Skip to Main Content

Research Guides

INI100: The City Where Movies Are Made

Databases containing different types of articles (newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals)

ProQuest  

ProQuest is a platform containing 116 databases. ProQuest contains publications (i.e., newspaper, magazines, journals and book titles) in different subjects areas including film. Remember you might find content in a non-film related resource from your time period - i.e., newspapers, business or tech magazines

1) Choosing your Search Terms

  • Enter search terms on separate lines e.g., enter title of film on the top line, director's last name below, so as to articulate your search request. Use Boolean Operators to improve your search:
    • Quotations marks (search for specific phrases, e.g., "Carry on Sergeant!",  "Dead Ringers", "Toronto Silent Film Festival")
    • AND (narrows your search e.g., Toronto AND "film festival", Larry Kent AND High)
    • OR (widens your search e.g., film OR  movies OR  cinema, "Movie House" OR "Movie Theatre", “box office” OR box-office)

2) Sort your Results 

  • Sort your results (relevance, date) 
    • Sort by Date: It may be useful to arrange the results chronologically (oldest first) in order to follow the entire production process of a particular film, from gossip about potential stars to reviews and box-office grosses.

3) Using ProQuest Search Filters

  • Narrow your search results using filters on left sidebar
    • Source Type (e.g., Newspapers, Magazines, Trade Magazines, Scholarly Journals)
    • Publication Title (e.g., New York Times, Variety)
    • Document Type (e.g., Feature, Front Page/Cover Story, Article, Interviews, Editorial, or try excluding advertisements)

3) Use "Search Within" tool

Narrow your search results by adding another search term 

  • Find the Search Within link at the top of the search page or scroll to the bottom and find the Search Within toolbar
  • If you want to try a different term, be sure to go to Recent searches link in the upper right side (above your search results). Choose the previous search. 

4) Mark relevant records

If you find interesting articles, be sure to . 

  • Go to the results page and click the check box to the left of the article title  
  • When you are ready to email the articles to yourself, scroll to the top of the results list and click on Email link (on right side)
  • Email the marked records to yourself 

 

Another option is to create a free ProQuest MyResearch account.

Google Scholar 

 Set up Google Scholar to recognize that you are a UofT Student: https://onesearch.library.utoronto.ca/linkit/google-scholar

Other Popular Databases

Databases by Subject A-Z

 

Finding newspaper articles

Use the library homepage to search for newspaper articles. To find newspaper articles: 

  • Enter your keywords in the "Start your search" bar and hit enter.
  • Use the format filter to select "articles".
  • You can also also search for newspaper articles directly in the newspaper article search bar.

Tip:

  • When you search from the homepage, newspaper articles will not automatically be included in the results. Select "newspaper search" under the format filters to see the newspaper article search results.

Browse Business Publications through UofT Libraries

Explore UofT's Milt Harris Library's linked list of Business Periodicals. Browse newspapers, journals and magazines, including Harvard Business Review, The Economist, Toronto Stock Exchange Review and more. 

Instructions on how to access newspapers and journals from home

Here are direct links to newspapers and magazines that are popular amongst business students.  If you are off-campus, you will have to log in with your UTORID to read them.  With the exception of the Financial Times, all subscriptions are up to date.

 www.rotman.utoronto.ca/FacultyAndResearch/BIC/Research/Periodicals

Business Journals Databases

Look for the term "Scholarly Journals" and check that your articles have in-text citations and bibliographies.

Business Source Premier

ProQuest Platform 

  • Multidisciplinary search engine of academic journals, newspapers, ebooks, and more.
  • Use the ProQuest Filters (on the left side of page) to narrow your results  
    • Mark the Full text and/or  Peer-Review checkboxes
    • Source Type: Scholarly Journal 
    • Publication Date
    • Document Type: Article, Feature, Front Page / Cover Story, Literature Review, and more
    • Subject 
  • Access Business-focused Databases available in ProQuest 
  • ABI/INFORM Collection‎  (1971 - current)  
    • Information Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news
  • Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database‎  
    • information Canada's reference and current events - scholarly journal articles, trade publications, dissertations, books, newspapers and magazines

JSTOR

  • Includes business and economics journals.

  • Do not search by abstract, it limits the number of articles searched as a large number of articles do not have abstracts.

  • Most of the content on JSTOR is peer-reviewed, but there are some exceptions so please visit "Check if your article is in a Peer Review Journal"

 

Explore resources in the Milt Harris Library's Databases by Subject page, the complete Company or Industry LibGuides, or contact Holly Inglis for additional assistance.