Output, a company that develops software and other products for musicians, has posted 35 Mental Health Resources for Musicians and BIPOC.
The African American Art Song Alliance is dedicated to promoting the performance, research, and teaching of African American art song.
The Canadian Art Song Project has recently published blog posts to highlight Indigenous and Métis Canadian Composers, as well as Black Canadian Composers of Art Song.
This is a living collection of books, articles, documentaries, series, podcasts and more about the Black origins of traditional and popular music dating from the 18th century to present day. Resources are organized chronologically and by genre for ease of browsing. For more information about that decision and the curation process, please visit the about page.
Black Opera Resource Network
Black Opera Resource Network "wishes to serve as a platform for conversations on the history, experiences, politics, and practices of Black opera. Recent ongoing scholarship increasingly calls for such a platform, as the long presence of Black creativity in opera comes gradually, and often painfully, into focus in public and academic spheres."
Founded in 2020, the Canada Black Music Archives (CBMA) is a digital archive that provides important evidence of past and continuing contributions of Black Canadian musicians. A key objective of the CBMA is to increase the sense of identity and belonging in a place where Black Canadians have lived and contributed to furthering Canada’s development for over 400 years.
Castle of Our Skins seeks to make the representation of Black creative artists in concerts and in history more equitable. Castle of Our skins organizes concerts and various educational opportunities such as lectures, workshops, and masterclasses.
To help counter the music industry's profiting off of undercompensated Black artists, CBC posted a list of organizations supporting Black musicians that you can support too: How to Support Black Canadian Musicians Right Now.
The Center for Black Music Research "holds collections highlighting the role of Black music in world culture with materials originating or representing Black music in the United States, Africa, Europe, Latin America, and the Caribbean in a variety of formats: personal papers, scores, sheet music, audio-visual materials, photographs, books, periodicals, and commercial recordings."
Inclusive Early Music is 
a place to find and share resources for teaching early music in an inclusive way. The website contains a growing bibliography and collection of pedagogical assignments.
The Canadian Art Song Project has recently published blog posts to highlight Indigenous and Métis Canadian Composers, as well as Black Canadian Composers of Art Song.
The Indigenous Music & Dance Research Guide
The Indigenous Music & Dance Research Guide by The University of British Columbia "provides strategies and information for researchers searching for Indigenous artists, dance and music performances."
A learning resource MusiCounts that will support teachers in bringing Indigenous voices, perspectives, and music into classrooms.
With our ever-expanding resources, MBC aims to spread awareness of and access to music by Black composers to children and adults alike. Resources include both a LLiving and historical composers director, a Bibliography full of diverse print resources about Black composers throughout history, and a discography of single-composer collections and multiple-composer compilations
Music Resources for Diversity, Equity, and Antiracism by the libraries of Tufts University is intended "to amplify the repertoire, music, and scholarship about and by Black, Indigenous, and People of Color (BIPOC)" and includes links to podcasts and music performances, repertoire resources, books, bibliographies, and more!
Created as a quick and manageable first step towards diverse and inclusive music theory pedagogy, many of the scores on this site are readily adaptable to the classroom environment. Simply swap out some of the examples by white men that you fall back on when teaching, e.g., the IV chord, and you’ll introduce the representation of voices of color and non-canonic composers overnight.
My People Tell Stories was founded by Danielle Brown, Ph.D. in 2014, with the vision to "promote and validate the knowledge produced by people of color and subsequently create an education system that is more diverse, equitable, and inclusive." My People Tell Stories offers services such as pedagogical materials, programs, and workshops aimed at dismantling "the effects of systemic racism in the arts, and particularly in the field of music."
New Muses Project This resource is organized as an interconnected web of composers, creating links between them based on stylistic parameters. It generates specially curated recommendations of these composers to explore, based on the user’s current composer interests. Each underrepresented composer also has a “profile” which contains snapshot biographies, notable works with recordings and descriptions, external links for further informal study, and a reference list of supplemental scholarly sources. There are several other resources on our website, including an interactive timeline and playlist. If you see something for purchase, inquire with us first!
Orchestras Ca
nada has posted Helpful Resources to Learn About Racial Inequity in the Arts and Non-Profit Sector by Orchestras Canada.
Resources for Diversity in Early Music Repertoire, by Early Music America provides a list of pre-1850 BIPOC composers.
The Société de recherche et de diffusion de la musique haïtienne (SRDMH) is committed to the research and dissemination of Haitian music. The catalogue of scores in the archival fonds of is available free of charge.
Twitter
YouTube
Instagram