Guide to BIPOC musicians and related literature
This guide supports research on the musical traditions and scholarship of BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, People of Colour) individuals and groups.
Web Resources
There are numerous web-based resources dedicated to helping you find composers and compositions from racialized and underrepresented groups, such as the Institute for Composer Diversity, The Composers Equity Project, A Seat at the Piano, and the Composers of Color Resource Project. Once you have found a piece of music, look it up in the Music Library catalogue to gain access. If we do not have it, you can request it through inter-library loan or suggest a purchase.
Jump to: Vocal, Keyboard, Wind Ensemble, Orchestra, Strings. Woodwinds, Brass, Guitar, Percussion.
- Institute for Composer Diversity
Composer Diversity Database is a resource for the musical community through which composers from underrepresented groups can be discovered. Composers can be found through several different search filters including gender, racial/ethnic demographics, sexual/romantic identity, residence, and various large ensemble and chamber ensemble genres. All composers have provided their consent and have confirmed the information included in the Composer Diversity Database. - Music By Black Composers Repertoire DirectoryMusic by Black Composers’ repertoire directories are designed for performers, conductors, programmers, researchers, teachers, and students.
Includes: Violin and Orchestra, Solo Violin, Solo Piano, and Classical Guitar - BIPOC Canadian ComposersThis dataset comprises a list of composers who identify as Black, Indigenous, or People of Colour (BIPOC) with a connection to Canada (e.g. are Canadian, working in Canada, or from an Indigenous nation situated in what is now known as Canada).
***Must be downloaded
Vocal
- Beyond Elijah Rock: The Non-Idiomatic Choral Music of Black ComposersThe following spreadsheet is a working list of the non-idiomatic choral music of black composers. In no way is it meant to be an exhaustive list. However, it serves to provide a starting point.
This list does not include arrangements of existing material such as hymns or other folk songs. Available tabs at the bottom of the list are Full List, SATB, SSAA, TTBB, Other Voices, Unaccompanied, Accompanied, and Choral-Orchestral.
Additional resources including anthologies, bibliographies, encyclopedias, and organizations are listed below. - BIPOC Voices
This is a database of works for one or more singers accompanied by instruments. This includes opera, oratorio, orchestral art song, vocal chamber music, and many things that defy simple categorization.
This database does not include art song for voice and piano. Nor does it include music in which a choir is the main focus. Both of these can be found in the Institute for Composer Diversity’s database. - Black and Brown Composers in Baroque Latin America: An Introduction to the RepertoireAn introduction to and survey of repertoire by composers of color and native-born South American composers from Brazil, Peru, Cuba, Mexico, Guatemala, and Bolivia from 1600 to 1800, with an emphasis on villancicos, cantatas, and other works for voices and chamber ensemble.
- Black Opera Research Network: Works List
This is a list of operas by black creators (composers, librettists, choreographers, etc.). It provides a glimpse of the wide range of black operatic activities that have been pursued around the world and throughout history. - Kassia DatabaseThe Kassia Database is a resource for musicians to aid in the discovery and celebration of art song by women composers. The database includes songs from the Baroque period through the 21st century, and have been categorized by level, voice type, language, composer, and composer dates. Related information includes range, tessitura, piano accompaniment, vocal line, and links to available scores. The analysis is intended for singers from beginning high school through the collegiate level and professional career. The database leads you to find the unique voices and expansive styles of each individual composer, with the hopes to increase performance and advocation of each woman's often overlooked works.
- A Resource on Vocal Works by BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, Person of Colour) ComposersThis resource was initially commissioned by the University of Toronto’s Voice Studies Program, made possible by a generous gift from Dianne W. Henderson. Organization: Databases | Anthologies | Soprano | Mezzo-Soprano | Tenor | Baritone/Bass
- Song HelixOnline tool to discover art song repertoire (standard and contemporary)
Includes search filters for gender identity, ethnicity, race, and language
Keyboard
- Repertoire for Solo PianoSpotlight list from Music by Black Composers
- A Seat at the Piano
A Seat at the Piano promotes and advocates for the inclusion, study, and performance of a more equitably representative body of piano works. By creating a resource for musicians, pedagogues, and curious music appreciators, ASAP aims to broaden their knowledge of composers and their works.
Search by name, title, level, identifier, nationality, and other keywords.
e.g. Female, Canadian, African American
Wind Ensemble
- Diverse Composers of Wind Band MusicList of repertoire for wind instruments and wind instrument ensembles organized in 3 separate tabs (women composers, composers of colour, LGBTQIA+ composers); includes links to composers' websites.
