Research guides: CIN213: Cinema and Sensation II: Sex: Finding articles (newspaper, magazine, scholary journals, film reviews)

Tips for Building your Search

Choosing your Search Terms

Enter search terms on separate lines e.g., enter title of film on the top line, director's last name below, so as to articulate your search request. Use Boolean Operators to improve your search:

Quotations marks (search for specific phrases or names) "suburban life" "Sam Mendes" "American Beauty"	The Asterisk * (widens your search by telling the database to seek the root word with any type of ending) femin* = feminine, feminist, feminists, feminist's, feminism film* = films, filmology, filming, filmmaker's, filmmaker
AND (narrows your search) sex AND "motion pictures" porn AND distribution	OR (widens your search) film OR movies OR cinem* OR "motion pictures" media OR "mass media" transgender* OR transex* MGM OR "Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer" OR "Metro Goldwyn Mayer"
NOT (exclude term from your search) sex AND "motion pictures" NOT porn	Brackets (instruct databases on how to combine search terms) femin* AND (film* OR movies OR cinem* OR "motion pictures") "feature films" AND (queer OR LGBT* OR gay)

Resources for Sexual Diversity Studies

Article Databases

LGBT Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A major index to lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender literature. Topics include sociology, family, religion, civil liberties, etc.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Provides interdisciplinary coverage of gender-related topics including women's studies, men's studies, ethnic studies, health issues, and sexual diversity.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Resources in emerging theories and practices of radical social change, with an emphasis on political science and sexual diversity studies.
Alternative Press Index Archive This link opens in a new window

Key Journals in Sexual Diversity Studies

Interdisciplinary Databases - Use Filters! (with videos)

UofT LibrarySearch - Advanced Search for Scholarly Resources
Options for limiting searching to article with the Advanced Search functions:

1. If searching in 'Everything,' use the Format drop-down menu to select 'Articles.'
2. Select the 'Article' option in the 'Search for:' field.
3. Enter your search terms & find the Format filter (left of your search results) and choose Articles.

To limit your results to Peer-Reviewed Articles, select that filter in the left sidebar under 'Show Only.'
FIAF Film Archive Databases (OVID)
A collection of International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) Film Databases (International Index to Film Periodicals 1972 onwards and International Index to TV Periodicals 1979 to 2006). Databases are available through OVID https://bit.ly/OVIDhelpvideos
Access - Limited number of users at one time

ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary search engine of academic journals, newspapers, ebooks, dissertations and theses, and more.
Use ProQuest Search Filters to narrow your search results using filters on left sidebar
>> Peer Review (be sure the combine with Document type)
>> Full Text (PDFs stored in ProQuest)
>> Source Type (e.g., Newspapers, Magazines, Trade Magazines, Scholarly Journals)
>> Publication Title (e.g., New York Times, Variety)
>> Document Type (e.g., Feature, Front Page/Cover Story, Article, Interviews, Editorial, or try excluding advertisements)
>> Subject (this filter is most effective with scholarly journals and books, as well as, some trade journals or magazines)
Learn more about ProQuest: https://proquest.libguides.com/proquestplatform/advanced

EBSCO Platform
Multidisciplinary search engine of academic journals and ebooks.
>> Click on the "Select / deselect all" Check box to search all databases.
- Note: Selecting all databases for search may result in slow response time.
>> Filters: Peer Review, Full text
- Source Type: Academic Journals, Books, or more popular Magazines, Trade Publications (industry or professional audiences), News
- Various Subject filters

Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
This database in held with EBSCO platform and hs mostly English Language journals.
To search for reviews:
1) Under limit your results, go to publication type and select 'review'
2) Under document type select 'film review'
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary search engine of academic journals, books, and other materials across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Project MUSE
Interdisciplinary search engine of peer-reviewed academic journals and books (digital humanities and social sciences).

ProQuest Database

ProQuest

ProQuest is a platform containing over 100 databases. ProQuest contains publications (i.e., newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals, eBook titles, dissertation and theses) in different subjects areas including film. Remember you might find content in a non-film related resource from your time period, (i.e., newspapers, business or tech magazines).

1) Use the Advanced Search Tool

screen shot of ProQuest Advance Search box

2) Sort your Results

Sort your results (Relevance, Date)
- Sort by Date: It may be useful to arrange the results chronologically (oldest first) in order to follow the entire production process of a particular film, from gossip about potential stars to reviews and box-office grosses.

3) Using ProQuest Search Filters

Narrow your search results using filters on left sidebar:
- Source Type (e.g., Scholarly Journals, Newspapers, Magazines, Trade Magazines)
- Publication Title (e.g., Cinema Journal, New York Times, Variety)
- Document Type (e.g., Reviews - film or books, Feature, Front Page/Cover Story, Article, Literature Review, Interviews, Editorial, or try excluding advertisements)

4) Mark relevant records

If you find interesting articles, be sure to .

Go to the results page and click the check box to the left of the article title
When you are ready to email the articles to yourself, scroll to the top of the results list and click on Email link (on right side)
Email the marked records to yourself

Another option is to create a free ProQuest MyResearch account.

Research Guides

CIN213: Cinema and Sensation II: Sex