This link opens in a new window
Contains citation information and abstracts from journals in nursing and health professions. The Ebsco platform is appropriate for systematic and scoping reviews as well as other advanced searches.
The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups.
This comprehensive range of resources includes over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.
Premier database for biomedical journal articles. Interface allows for expert searching (e.g. use of MeSH) when conducting systematic reviews, scoping reviews, etc. Covers approx. 4000 journals; international in scope.
Occupational Science: Society, Inclusion, Participation is the must have resource for occupational therapists, occupational scientists, students and researchers. The book begins with a comprehensive review of the current literature and the knowledge generated to date. Reasons for the field's limited impact are proposed, including its focus on individuals rather than groups and communities, its psychological view of occupation, and its narrow focus on socially approved occupations. Global realities such as poverty, anti-social behaviour and ageing populations are discussed and implications for action are considered. The second section of the books comprises a series of chapters that address the philosophical, theoretical and scientific bases that underpin and inform everyday decision making in occupational therapy practice. This is followed by a section on methodological and structural considerations. The concluding chapter offers a critical reflection on methods, strategies, values and relationships for the future, to achieve a relevant science that makes a difference to current occupational realities. Written by an internationally renowned team of contributors, this book offers a truly comprehensive critique of the field. Features ? Internationally renowned Editors and contributors ? First comprehensive text on occupational science ? Fully up to date with the latest thinking and research ? Links theory to practice
Occupational Therapy and Stroke guides newly qualified occupational therapists (and those new to the field of stroke management) through the complexities of treating people following stroke. It encourages and assists therapists to use their skills in problem solving, building on techniques taught and observed as an undergraduate. Written and edited by practising occupational therapists, the book acknowledges the variety of techniques that may be used in stroke management and the scope of the occupational therapist's role. Chapters span such key topics as early intervention and the theoretical underpinnings of stroke care, as well as the management of motor, sensory, cognitive and perceptual deficits. They are written in a user-friendly style and presented in a form that enables the therapist to review the subject prior to assessment and treatment planning. Complex problems are grouped together for greater clarity. This second edition has been fully revised and updated in line with the WHO ICF model, National Clinical Guidelines and Occupational Therapy standards. It is produced on behalf of the College of Occupational Therapists Specialist Section - Neurological Practice.
Role Emerging Occupational Therapy: Maximising Occupation FocusedPractice is written for an audience of occupational therapypractitioners, educators and students. This text offers an exploration of emerging innovativedirections for the profession of occupational therapy with a focusupon the theory and application of role emerging placements. The book affords the reader an opportunity to explore howoccupation focused practice can be applied to a wide variety ofsettings and circumstances in order to improve the health andwell-being of a diverse range of people. Chapters cover relevanttheory as well as offering practical guidance with examples drawnfrom the experiences of university educators, occupationaltherapists, setting/service providers and students. The book describes, explores and discusses both the potentialand ramifications of role emerging practice on the occupationaltherapy profession and offers a vision for the future of theprofession that reflects current occupational, social and healthneeds.
While diagnosis with a neurological condition may not be life-threatening, it can have significant impact on everyday life and on participation in activities. Occupational therapists must be able to fully consider the physical, cognitive, emotional, psychological and behavioural problems which may occur as a consequence of a neurological disorder, and understand the impact of diagnosis from a person-centred perspective. Occupational Therapy and Neurological Conditions incorporates theoretical, clinical and research evidence to support occupational therapists in the management of people with neurological conditions. Covers the key symptoms of neurological conditions and the biological basis of these within the ICF framework Provides an overview of therapy and management for all neurological conditions Includes key occupational therapy theory Case studies root concepts in real-life practice End-of-chapter self-evaluation questions help test understanding Occupational Therapy and Neurological Conditions is the ideal resource to support students, newly-qualified practitioners, and occupational therapists looking for an overview or introduction to this key area of practice.
