Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

CIN240: Gross Out! The Body in Comedy

Online Film Collections via UofT Catalogue

A growing number of online video resources is now offered by UofT Libraries, available for classroom and individual streaming when logged in with your UTORID. Individual title records are available in the UofT Libraries Catalogue.

The full list of online film collections is continually being updated, so be sure to click through (incl. Streaming Film Resources, Educational and Curriculum Video Resources (Multi-Subject), Subject Specific Video Resources, Health and Sciences Videos. 

Just a few of the collections: 

  • Audio Cine Films
    • ACF is a film streaming service containing many new Hollywood releases (incl. Walt Disney Pictures, Pixar Animation Studios, Touchstones Pictures, Universal, Columbia Pictures, & MGM Pictures, Sony Pictures, and more) 
  • Asian film Online
    • A  selection of over 1,000 narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts by Independent Asian filmmakers. 
  • Criterion-on-Demand Canada (Feature Films)
    • Numerous Titles are available in both English and French from film studios including: Paramount Pictures, Lionsgate Films, Alliance Films, Warner Brothers, Miramax Films, Mongrel Media.
    • Browse by genre categories or search by keyword.
    • For Advanced Search, find the link marked "Click here to activate allsearch menus".
  • Docuseek2 Collection
    • "This rich selection of issues-based documentary film comes from leading film producers and distributors, including Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, the National Film Board of Canada, MediaStorm, Terra Nova Films, KimStim, and Scorpion TV, and other independent filmmakers from around the world."'
  • FADIS 
    • UofT's Visual Image Database includes Online Film Collections (incl. Art films, UTM Library's Asian Short Film Collection) 
  • Filmmakers Library
    • Collection of issues-based documentaries
  • Kanopy
    • "We stream thoughtful entertainment to your preferred device with no fees and no commercials by partnering with public libraries and universities. Everyone from film scholars to casual viewers will discover remarkable and enriching films on Kanopy. Log in with your library membership and enjoy our diverse catalog with new titles added every month."
  • NFB Campus - National Film Board of Canada
    • "Our Collection includes documentaries, animations, experimental films, fiction and interactive works. We showcase films that take a stand on issues of global importance that matter to Canadians." Note, some films are labeled as ‘Campus’ and can only be viewed while on campus and connected to the U of T network.
  • New World Cinema
    • Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present
  • World Newsreels Online
    • Over 500 newsreels from 1929–1966
  • Paley Center Seminars 
    • A unique video collection of interviews and panel discussions recorded at The Paley Center for Media (formerly the Museum of Television & Radio).
    • Full transcriptions and detailed indexing allow searching for topics, titles or speakers.
  • Silent Film Online
    • High-quality silent feature films, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s.
    • Globally minded collection includes examples of the silent film movement from Germany, Britain, the Soviet Union, and France, and complements its feature films with a selection of related documentaries.

Online Films for Viewing (Open Access)

UofT Media Archives

Media Commons (MC) Media Archives contains different film formats, personal & business documents, images & more with a focus on film / video production, advertising, electronic & print journalism, broadcasting, photographic arts, & multimedia / music production. Several collections have special focus on Canadian media & popular culture.​ ​