Research Guides: GGRC13 Urban Political Geography: Government & Policy Publications

Recommended Policy eResources

Canadian Public Policy Collection (Scholars Portal Books)
This is a collection of materials from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups and think-tanks materials.
ACCESS INSTRUCTIONS: After you click on the link, choose "Canadian Public Documents Collection" from the Collection drop-down menu below the search box.

PolicyFile (US) This link opens in a new window
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
International research in public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. Provides access to journal articles, books, government documents, research and conference reports, and more.

Think Tanks

Think tanks are research institutes/centres or organizations that perform research and advocacy, often concerning social or political policy. They can be affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, non-governmental organizations, or businesses.

Canadian Urban Institute
The Canadian Urban Institute is a non-profit applied research organization dedicated to healthy urban development. Their website has guides, research papers, and other publications.
Fraser Institute
A policy think tank organization that measures and communicates how government policies affect the lives of Canadians.
Centre for Urban and Community Studies (CUCS)
CUCS promotes and disseminates multidisciplinary research and policy analysis on urban issues, including the social, economic, and physical well-being of people who live and work in urban areas, in Canada and worldwide. Check out their e-Library (full-text articles), research bulletins, and the Canadian Urban Policy Archive (urban planning and housing documents from the 20th century).
Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives
The Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives is an independent, non-partisan research institute concerned with issues of social, economic and environmental justice.
Urban Institute
The Urban Institute has a US focus and produces policy reports and develops new knowledge about social and economic issues that uses evidence and data to inform their insight.

More Think Tanks

Local Government: City of Toronto

City of Toronto Website
You can use the search box in the top right corner of the page. Try searching for "staff report" + your topic. Read the report for titles of further relevant documents from the city.
Toronto City Council and Committees - Meetings, Agendas, and Minutes
Tip: look for a city council meeting on your topic. The appendices of the meeting agenda will often have more relevant documents from the city. You can also use the search tab to look for more items on your topic.
Reports & Data Centre
Includes detailed data, maps, and information about the city of Toronto and its neighbourhoods and communities.
Research & Reports by Subject
A collection of research and reports on various topics within Toronto.

How to Search the City of Toronto Website

More Guides

These detailed guides explain how to find information about the cities of Toronto and Scarborough.

Research Guides

GGRC13 Urban Political Geography

Recommended Policy eResources

Think Tanks

More Think Tanks

Local Government: City of Toronto

More Guides

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us