Research Guides: IDSD01: Library Guide: Home

Welcome to UTSC Library!

Welcome to UTSC Library! Use this website to begin research for your literature review. Use the menu on the left of the screen to navigate this website

Get Started

Concept mapping (also called 'mind mapping' ) is a great way to, explore different aspects of your topic narrow or broaden a topic, or create a list of keywords you can use to search for sources on your topic. Consider the following questions to start generating content for your concept map:

What about the topic is interesting?
Why is this topic important?
What are the challenges of the topic?
Can you focus this topic by a group of people, place, time period, perspective or point of view?

Journal Articles

Web of Science
Citation information and research impact factors for multi-disciplinary journal articles, conference papers, books, and more.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
Citations to journal articles, books, reviews, and chapters in the fields of anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology.

More article databases (Subjects A to Z)
To find more, select "Subjects A to Z" on the library home page. Then choose a discipline, such as "Women and Gender Studies," or "International Relations."

Government Information & Other Grey Literature

Policy Commons

Canadian Government Documents: Google custom search
- Searches across federal, provincial and municipal sites
- Results can be broken down by level of government
Grey Literature (for IDS students)

Books

LibrarySearch
The library's main search tool. Articles, books, journals across all disciplines are included.

Data

LibrarySearch
The library's main search tool. Articles, books, journals across all disciplines are included.

Sage Data
Foremely known as Data Planet, Sage Data provides open data sources from a wide variety of open data sources with a focus on US Government agencies and other web sites. Data maybe downloaded in a variety of formats.
Data & Statistics (for IDS students)
This page includes a variety of sources that may be of use to IDS students.
Statistics (Research Guide from the University of Toronto Libraries)

Media

Canadian Newsstream
Full text access to English language Canadian Newspapers.
US Newsstand
Provides access to current and archival U.S. newspapers, and includes full-text newswires, blogs, and news sites.

More Newspapers available from University of Toronto Libraries

Videos

Streaming video from U of T Libraries
Sage Video
"SAGE Video showcases highly relevant educational video across key social, behavioral, and health science disciplines. Each collection includes a breadth of video types to support diverse learning and research needs. All videos are fully citeable with searchable transcripts, custom clip creation, embedding, and include other video player features that make implementing video into the classroom and for independent use, user-friendly and easily accessible." Sub-collections include: Business & Management, Leadership, Political Science & International Relations.

LibrarySearch
The library's main search tool. Articles, books, journals across all disciplines are included.

Dissertations & Theses

IDS Senior Theses in T-Space

Dissertations & Theses Global Closed Collection
Comprehensive worldwide collection of dissertations and theses from 1746. Full text for most dissertations added since 1997 onwards.
Dissertations & Theses @ University of Toronto
Citations to dissertations and theses from University of Toronto students from 1938.

More dissertation databases

Manage Your Results

UTSC Zotero Guide
Citation Management
- Overview and comparison of the major citation management programs used at U of T
Using and Citing Resources (UTSC Writing Support)

IDSD01: Library Guide

Your Liaison Librarian

Quick Links