MUS4899: Music History and Theory Bibliography
This guide highlights the course reading list for MUS4899: The History and Theory of Bibliography.
Music Theory
Textbooks: Tonal
The Complete Musician by Call Number: MT6 .L136 C66 2016XLaitz, Steven G. The Complete Musician: An Integrated Approach to Tonal Theory, Analysis, and Listening. 4th ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2016.
Beginning with music fundamentals, The Complete MusicianThe Complete Musician emphasizes how theory informs the work of performers. Theory is not a "theoretical" activity; it is a living one that responds to how music is composed and performed.
Textbook: Post-Tonal
Materials and Techniques of Twentieth-Century Music by Call Number: MT40 .K8 2006XKostka, Stefan. Materials and Techniques of Twentieth-Century Music. 3rd ed. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Prentice Hall, 2006.
This text provides the most comprehensive analytical approach to 20th-Century Music available from Impressionism to recent trends. It covers music from the early 1900s through such movements as Minimalism and the Neoromanticism of the 1990's, and includes chapters on rhythm, form, electronic and computer music, and the roles of chance and choice in Twentieth-Century music.
Understanding Post-Tonal Music by Call Number: MT90 .R65 2008XRoig-Francolí, Miguel. Understanding Post-Tonal Music. Boston: McGraw-Hill, 2008.
Understanding Post-Tonal Music explores the compositional and musical processes of twentieth-century post-tonal music. The book is intended for undergraduate or general graduate courses on the theory and analysis of twentieth-century music. The aim of the book is to increase the accessibility of post-tonal music by providing students with tools for understanding issues like pitch organization, rhythm and meter, form, texture, and aesthetics.
Textbooks: Analysis
Analysis of 18th- and 19th-Century Musical Works in the Classical Tradition by Call Number: MT6 .B294 2012XBeach, David, and Ryan McClelland. Analysis of 18th- and 19th-Century Musical Works in the Classical Tradition. New York: Routledge, 2012.
Analysis of 18th- and 19th-Century Musical Works in the Classical Tradition is a textbook for upper-level undergraduate and graduate courses in music analysis. It outlines a process of analyzing works in the Classical tradition by uncovering the construction of a piece of music--the formal, harmonic, rhythmic, and voice-leading organizations--as well as its unique features.
Engaging Music by Call Number: MT90 .E64 2005XStein, Deborah, ed. Engaging Music: Essays in Music Analysis. New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.
The first collection of its kind, Engaging Music: Essays in Music Analysis opens with an introduction to writing analytical essays, and then presents introductory readings that describe analytical approaches to rhythm, meter, and phrase; pitch (twelve-tone music); form in jazz and rock music; and musical ambiguity. Reflecting the broad spectrum of current interests and perspectives in the field, Engaging Music provides a unique window into the multifaceted world of music theory and analysis.
Selected Readings in Music Theory Scholarship
Analysis of Tonal Music by Call Number: MT6 .C12 A53 2011XCadwallader, Allen, and David Gagné.Analysis of Tonal Music: A Schenkerian Approach. 3rd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2011.
Analysis of Tonal Music: A Schenkerian Approach, Third Edition, introduces the fundamental principles of Schenkerian technique. Rather than relying on stereotypical models or formulas, authors Allen Cadwallader and David Gagne use specific, memorable compositions to explain structural principles. This approach teaches students how to think about and critically examine music in ways that will inform their understanding and performance of Western art music.
Classical Form by Call Number: MT58 .C37 1998XCaplin, William. Classical Form: A Theory of Formal Functions for the Instrumental Music of Haydn, Mozart, and Beethoven. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1998.
Available as ebook or physical copy
This book introduces a new theory of form for instrumental music in the classical style. The theory provides a broad set of principles and a comprehensive methodology for the analysis of classical form, from individual ideas, phrases, and themes to the large-scale organization of complete movements. It emphasizes the notion of formal function, that is, the specific role a given formal unit plays in the structural organization of a classical work.
Hearing in Time : Psychological Aspects of Musical Meter by Call Number: ML3832 .L65 2012XLondon, Justin. Hearing in Time: Psychological Aspects of Musical Meter. 2nd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2012.
Available as ebook or physical copy
Hearing in Time explores musical meter from the point of view of cognitive theories of perception and attention. London explores how our ability to follow musical meter is simply a specific instance of our more general ability to synchronize our attention to regularly recurring events in our environment. As such, musical meter is subject to a number of fundamental perceptual and cognitive constraints, which form the cornerstones of London's account. Taking a broad approach brings out a number of fundamental similarities between a variety of different metric phenomena, such as the difference between so-called simple versus complex or additive meters.
Performance & Analysis
Beyond the Score by Call Number: ML457 .C75 2013XCook, Nicholas. Beyond the Score: Music as Performance. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2014.
Available as ebook or physical copy
In Beyond the Score: Music as Performance, author Nicholas Cook supplants the traditional musicological notion of music as writing, asserting instead that it is as performance that music is loved, understood, and consumed. This book re-conceives music as an activity through which meaning is produced in real time, as Cook rethinks familiar assumptions and develops new approaches.
The Practice of Performance by Call Number: ML457 .P72 1995XRink, John, ed. The Practice of Performance: Studies in Music Interpretation. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1995.
Available as ebook or physical copy
The essays in this volume reflect the most important trends in the study of musical performance, including the psychology of performance, the semantics of performance, and the relation between performance and analysis.
The first section broaches fundamental issues such as text, expression, musical motion and the role of practice in the acquisition of expertise. The next four chapters address the shaping of structure and the projection of meaning in performance, while the last four consider performance as analytical paradigm, as dramatic narrative, as act of criticism, as temporal process.
Introduction to Music Theory and Pedagogy
Aural Skills Acquisition by Call Number: MT35 .K186 2000XKarpinski, Gary. Aural Skills Acquisition: The Development of Listening, Reading, and Performance Skills in College-Level Musicians. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2000.
This book is a hands-on investigation of the stages musicians go through as they learn to hear, read, and perform music. It draws on the latest research in music perception and cognition, music theory, and pedagogy, along with centuries of insight from music theorists, composers, and performers. Aural Skills Acquisition builds important bridges between music theory, cognitive psychology, and pedagogy. It subjects ideas from music theory to the rigors of psychological testing and combines findings from the psychology of learning with ideas and methods of contemporary music theory.
Teaching Approaches in Music Theory by Call Number: MT6 .R767 T4 2004XRogers, Michael. Teaching Approaches in Music Theory: An Overview of Pedagogical Philosophies. 2nd ed. Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, 2004.
Drawing on decades of teaching experience and the collective wisdom of dozens of the most creative theorists in the country, Michael R. Rogers' s diverse survey of music theory-- one of the first to comprehensively survey and evaluate the teaching styles, techniques, and materials used in theory courses-- is a unique reference and research tool for teachers, theorists, secondary and post-secondary students, and for private study. This revised edition of Teaching Approaches in Music Theory: An Overview of Pedagogical Philosophies features an extensive updated bibliography encompassing the years since the volume was first published in 1984.