- Wind Repertory ProjectA comprehensive database of wind literature, expanded by contributions of band directors/conductors, students, and wind band enthusiasts worldwide. Here you will find detailed information on literature for winds.
Scroll down to view category filters which include female composers, African American composers, LGBTQ composers, and composers of different international origins
Orchestra
- Diverse Composers of Orchestral MusicList of works for string, chamber, and full orchestra, organized into different tabs (women composers, composers of colour)
- Repertoire for Violin and OrchestraSpotlight list from Music by Black Composers
Strings
- Cuarteto Latinoamericano Virtual LibraryResource for Latinx compositions for string quartet. All music available for download.
- Repertoire for Unaccompanied Solo ViolinSpotlight list from Music by Black Composers
- The Sphinx Catalog of Latin-American Cello Works
The Sphinx Catalog of Latin American Cello Works has been created in order to facilitate the access to information related to the work of Latin American composers centered on the cello. It is the most extensive source of its kind, with more than 2000 entries on the date of its release. It provides information about works where the cello has a prominent role as a solo instrument, soloist with orchestra, in duo with another instrument or electronic media, or in cello ensembles. - String Repertoire by BIMOCCategories in Order:Violin Concerti, Violin Etudes, Violin Pieces, Viola Concerti, Viola Pieces, Cello Concerti, Cello Pieces, Double Bass Concerti, Double Bass Pieces, Double Bass Chamber, Chamber Music with Strings
- Strings / Chamber Repertoire by BIPOC ComposersHosted by the University of Southern California.
Repertoire arranged by: Violin Concerti, Violin Etudes, Violin Pieces, Viola Concerti, Viola Pieces,
Cello Concerti, Cello Pieces, Double Bass Concerti, Double Bass Pieces, Chamber Music, and
Double Bass Chamber Music - Underrepresented Composers Database
Hosted by the American Viola Society, this database explores repertoire by underrepresented composers that involves the viola as a significant voice.
Woodwinds
- Bassoon Music by Transgender, Gender Diverse, and Women Composers and/or Black, Indigenous, and Composers of ColorGoogle spreadsheet organized in separate tabs for chamber music, solo works, and études
- Bassoon Repertoire by Black ComposersSpotlight lists from Institute for Composer Diversity
- Clarinet RepertoireNot BIPOC specific. Clarinet Repertoire is an ongoing project meant to promote gender diversity in clarinet recital programming. Includes repertoire for solo clarinet, solo bass clarinet, solo clarinet and electronic media, and clarinet and piano duos.
- Clarinet Repertoire by Black ComposersSpotlight lists from Institute for Composer Diversity
- Flute Music by BIPOC ComposersHeavily features repertoire for flute but also includes short lists for oboe and bassoon.
- Flute Repertoire by Black ComposersSpotlight lists from Institute for Composer Diversity
- Oboe Repertoire by Black ComposersSpotlight list from Institute for Composer Diversity
- Saxophone repertoire by Black composersSpotlight list from Institute for Composer Diversity
- Woodwind Music by Composers in Underrepresented GroupsRedirects to repertoire lists by instrumen type.
- Woodwind Quintet Music by Latin American ComposersWorking document of woodwind quintets, organized by country
Brass
- Brass Music by Black Composers and ArtistsOngoing project compiled by Jeremy E. Smith
- Catalog of Trumpet (and Brass) Works by Gender-Marginalized People and/or Black, Indigenous, or Persons of ColorCompiled by Ashley Killam. Spreadsheet with tabs for etudes / studies, solo / featuring, younger works, mixed chamber, brass ensembles, and trumpet ensembles.
- Euphonium/Tuba Repertoire by Black composersSpotlight list from Music by Black Composers
- Horn repertoire by Black composerRSpotlight list from Music by Black Composers
- Repertoire for Horn by Underrepresented ComposersIncludes lists of repertoire for solo horn, horn with piano, horn concertos, and a variety of chamber ensembles.
- Trombone Repertoire by Black composersA spotlight list from Music by Black Composers
- Trumpet Repertoire by Black ComposersA spotlight list from Music by Black Composers
Guitar
- Repertoire for Classical Guitar by Black ComposersSpreadsheet organized by seperte tabs for solo classical guitar, chamber classical guitar, solo electric guitar, chamber electric guitar, solo other plucked string, chamber other plucked string.
Percussion
- Percussion Pieces by Black ComposersCrowdsourced spreadsheet of percussion works by Black composers. Tabs for percussion solos, percussion ensembles, mixed instrumentation, and steelband.