Advanced therapies and technologies, new service delivery methods, and care upgrades in underserved areas are translating into improved quality of life for millions with disabilities. Occupational therapy parallels this progress at the individual level, balancing short-term recovery and adaptation with long-term independence and well-being. This Second Edition of the International Handbook of Occupational Therapy Interventions builds on its ground-breaking predecessor by modelling current clinical standards rooted in scientific evidence-based practice. Its interventions are applied to a diverse range of client disabilities, with many new or rewritten chapters on workplace and vehicle accommodations, smart home technologies, end-of-life planning, and other salient topics. New introductory chapters spotlight core competencies in the field, from assessing client needs and choosing appropriate interventions to evaluating programs and weighing priorities. And for increased educational value, interactive case studies allow readers an extra avenue for honing clinical reasoning and decision-making skills. Of particular note is a new chapter providing a taxonomy--the Occupational Therapy Intervention Framework--and a validation study of its categories and concepts, delineating the occupational therapist's roles and the expected outcomes. Intervention areas featured in the Handbook include: ● Adaptive interventions, OTs manage and facilitate clients' adaptations. ● Learning interventions, OTs teach and the clients learn or relearn. ● Enabling interventions, OTs enable clients to be meaningfully occupied. ● Preventing interventions, OTs prevent ill-health and promote clients' ability to sustain health in daily life. The Second Edition of the International Handbook of Occupational Therapy Interventions is career-affirming reading for all members of rehabilitation teams, including occupational and physical therapists and rehabilitation nurses. Students intending to enter this growing field and professionals working toward its continued improvement will find it useful and inspiring.
Domestic abuse has reached epidemic proportions in the United States. Are you prepared to work with the people whose lives it has changed? Domestic Abuse Across the Lifespan: The Role of Occupational Therapy reframes the problem of domestic violence, taking it out of the home and into the practice of occupational therapy. It identifies the effects of all types of domestic abuse (spousal, child, elder, etc.) as well as frameworks to address dysfunction that has occurred secondary to the abuse. This book shows that the effects of domestic abuse are indeed in the realm of occupational therapy practice, and that just as occupational therapists would consider other environmental concerns (i.e. kitchen and bathroom safety), they must also consider abuse and its effects. Domestic Abuse Across the Lifespan: The Role of Occupational Therapy provides you with: definitions and illustrative examples of each type of domestic violence risk factors for becoming a victim or an abuser an examination of the occupational therapist's role with victims of abuse reasons why women may decide to refuse intervention a discussion of the connection between victim advocacy and occupational therapy a case study detailing the clinical findings and treatment of a six-month-old infant with shaken baby syndrome who received in-patient occupational therapy a case study of a child witness of domestic abuse and the use of the Occupational Therapy Psychosocial Assessment of Learning (OT PAL) in measuring the psychosocial aspects of his performance in a nontraditional classroom setting a checklist for occupational therapists who encounter elder abuse and a case study that illustrates its use . . . and much more! The number of people whose lives are scarred by domestic abuse is vast and growing every day. Occupational therapists working in many different settings will encounter children, adults, elders, and individuals with disabilities who have experienced intimate violence and abuse. Domestic Abuse Across the Lifespan: The Role of Occupational Therapy is the tool to help you help them.
An all-in-one resource covering the basics of point-of-care assessment and intervention, Mosby's Field Guide to Occupational Therapy for Physical Dysfunction helps you master the skills you need to become competent in occupational therapy (OT) or as an occupational therapy assistant (OTA). It is ideal for use as a clinical companion to Mosby's bestselling texts, Pedretti's Occupational Therapy: Practice Skills for Physical Dysfunction and Physical Dysfunction Practice Skills for the Occupational Therapist Assistant. Expert information covers anatomy, assessment tools, screening tools, and more, and is provided in a compact format that's easy to use on the go. A quick-reference format uses illustrations, charts, and tables to organize key data. Logical, easy-to-find sections are organized and based on the OT Framework covering evaluation, intervention, intervention plan, and service management, making it easy to find essential facts, procedures, and applications. UNIQUE! Expert Advice tips and Pearls provide helpful pediatric and geriatric information that can be applied in the clinical setting. Basic guidelines refer back to leading textbooks, Pedretti's Occupational Therapy and Physical Dysfunction Practice Skills for the Occupational Therapist Assistant, for more detailed information. Coverage of all patient populations includes adult, pediatric, mental health, and neurological conditions. Convenient index makes it easy to locate tools you need to evaluate or treat a specific region or area. Pocket size and lay-flat binding provide convenience and portability for easy reference.
This book locates older people as major clients of occupational therapy services. It provides a comprehensive resource for students and a basic working reference for clinicians. The book encompasses current theories, debates and challenges which occupational therapists need to engage in if they are to provide pro-active and promotional approaches to ageing. Detailed coverage of bodily structures, functions and pathologies leads onto chapters dedicated to activity, occupation and participation. The ethos of the book is to inspire innovation in the practice of occupational therapy with older people, promoting successful ageing that entails control and empowerment. This new edition has been fully revised and updated. In addition brand new material has been included on occupational transitions (retirement, frailty and end of life); user perspectives; public health including advocacy, enablement and empowerment; people entering old age with disability and mental health conditions; visual impairment; assistive technology driving and ageism.
