Research Guides: Homiletics and Exegesis: Overviews and Guidebooks

Overviews and Guidebooks

Between Two Worlds: The Challenge of Preaching Today by John Stott
ISBN: 0802806279

Publication Date: 1982-05-18

A major study on preaching that includes a historical overview of homiletics, contemporary objections to preaching, and theological foundations for preaching. The book also covers the practical aspects of how to cultivate and overcome the obstacles to Bible study as well as how to prepare sermons. It ends with a reflection on the preacher's responsibility to live the message through sincerity, earnestness, courage, and humility.
Biblical Preaching: The Development and Delivery of Expository Messages by Haddon W. Robinson; Scott Wenig (Revised by); Torrey Robinson (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781493449521

Publication Date: 2025-02-11

This bestselling textbook on biblical preaching is a contemporary classic in the field. It offers students, pastors, and Bible teachers expert guidance in the development and delivery of expository sermons. This new edition provides resources, methods, and advice for new generations of students and pastors.
Broken Words: Reflections on the Craft of Preaching by Paul Scott Wilson
ISBN: 1426720858

This book draws on Wilson's broad and deep work in homiletics to show preachers how to craft a variety of types of sermons. How do you preach from the Old Testament? What are the particular needs and challenges of preaching the Good Friday, and then the Easter, sermon? What do you do when you want to address contemporary events? Recognizing that all sermons are in some ways "broken words," he includes in each chapter an illustrative sermon, some of which work well, yet others of which don't. If you stand in the pulpit long, he reminds us, you're going to preach your share of both. Readers will learn how to vary the sources, styles, and substance of their sermons.
Christ-Centered Preaching: Redeeming the Expository Sermon by Bryan Chapell
ISBN: 9780801099748

Publication Date: 2018-05-15

In this complete guide to expository preaching, Bryan Chapell teaches the basics of preparation, organization, and delivery -- the trademarks of great preaching. This new edition of a bestselling resource, now updated and revised throughout, shows how Chapell's case for expository preaching reaches twenty-first-century readers.
Elements of Homiletic: A Method for Preparing to Preach by O. C. Edwards
ISBN: 9780814660553

Publication Date: 1990-01-01

Provides step-by-step instructions for preparing, constructing, and delivering a homily that not merely instructs but evangelizes.
A Little Book for New Preachers: Why and How to Study Homiletics by Matthew D. Kim
ISBN: 9780830853472

Publication Date: 2020-01-14

One of the central tasks of pastoral ministry is preaching the Word of God. Yet those who are called to ministry may feel unprepared, unable, or unwilling to step into this role. Moreover, the discipline of homiletics sometimes gets lost amid the exegetical questions, theological debates, and denominational disputes that overwhelm our attention. In this brief introduction to preaching, Matthew Kim helps to prepare those called to preach the Word. A seasoned preacher himself, Kim provides proven insight and guidance about the importance and history of preaching, the characteristics of faithful preaching, and the personal habits of a faithful preacher.
The New Interpreter's Handbook of Preaching
ISBN: 9780687055562

Publication Date: 2008-12-01

The New Interpreter's Handbook of Preaching is a major reference tool for preaching, with articles on every facet of Christian sermon preparation and delivery. This resource is both scholarly and practical, with scholarly treatment of topics, brief bibliographies of relevant key books and articles, and practical methodological suggestions for preachers to employ.
Preaching Jesus Christ Today: Six Questions for Moving from Scripture to Sermon by Annette Brownlee
ISBN: 9780801098826

Publication Date: 2018-05-15

Preaching Jesus Christ Today helps busy preachers approach preaching as a theological practice and a spiritual discipline as they prepare sermons week after week. Annette Brownlee explores six questions to help preachers listen to Scripture, move from text to interpretation, and understand the theological significance of the sermon.
A Sermon Workbook: Exercises in the Art and Craft of Preaching by Leonara Tubbs Tisdale; Thomas H. Troeger
ISBN: 1426774990

Publication Date: 2013-10-15

The workbook addresses the skills and arts that are essential for effective preaching in our multi-tasking, multi-ethnic, sound-bite society. It offers theological clarity about why we preach, and what matters most.
The Witness of Preaching by Thomas G. Long
ISBN: 9780664261429

Publication Date: 2016-10-10

This is a newly revised edition of one of the standard introductory preaching textbooks on the market today. Beginning with a solid theological basis, veteran preacher and best-selling author Thomas G. Long offers a practical, step-by-step guide to writing a sermon. Long centers his approach around the biblical concept of witness. This updated edition freshens up language and anecdotes, contains an extensive new analysis of the use of multimedia and its impact on preaching, and adds a completely new chapter on plagiarism in preaching.

Series

Elements of Preaching series
A series of short guides from Fortress Press covering central aspects of preaching, including interpretation, context, imagery, and delivery.
Fortress Resources for Preaching series
A series of guides from Fortress Press. Many of the guides focus on preaching specific biblical books and genres while others provide more general homiletical guidance.
Working Preacher series
A series of short guides from Fortress Press covering a range of topics in preaching, including biblical characters, current events, and humour.

Research Guides

Homiletics and Exegesis

Instruction and Theology Librarian

Overviews and Guidebooks

Series

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us