Rhetoric Online by The Library Catalogue is your best option for finding scholarly books on your research topic.
1. Basic Search provides Keyword, Title and other search options.
2. Advance Search provides options to use keywords in combination as well as limiting your search results to the UTM Library.
Encyclopedias provide introductions to a topic and often include excellent reference lists. The Library has many digital and print encyclopedias. The 3 listed below are just an example of the larger collection. Ask the Reference & Research staff for help if you would like to locate one which includes information about your research topic.
The Concise Encyclopedia of Communication by
This concise volume presents key concepts and entries from the twelve-volume ICA International Encyclopedia of Communication (2008), condensing leading scholarship into a practical and valuable single volume. Based on the definitive twelve-volume IEC, this new concise edition presents key concepts and the most relevant headwords of communication science in an A-Z format in an up-to-date manner Jointly published with the International Communication Association (ICA), the leading academic association of the discipline in the world Represents the best and most up-to-date international research in this dynamic and interdisciplinary field Contributions come from hundreds of authors who represent excellence in their respective fields An affordable volume available in print or online
Encyclopedia of Media and Communication by 
The International Encyclopedia of Communication by
The International Encyclopedia of Communication represents the definitive reference work in this interdisciplinary and dynamic field. This authoritative twelve-volume set is jointly published by Wiley-Blackwell and the International Communication Association (ICA), the leading academic association of the discipline in the world. A ground-breaking collection of 1,339 original entries within a 12 volume set, spanning the scholarship, evidence, and methodology of communication research. Jointly published by Blackwell Publishing and the prestigious International Communication Association (ICA). Newly-commissioned entries divided into 29 editorial areas representing major fields of inquiry within communication, each of which is headed by a leading expert in their respective field. Editorial areas include: communication theory and philosophy, interpersonal communication, journalism, intercultural and intergroup communication, media effects, strategic communication/PR, communication and media law and policy, media systems in the world, and communication and technology. Spans the breadth of communication studies, including coverage of theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical areas within this dynamic and interdisciplinary field. Brings together new entries written and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars and teachers, representing the international character of the ICA. Reader-friendly A-Z entries ranging from extended explorations of major topics to short descriptions of key concepts, with sophisticated cross-referencing and search facilities, lexicon by subject area, and a comprehensive index. This unique and inclusive work will strengthen the identity of the growing field of communication studies, support its institutions, and most of all, improve the study of communication problems and phenomena worldwide.
