Undergraduate Research in Art: A Guide for Studentssupplies tools for scaffolding research skills, with examples of undergraduate research activities and case studies on projects in the various areas of the study of art--from art history, art education, and fine art therapy, to studio art, graphic design, and digital media. Although art degree programs don't always call it research, many undergraduate activities in art have components that could be combined into comprehensive projects. The book begins with an overview chapter, followed by seven chapters on research skills, including literature reviews, choosing topics, formulating questions, citing sources, disseminating results, and working with data and human subjects. A wide variety of subdisciplines follow in Chapters 9 through 18, with sample project ideas from each, as well as undergraduate research conference abstracts. The final chapter is an annotated guide to online resources that students can access and readily operate. Each chapter opens with inspiring quotations, and wraps up with applicable discussion questions. Professors and students can use Undergraduate Research in Art as a text or a reference book.

Print book available for Request, click through & select "Get Help" button

The best-selling guide to writing about art   Sylvan Barnet's A Short Guide to Writing About Art guides students through every aspect of writing about art. Students are shown how to analyze pictures (drawings, paintings, photographs), sculptures and architecture, and are prepared with the tools they need to present their ideas through effective writing. Coverage of essential writing assignments includes formal analysis, comparison, research paper, review of an exhibition, and essay examination. New to the 11th edition is a chapter on "Virtual Exhibitions: Writing Text Panels and Other Materials."  

Print book available for Request, click through & select "Get Help" button

For one or two semester Introductory Art History Survey courses.   This handbook is designed to accompany the major textbooks used in the art history survey, presenting various methods for analysis of art as well as extensive tips on writing about art.   Professor Anne D'Alleva created this handbook to accompany the major textbooks used in art history survey courses. Because the main survey texts focus on the artworks themselves, she saw the need for a complementary handbook that introduces students to the methodologies of art history in an open, accessible way. Look! discusses basic art historical practices, such as visual and contextual analysis, and provides guidelines for writing papers and taking examinations in art history. It provides a short history of the discipline and provides links to related academic disciplines to provide students with a sense of intellectual context for their work.

THE ART OF WRITING ABOUT ART is designed for ease of use and can serve as a quick reference for students writing various types of essays, research papers, exhibition reviews, or even examinations. The premise of the book is that students in all disciplines, not just English, should be required to write well and that their instructors should hold these writing assignments to high standards. THE ART OF WRITING ABOUT ART not only emphasizes skills in college-level composition, but also in verbalizing the experience of art-the historical, social, economic, and political forces that shape art and artists; art theory; and the interplay between artist and viewer.

How to Write About Contemporary Art is the definitive guide to writing engagingly about the art of our time. Invaluable for students, arts professionals and other aspiring writers, the book first navigates readers through the key elements of style and content, from the aims and structure of a piece to its tone and language. Brimming with practical tips that range across the complete spectrum of art-writing, the second part of the book is organized around its specific forms, including academic essays; press releases and news articles; texts for auction and exhibition catalogues, gallery guides and wall labels; op-ed journalism and exhibition reviews; and writing for websites and blogs.In counseling the reader against common pitfalls--such as jargon and poor structure--Gilda Williams points instead to the power of close looking and research, showing how to deploy language effectively; how to develop new ideas; and how to construct compelling texts. More than 30 illustrations throughout support closely analysed case studies of the best writing, in Source Texts by 64 authors, including Claire Bishop, Thomas Crow, T.J. Demos, Okwui Enwezor, Dave Hickey, John Kelsey, Chris Kraus, Rosalind Krauss, Stuart Morgan, Hito Steyerl, and Adam Szymczyk.Supplemented by a general bibliography, advice on the use and misuse of grammar, and tips on how to construct your own contemporary art library, How to Write About Contemporary Art is the essential handbook for all those interested in communicating about the art of today.