Research Guides: ANTC16: The Foundations and Theory of Human Origins: Find Articles

Recommended Journals

Professor Nargolwalla recommends the following journals to find peer-reviewed references for your annotated bibliography. Access them through the library using the links below:

Recommended Databases

A library database is a searchable, electronic collection of scholarly resources. Databases provide access to a wealth of useful research materials from academic journals. They may also include other materials like newspapers, magazines, e-books, relevant Web resources, or multimedia. Some databases include content from a specific subject area, while others have content from across disciplines.

The following databases have strong coverage of evolutionary anthropology:

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Information about journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals, newsletters, and memos from the American Anthropological Association (AAA), with full-text access.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation information and research impact factors for multi-disciplinary journal articles, conference papers, books, and more.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation information for peer-reviewed scientific research, including journals, books, and conference papers.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary search engine of academic journals, books, and other materials across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Research and Database Tutorials

Library Research Skills Tutorials
Six 30-minute modules that introduce students to foundational library skills that will help in many university research assignments. Each module is a stand-alone resource. They can be completed in any order, all at the same time, or individually as needed. Topics include: (1) introduction to UofT Libraries, (2) start your research, (3) select your sources, (4) search tools, (5) search effectively, and (6) evaluate your sources.
Scopus Tutorial
A self-paced introductory tutorial to Scopus. You will be presented with two panes: one with instructions, and the other with the database. Test your understanding by trying out the exercises!
JSTOR Tutorial
A self-paced introductory tutorial to JSTOR. Instructions and exercises will appear on the left side of the screen, and you can work in the database on the right side of the screen.

ANTC16: The Foundations and Theory of Human Origins

Recommended Journals

Recommended Databases

Research and Database Tutorials

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us