Chapter "Their New York: Possessing the 'Capital of Words'" discusses Abraham Cahan.
This History offers an unparalleled examination of all aspects of Jewish American literature. Jewish writing has played a central role in the formation of the national literature of the United States, from the Hebraic sources of the Puritan imagination to narratives of immigration and acculturation. This body of writing has also enriched global Jewish literature in its engagement with Jewish history and Jewish multilingual culture. Written by a host of leading scholars, The Cambridge History of Jewish American Literature offers an array of approaches that contribute to current debates about ethnic writing, minority discourse, transnational literature, gender studies, and multilingualism. This History takes a fresh look at celebrated authors, introduces new voices, locates Jewish American literature on the map of American ethnicity as well as the spaces of exile and diaspora, and stretches the boundaries of American literature beyond the Americas and the West.
Call Number: Pratt Library Reference Material PS153 .J4 C76 2009
Publication Date: 2009-03-30
Jewish-American writing holds an essential place in America's literary tradition, and Jewish-American writers have flourished in many genres, including fiction, drama, poetry, and more. ""Encyclopedia of Jewish-American Literature"" examines hundreds of these authors and works, focusing on those that are part of the high school and college curriculum, as well as the historically significant and contemporary.The coverage includes: The Adventures of Augie March; Dorothy Parker; Chaim Potok; Ragtime; Philip Roth; Isaac Bashevis Singer; Susan Sontag; Elie Wiesel; and more.
Entries of possible interest include: "The Lower East Side (New York)", volume 2, chapter 16 on "intergroup relations" contains sections on Black-Jewish relations, and volume 2, chapter 19 on American Jewish novelists, poets, and playwrights.
Written by the most prominent scholars in American Jewish history, this encyclopedia illuminates the varied experiences of America's Jews and their impact on American society and culture over three and a half centuries. American Jews have profoundly shaped, and been shaped by, American culture. Yet American history texts have largely ignored the Jewish experience. The Encyclopedia of American Jewish History corrects that omission. In essays and short entries written by 125 of the world's leading scholars of American Jewish history and culture, this encyclopedia explores both religious and secular aspects of American Jewish life. It examines the European background and immigration of American Jews and their impact on the professions and academic disciplines, mass culture and the arts, literature and theater, and labor and radical movements. It explores Zionism, antisemitism, responses to the Holocaust, the branches of Judaism, and Jews' relations with other groups, including Christians, Muslims, and African Americans. The encyclopedia covers the Jewish press and education, Jewish organizations, and Jews' participation in America's wars. In two comprehensive volumes, Encyclopedia of American Jewish History makes 350 years of American Jewish experience accessible to scholars, all levels of students, and the reading public. An outstanding series of maps by Sir Martin Gilbert locates places of origin, points of embarkation, sites of pogroms, Holocaust death camps, and transport routes More than 125 photographs depict prominent individuals, Jewish neighborhoods, demonstrations, and rituals
See the entry on "Jews and Blacks" in the Atlantic History subject,. Of particular interest is the section on "Cultural Interchange." https://www-oxfordbibliographies-com.myaccess.library.utoronto.ca/view/document/obo-9780199730414/obo-9780199730414-0254.xml#obo-9780199730414-0254-div1-0011