Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

CIN380: Palestinian Cinema

Search UofT Library Catalogue

Search for books, journals, films and more using the search box below

  • You can select to search particular fields using the dropdown menu below (Title, Author, Subject, Call Number) or leave it set to "Anywhere" to search all fields.
  • Narrow to online resources on the search results page by marking "Online" checkbox on the leftside. 

Be aware that you cannot use Quotation marks (e.g., "film theory" ) or Asterisk * ( e.g., narrat*  = narrative, narration, narrator)  with this search tool. Instead visit the UofT Libraries Website onesearch.library.utoronto.ca to launch your search. 

Narrow Catalogue Search to eBooks

To narrow your search results to online resources (e.g., eBooks, eJournals, article databases, streamable video / audio):

UTL website - search results page's Online filter

  1. Find the "Refine your search" menu on left side of the screen.  
  2. Find "Online" and click the check box on the left to activate the filter. 
  3. To deactivate the filter, click on the box again to remove the checkmark. 

Check if Book is Available with "Get Help" Button (HathiTrust or Curbside Retrieval)

 

"Get Help" Button 

When you find a Print Book that you are interested in, click on the 'Get help" button displayed on the catalogue record to check if you can:

  • Read Online through HathiTrust Emergency Access Service (scroll down for more info) 
  • Borrow In Print through UofT Libraries Curbside Pickup Service (scroll down for more info) 

Not all materials are available, so contact Library Staff if you have any questions. 

screenshot of catalogue record with an arrow pointing at the Get Help button

 

 

Access Scans of Books via HathiTrust Digital Library

HathiTrust Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS)

The University of Toronto is now a participant in the HathiTrust Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS). This means that during the U of T library closure due to COVID-19, current students and faculty can read digitized versions of more than 2.5 million of the library’s in-copyright print books that have been deposited in the HathiTrust Digital Library.

Materials with Temporary access can be borrowed by one person at a time for 1 Hour with the option to extend the loan period. 

How to access digital copies of books via the HathiTrust ETAS? 

HathiTrust contains millions of digitized titles from collections worldwide.

To access the U of T subscription, you willl need to  log in with your UTORid.

  1. Read and agree to the term of use statement (scroll to bottom).
  2. From anywhere on the HathiTrust website, click the yellow LOG IN button.
  3. Find and select the University of Toronto in the list of partner institutions.
  4. Login with your UTORid and password
  5. When you have logged in, you will be returned to the HathiTrust website, where you can search the HathiTrust collection. In your search results, look for items labeled 'Temporary Access' or 'Access'

How do I search and use the HathiTrust ETAS?

Curbside Pickup for Print Materials (Select UofT Libraries)

Curbside Pickup Service 

Curbside Pickup Service is opening up at specific UofT Libraries but certain groups of books are excluded:  

Full List of Libraries take part in retrieval for Curbside Pickup Service

 

Curbside Pickup Locations 

Please note that items must be picked up at that specific library and they should be returned to that library since there is no delivery service between libraries or campuses at this time. 

  

Confirm Curbside options with "Get Help" Button 

When you find a book that you are interested in, check if an item is available for Curbside Pickup Service or available digitally through HathiTrust Emergency Access Service (scroll down for more info). 

Click on the 'Get help" button for that catalogue record

 

Search for eBook via UTL Databases

Please note that we might not have access to all content, but purchase suggestions to UofT Libraries

Contact Cinema Studies Librarian Kate Johnson katej.johnson@utoronto.ca to help you navigate these types of requests. 

  • Search the Library Website and limit your search results to Online 
  • These database platforms contain eBooks: 
  • Ebook platforms and collections
    • UofT Libraries has licenses with various eBook Vendors. This link takes you to a list of the platforms / collections, but they don't have great search options so it's better to use if you know the book's title and the publisher. 
    • Sometimes you will find books that we have access to but they haven't been listed yet in the library collections.
    • Get in touch with Kate if you have any questions. 

Narrow by Library Location

Note:  You can request items from other UofT campuses (UTL at Downsview, UofT Mississauga, and UofT Scarborough) to be delivered to St. George Campus - Instructions for Inter Campus Delivery Requests 

Apply the Library Location filter


Screenshot-UTL website with library location filter and +More link

You can easily narrow your search results by library location (e.g. Innis College, Robarts, etc):

  1. Submit a search 
  2. On the left side of the search result page, find the "Refine your search" box which contains filters you can apply to your search results. 
  3. Under "Library", click on your preferred library location. If you can't see the library name, click on "+More" link in the bottom right corner to view a list of all the libraries associated with your search results.

 

Cancel filter: 

Locate the filter under “Your current search” heading and click the cancel button (red-X to the right of library name) to remove the filter 

Screenshot UTL website-cancel button in Current search box

(e.g., Innis College)