MUS4300: Seminar in Jazz Studies

A course guide for MUS4300Y: Seminar in Jazz Studies

Encyclopaedias and other Reference Works

Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I This link opens in a new window
The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Website of both historical and current information for research on African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Black Thought and Culture is a landmark electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history.
Dissertations & Theses Global Closed Collection This link opens in a new window
Doctoral dissertations provide insight into some of the most recent areas of scholarly research and can be a great place to look for more materials on more recent topics or interpretations.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
This source includes brief entries on various people, places, genres, and other subjects similar to Grove Music, BUT also includes curated and up-to-date bibliographies with annotations to help you choose the most helpful materials for your area of study.
Oxford History of Western Music This link opens in a new window
Electronic access to this 5-volume set includes a volume on "Music in the Seventeenth and Eighteenth Centuries." The author (Richard Taruskin) is provocative and outspoken, challenging traditional interpretations of the music from the 17th and 18th centuries.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Contains articles on almost every aspect of western music history, with extensive entries on composers, genres, places, and subjects.
Black Women in America This link opens in a new window
In nearly 600 entries, Black Women in America celebrates the remarkable achievements of black women throughout history, highlights their ongoing contributions in America today, and represents the new research the first edition helped to generate.
African American Music Reference This link opens in a new window
This collection created by Alexander Street features music and artists in genres from Blues to Country to Bepop and more. Resources listed in this collection include biographies, memoirs, and sholarly works.
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present This link opens in a new window
This remarkable work traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African Americans on the American cultural landscape. With coverage up to and including the 2008 election of Barack Obama as the 44th President of the United States, the Encyclopedia contains approximately 1,200 fully cross-referenced entries all signed by leading scholars and experts, offering the most reliable and extensive treatment to be found on African American history in this era.
Race Relations in America This link opens in a new window
Based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, the Race Relations Department and its annual Institute were set up by the American Missionary Association to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict.

Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.

MUS4300: Seminar in Jazz Studies

Encyclopaedias and other Reference Works

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us