BIO200H5: Introduction to Pharmacology: Pharmacokinetic Principles

The first edition of Comprehensive Medicinal Chemistry was published in 1990 and was very well received. Comprehensive Medicinal Chemistry II is much more than a simple updating of the contents of the first edition. Completely revised and expanded, this new edition has been refocused to reflect the significant developments and changes over the past decade in genomics, proteomics, bioinformatics, combinatorial chemistry, high-throughput screening and pharmacology, and more. The content comprises the most up-to-date, authoritative and comprehensive reference text on contemporary medicinal chemistry and drug research, covering major therapeutic classes and targets, research strategy and organisation, high-throughput technologies, computer-assisted design, ADME and selected case histories. It is this coverage of the strategy, technologies, principles and applications of medicinal chemistry in a single work that will make Comprehensive Medicinal Chemistry II a unique work of reference and a single point of entry to the literature for pharmaceutical and biotechnology scientists of all disciplines and for many industry executives as well. Also available online via ScienceDirect (2006) - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com.

This new edition of The Dictionary and Substances and their Effects (DOSE) supersedes the renowned 1st edition, and offers the benefit of free sitewide access to the DOSE searchable web database. The 1st edition has been completely revised, updated and extended with all the latest significant data on the chemicals known to have adverse effects on lifeforms or the environment. The new edition is a must for all those who need easy access to a single source of the latest essential and fully referenced data on chemicals which are known to have significant toxic or environmental effects. The web database is ideal for targeted searches and customised data retrieval. The 2nd edition of DOSE includes new toxicity, environmental and regulatory data from the world's literature, presented in concise summaries. These new data are essential for the accurate assessment of the risks associated with the use and disposal of chemicals. Data on over 100 chemicals new to this edition have been added, including endocrine disruptors, food carcinogens, pesticides and compounds studied by IARC and NTP. All of the 4000 chemicals contained in the 1st edition have been reviewed. New and updated information for these chemicals includes: * occupational exposure limits for 6 countries * recent toxicity and ecotoxicity data * results of new carcinogenicity, mutagenicity and environmental fate studies * the latest regulatory requirements DOSE 2nd edition comprises 7 hardcover volumes covering over 4000 chemicals alphabetically, and includes indexes of substance names and synonyms, molecular formulae, and CAS Registry Numbers; glossaries of medical terms and Latin to English organism names; an abbreviations listing and a comprehensive guide to the types of data and their origin. Free sitewide access to the DOSE web database is included in the purchase price. In addition to the RSC print/web database package, DOSE is available via Knovel's Engineering and Scientific Online Reference, located at www.knovel.com.