Occupational Therapy Evidence in Practice for Mental Health is an accessible and informative guide to the application of theory and the evidence-base to contemporary clinical practice. Fully updated throughout, chapters cover a range of mental health issues, approaches and settings, including service user and carer involvement, group work, services for older people, interventions, forensic mental health, and managing depression. Key Features Written by an expert author team, drawing on a wide range of evidence, service contexts, national policy and legislation. Focus on person-centred practice in mental health services. Each chapter also contains a variety of learning features, including task boxes, reflective questions and further readings, to aid understanding and demonstrate the use of evidence to inform clinical decision-making. The second edition of this easy-to-read and practical textbook is an ideal resource for occupational therapy students, clinical practitioners, and anyone looking for a concise, accessible guide to evidence-based practice and how it informs occupational therapy in mental health.
Boosting Learning in the Primary Classroom is your one-stop practical guide to understanding the physical development of children and how this affects their ability to learn. Not only does it explain the reasons behind the theories but provides over 75 practical tips that really work in the classroom. The book is based on a successful five-step approach to help children acquire the skills needed to manage at school and daily life. It works by being able to pinpoint a problem, assists others in recognising the impact that difficulty is having to the child and then provides strategies to develop that child's specific skills. Using the latest medical research and established occupational therapy techniques to obtain great results, this approach provides teachers with the tools to use different knowledge and strategies to engage children in the learning process. Key ideas explored include: Exploring the reasons for poor handwriting Increasing Disability Awareness The link between body posture and concentration Dyspraxia in a school setting Play develops learning Understanding sensory behaviour By providing teachers with an understanding of physical child development and the impact this has in the classroom, this book demonstrates how teachers can use this knowledge to boost the learning of their primary-aged children. It encourages teachers to identify improvements in the child's progress of not just educational learning targets but also in physical motor development, using real life case studies, latest theory and tried & tested occupational therapy methods to help every child improve.
Competence in any profession depends upon an understanding of the theory that underlies it. This concise and practical text for students and practitioners bridges the gap between occupational therapy theory and clinical practice, offering highly practical advice on using theory in practice in a wide range of settings. It considers the nature of professional practice and the need for a sound theoretical basis from which to plan, implement and justify interventions, and investigates the practical use of occupational therapy theory and the issues such use raises in health and social care settings from a European perspective. Every occupational therapy student worldwide needs to know about the underlying theory of their profession and its application to practice. The book particularly debates the nature of the theory of occupational therapy via the introduction of the concept of models of the profession as an umbrella for practice, all of which is brought to life via case studies incorporating expert advice, reflection exercises and assessment and evaluation forms.
The push for evidence-based practice has increased the demand for high-quality occupational science and occupational therapy research from conceptualisation of the study through to publication. This invaluable collection explores how to produce rigorous qualitative research by presenting and discussing a range of methodologies and methods that can be used in the fields of occupational science and therapy. Each chapter, written by an experienced researcher in the relevant methodology, includes examples of research, foundational knowledge and therapeutic applications. Including new and cutting-edge methodologies, the book covers: Qualitative Descriptive Grounded Theory Phenomenology Narrative Ethnography Action Research Case Study Critical Discourse Analysis Visual Methodologies Metasynthesis Appreciative Inquiry Critical Theory and Philosophy Designed for occupational science and occupational therapy researchers, this book develops the reader's ability to produce and critique high quality qualitative research that is epistemologically sound and rigorous.
Comprehensive and informative, the extensively revised fifth edition of Occupational Therapy in Psychiatry and Mental Health is an accessible overview of occupational therapy in psychiatry, providing key information on a range of international models of occupational therapy as well as their practical applications. The fifth edition includes: * Case studies throughout to illustrate application of theory to practice * Coverage of key concepts and issues in occupational therapy * New material on emerging areas of practice * Comprehensive information on assessment and treatment for children, adolescents and adults, covering key mental health conditions Occupational Therapy in Psychiatry and Mental Health is an ideal resource for students in occupational therapy, newly qualified and experienced practitioners, and other allied health professionals seeking an up-to-date, globally relevant resource on psychiatry and mental health care.