Skip to Main Content

HLTC48: Special Topics in Health Studies: Indigenous Women's Health

Fall 2024 - Professor Anita Benoit

Recommended Journal Article Databases

Health Databases

The following databases contain articles from health or medical journals, including some journals related to Indigenous health:

MEDLINE (Ovid)
Core database for health sciences disciplines. Contains citation information and abstracts from biomedical journals. The Ovid platform is appropriate for systematic and scoping reviews as well as other advanced searches. When in doubt, start with Medline.
PubMed
Public version of Medline, the core database for health sciences disciplines. This platform is best for quick clinical searches.
EMBASE
For health sciences disciplines. Contains citation information and abstracts from biomedical journals and conferences. Includes more international journals than Medline. The Ovid platform is appropriate for systematic and scoping reviews as well as other advanced searches.
Native Health Database
Contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.

Arctic Health Publications Database
Contains articles, reports, and grey literature relating to the health of individuals in the Arctic.
Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet
The Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet‘s mission is to contribute to improving the health of Australia’s Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people and assist in ‘closing the gap’ by facilitating the sharing and exchange of relevant, high-quality knowledge.

LILACS
Covers literature related to the health sciences published in Latin America and the Caribbean since 1982. Please note that many articles are only available in Spanish or Portuguese. Use the language filter to identify English articles.

Indigenous Studies Databases

The following databases contain journal articles about Indigenous peoples, including some focusing on health topics:

Indigenous Studies Portal
Provides access to digital Indigenous studies resources including sources focused on Indigenous authors, drama, humour, oral traditions, poetry, personal narratives and interviews, and traditional stories
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples of North America
Covers Indigenous North American culture, history, and life. It contains eBooks, essays, journal, magazine and news articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada.
Informit Indigenous Collection
Scholarship related to Indigenous culture, health, and human geography in Australia and New Zealand, as well as international coverage.

Area Studies Databases

The following databases focus on publications from or about specific regions of the world. They may be helpful to find articles about the country or continent you have selected:

CBCA Reference & Current Events
Access to research providing a Canadian perspective on topics including health sciences, history, medical sciences, social sciences, and more.
Africa Bibliography
Citations to journal articles, pamphlets, books and book chapters, on Africa in a wide array of fields.
Africa-Wide Information
News sources, scholarly articles, books, research reports, theses, and grey literature by and about Africa and Africans.

Need More Recommendations?

Research and Database Tutorials

Need help learning how to develop a search strategy or how to navigate a particular database? The following resources can help:

Library Research Skills Tutorials
Six 30-minute modules that introduce students to foundational library skills that will help in many university research assignments. Each module is a stand-alone resource. They can be completed in any order, all at the same time, or individually as needed. Topics include: (1) introduction to UofT Libraries, (2) start your research, (3) select your sources, (4) search tools, (5) search effectively, and (6) evaluate your sources.
A Guide to Comprehensive Searching in the Health Sciences
An in-depth look at how to develop efficient, effective search strategies from beginning to end.
Health Database Video Tutorials
Gerstein Library has prepared short video tutorials to help you understand how to search in Medline, Embase, CINAHL, and Scopus.
PubMed Click-Along Tutorial
Learn the mechanics of searching in PubMed.

chat loading...