Google Scholar can be a good resource for locating scholarly articles. Remember to set Google Scholar to display UT Libraries' resources.
Discovered a wonderful article while searching Google Scholar or another source on the Internet? Don't pay to access the article. Ask the Reference & Research staff for help first.
Ulrichsweb is a serials directory. It provides information about academic journals - including if the content in the journal is peer-reviewed.
UT Libraries has an excellent collection of e-journals. Here are a few examples:
New Media & Society. Sage Publications, 1999 - present.
Information, communication and society. Taylor & Francis, 1998 - present.
European journal of communication. Sage Publications, 1986 - present.
The bookshelf-style app BrowZine allows you to browse, read, share, and save online journals directly to your tablet or smartphone. Available free from the App Store, Google Play, and Amazon Appstore, BrowZine gives U of T students, faculty, and staff easy access to many of the University of Toronto Libraries' licensed online journals from both large academic publishers and open access publishers. Learn more.
UT Libraries provides you with access to many article databases. The ones listed below are just a very small sample covering both scholarly and non-scholarly publications.
Often it can be difficult to determine which database is best for your topic. Click on the title of database to learn more about the content. The UTM Library's Reference and Research staff can guide you to additional resources.
Citations and abstracts of scholarly journals, dissertations, books, and conference papers in the social and behavioural sciences.
|
Need help developing keywords? Check out the University of Houston Libraries' YouTube video and our Keyword Worksheet. Need help using boolean operators? Check out the UTM Library's guide, Searching with Boolean Operators. |
You may be asked by your professor to include scholarly articles in your reference list. Some scholarly articles are peer reviewed, others may be reviewed by an editor.
For a quick review of what a peer reviewed article is, take a look at NCSU's short video Peer Review in 3 Minutes.
Not sure if your article is peer-reviewed? Check out our video for instructions on how to search Ulrich's Periodical.