find.
More Indigenous Studies Resources
This page contains links to all of the best research resources for Indigenous Studies at U of T. Articles Databases, Online Encyclopedias, Online Collections of Primary Sources and the U of T Research Guides focused on Indigenous Studies can all be found here.
