CHM333H5: Bioinorganic Chemistry

Bioinorganic chemistry lies at the interface of inorganic chemistry and biochemistry, and explores the function of inorganic species in living systems - from the iron that helps our red blood cells transport oxygen to our tissues, to the calcium that forms an integral part of our bones.In his book, Rehder provides a broad overview of this dynamic field, reviewing the key chemical elements that have important biological function, and exploring how the chemistry of these elements is central to the function of biological systems.With sidebars that both review underlying principles of importance to the subject - including the concepts of magnetism and chirality - and discuss some of the analytical approaches that have enabled us to elucidate the biological role of the chemical elements, Bioinorganic Chemistry is the idealresource for those discovering the field for the first time, and who need a clear, balanced account of the subject.Online Resource CentreThe Online Resource Centre to accompany Bioinorganic Chemistry features figures from the book in electronic format, for use in lecture slides and other teaching materials.

This text has been fully revised to take account of advances in the field. Inorganic Chemistry provides the student with a critical introduction to this science and assumes little prior knowledge of inorganic chemistry. The text contains a balanced coverage of fundamental principles and their applications to the study of elements and compounds.

When this innovative textbook first appeared in 1984 it rapidly became a great success throughout the world and has already been translated into several European and Asian languages. Now the authors have completely revised and updated the text, including more than 2000 new literature references to work published since the first edition. No page has been left unaltered but the novel features which proved so attractive have been retained. The book presents a balanced, coherent and comprehensive account of the chemistry of the elements for both undergraduate and postgraduate students. This crucial central area of chemistry is full of ingenious experiments, intriguing compounds and exciting new discoveries. The authors specifically avoid the term `inorganic chemistry' since this evokes an outmoded view of chemistry which is no longer appropriate in the final decade of the 20th century. Accordingly, the book covers not only the 'inorganic' chemistry of the elements, but also analytical, theoretical, industrial, organometallic, bio-inorganic and other cognate areas of chemistry. The authors have broken with recent tradition in the teaching of their subject and adopted a new and highly successful approach based on descriptive chemistry. The chemistry of the elements is still discussed within the context of an underlying theoretical framework, giving cohesion and structure to the text, but at all times the chemical facts are emphasized. Students are invited to enter the exciting world of chemical phenomena with a sound knowledge and understanding of the subject, to approach experimentation with an open mind, and to assess observations reliably. This is a book that students will not only value during their formal education, but will keep and refer to throughout their careers as chemists.

For more than a quarter century, Cotton and Wilkinson′s Advanced Inorganic Chemistry has been the source that students and professional chemists have turned to for the background needed to understand current research literature in inorganic chemistry and aspects of organometallic chemistry. Like its predecessors, this updated Sixth Edition is organized around the periodic table of elements and provides a systematic treatment of the chemistry of all chemical elements and their compounds. It incorporates important recent developments with an emphasis on advances in the interpretation of structure, bonding, and reactivity. From the reviews of the Fifth Edition: ∗ "The first place to go when seeking general information about the chemistry of a particular element, especially when up-to-date, authoritative information is desired." -Journal of the American Chemical Society. ∗ "Every student with a serious interest in inorganic chemistry should have [this book]." -Journal of Chemical Education. ∗ "A mine of information . . . an invaluable guide." -Nature. ∗ "The standard by which all other inorganic chemistry books are judged."-Nouveau Journal de Chimie. ∗ "A masterly overview of the chemistry of the elements."-The Times of London Higher Education Supplement. ∗ "A bonanza of information on important results and developments which could otherwise easily be overlooked in the general deluge of publications." -Angewandte Chemie.

Clear writing and illustrations...Clear explanations of difficult concepts...Clear communication of the ways in biochemistry is currently understood and practiced. For over 35 years, in edition after bestselling edition, Principles of Biochemistry has put those defining principles into practice, guiding students through a coherent introduction to the essentials of biochemistry without overwhelming them. The new edition brings this remarkable text into a new era. Like its predecessors, Lehninger Principles of Biochemistry, Sixth Edition strikes a careful balance of current science and enduring concepts, incorporating a tremendous amount of new findings, but only those that help illustrate biochemistry's foundational principles. With this edition, students will encounter new information emerging from high throughput DNA sequencing, x-ray crystallography, and the manipulation of genes and gene expression, and other techniques.  In addition, students will see how contemporary biochemistry has shifted away from exploring metabolic pathways in isolation to focusing on interactions among pathways.  They will also get an updated understanding of the relevance of biochemistry to the study of human disease (especially diabetes) as well as the important role of evolutionary theory in biochemical research. These extensive content changes, as well as new art and powerful new learning technologies make this edition of Lehninger Principles of Biochemistry the most impressive yet.   See what's in the LaunchPad

Written by a preeminent teacher and scientist in the field, Bioinorganic Chemistry provides specialists, students, and general readers with an understanding of the basic chemistry of interactions of inorganic substances with biological systems at the molecular level. The author presents bioinorganic concepts in context and brings a distinct chemistry perspective to the subject.

Organized and edited by Ivano Bertini, Harry Gray, Ed Stiefel, and Joan Valentine, with contributions from many other world leaders in the field, this all-new book is equally appropriate for graduate or senior undergraduate courses in bioinorganic chemistry. The book has been extensively class-tested at Princeton and UCLA, and it includes tutorials in biology and biochemistry and in inorganic chemistry to aid students of varying backgrounds. The main text is divided into two parts. Part A, "Overviews of Biological Inorganic Chemistry," sets forth the unifying principles of the field. A full course in bioinorganic chemistry could be based entirely on this overview section, which is a really a book within a book! Part B, "Metal-Ion Containing Biological Systems," describes specific classes of systems in detail. A special feature is the strong connection to the genomic revolution that has dramatically enhanced our ability to define the function of gene products in living organisms. Throughout the book, protein data bank codes are given for structures discussed in the text, and students are encouraged to learn to use the PDB in their courses and research. This exciting new book will be a must read for years to come for all students and researchers interested in the field of biological inorganic chemistry.