HMU450: Topics in Baroque Music
This guide supports the research objectives of HMU450
Journal/Database Resources
- Canadian Music Periodical Index (CMPI) This link opens in a new windowThe Canadian Music Periodical Index (CMPI) is an index of articles from Canadian music periodicals. Full texts of articles are not available from this site, but you can inquire about them in person at LAC or at your local library.
- Dissertations & Theses Global Closed Collection This link opens in a new windowComprehensive worldwide collection of dissertations and theses from 1746. Full text for most dissertations added since 1997 onwards.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary search engine of academic journals, books, and other materials across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowCitation information, including abstracts, of key music journals and magazine articles, with additional full-text coverage for select titles.
- Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) This link opens in a new windowRIPM publications offer access online for the first time to extensive collections of rare, primary source music periodicals dating from the Early Romantic to the Modern Period. Collectively this unique archive offers both an almost daily chronicle of musical activities extending over a period of more than 200 years (1760–1966), and immense possibilities for original research. RIPM’s collection is unique, not available in any other online resource and contains more than 1,000,000 full–text pages of rare music periodicals.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new windowCitation information and abstracts to research about music on various musical genres from around the world.
- Performance Design Archive This link opens in a new windowPerformance Design Archive Online is the first comprehensive, international collection that covers all aspects of theater production design, from the 17th century through to the present day, including scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, and makeup.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new windowFrom the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this collection contains digital facsimile page images from more than 130,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-title catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-title catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English books tract supplement. EEBO covers more than 30 languages from Algonquin to Welsh, and variant editions and multiple copies. These collections were part of the original UMI Microfilms Collection Project.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new windowEvery significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
Social, Political, and Cultural Databases
The UTL has some fantastic databases for finding information on the political, social, and cultural contexts of the music you're studying. These contexts often play a role in shaping the kinds of musics that are produced during a particular historical time period. Here's a short list for you to check out, listed in alphabetical order:
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new windowCovers Native North American culture, history, and life. It contains eBooks, essays, journal, magazine and news articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada.
- Empire Online This link opens in a new windowThis resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.
- First Nations Information Connection This link opens in a new windowAn initiative of the University of Alberta Libraries in collaboration with First Nations institutions. Provides access to a collection of culturally significant web resources. Most resources are also accessible to the general public.
- Indigenous Studies Portal This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles, ebooks, theses, and government publications, with a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada and a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
- Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new windowExamines the foundations and progression of women's movements during the 19th and 20th centuries.
- Last Updated: Jan 17, 2024 5:08 PM
- URL: https://guides.library.utoronto.ca/hmu450
- Print Page
Subjects: Music
Library links
Libraries
Contact
University of Toronto Libraries
130 St. George St.,Toronto, ON, M5S 1A5
libraryhelp@utoronto.ca
416-978-8450
Map
About web accessibility. Tell us about a web accessibility problem.
About online privacy and data collection.
© University of Toronto. All rights reserved. Terms and conditions.
Twitter
YouTube
Instagram