Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

VIC102 Collaboration in WWII France

Finding Primary Sources

Digital Collections

Conditions & Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940–1945
Sources on life in German-occupied states from intelligence reports available to the British Foreign Office during World War II.

Eurodocs
Sources related to European history, categorized by country and by time period.

Voices from Wartime France 1939–1945
Clandestine Resistance and Vichy collection provides perspectives from both the Vichy government and the resistance movement during the occupation of 1940–1944, which constitutes the sum of French press that reached Britain during this time.

This collection serves as a record of what was known by the British about life in France during the war, and offers a full picture of the basis on which many key political decisions were made in British about the conduct of war in France.

Visual History Archives
An extensive collection of digitized interviews taken with survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust.

Includes thousands of testimonies in fifty-six countries with Jewish, homosexual, Jehovah’s Witness, and Roma (Gypsy) survivors, as well as liberators and Nuremberg trial participants.

Before searching this resource, consult the guide to using the VHA.

Historical Newspapers

The Globe and Mail
The Globe and Mail and its predecessors from 1844 to the present.

The New York Times
The New York Times from 1851 to 2009.

The Times of London
Full-text coverage from 1785 to 2012.