Research guides: HIS340H5: The European Reformation, c. 1450-1600: Background Information

Oxford Bibliographies Online

Oxford Bibliographies Online
Suggested entires include:
– The Reformation
– The Radical Reformation
– Political Thought
– John Calvin
– Martin Luther

Reference Sources

These sample sources will provide background information on the time periods and events related to your topic. You can also find more print and online reference books via the UTL Catalogue. These sources may help you identify primary sources or the individuals to research for primary sources.

Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World by Jonathan Dewald
Publication Date: 2004 (E-Book)
A six-volume survey of European history from 1450, the beginning of the print revolution, to 1789 and the French Revolution. Entries cover the period's significant personalities and meaningful developments in the arts, religion, politics, exploration, and warfare. For students, scholars, and general readers.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance by Gordon Campbell
Publication Date: 2003 (E-Book)
This dictionary provides rich detail on all aspects of the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe. It includes comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation by Hans J. Hillerbrand (Editor)
Publication Date: 1996 (E-Book)
Source for information about the entire range of religious and social changes that altered the face of Europe in the sixteenth century, encompassing not only issues of church polity and theology but also developments in politics, economics, demographics, art and literature.
The New Cambridge Modern History
Volume 2: The Reformation, 1520-1559 by G. R. Elton (Editor)
ISBN: 0521345367
Publication Date: 1990 (E-Book)
This is the second, amended and enlarged edition of a familiar standard work, first published in 1958. Like its predecessor, it describes the open conflicts of the Reformation from Luther's first challenge to the uneasy peace of the 1560's. Reforming movements in all the principal countries are discussed, against the background of constitutional development and the political struggles of the ruling dynasties.
The Cambridge Companion to Reformation Theology by David V. Bagchi (Editor); David C. Steinmetz (Editor)
Publication Date: 2004 (E-Book)
The Cambridge Companion to Martin Luther by Donald K. McKim (Editor)
Publication Date: 2003
Historians and theologians join here to present a full picture of Luther's contexts, the major themes in his writings, and the ways in which his ideas spread and have continuing importance today. Each chapter serves as a guide to its topic and provides further reading for additional study.
The Cambridge Companion to John Calvin by Donald K. McKim (Editor)
Publication Date: 2004 (E-Book)
John Calvin (1509-64) stands with Martin Luther (1483-1546) as the premier theologian of the sixteenth-century Protestant Reformation. Historians and theologians meet to present a full picture of Calvin's contexts, the major themes in Calvin's writings, and the ways in which his thought spread and has increasing importance. Chapters serve as guides to their topics and provide further readings for additional study.
The Cambridge Companion to the Jesuits by Thomas Worcester (Editor)
Publication Date: 2008 (E-Book)
Ignatius of Loyola (1491–1556) obtained papal approval in 1540 for a new international religious order called the Society of Jesus. Until the mid-1700s the 'Jesuits' were active in many parts of Europe and far beyond. Gaining both friends and enemies in response to their work as teachers, scholars, writers, preachers, missionaries and spiritual directors, the Jesuits were formally suppressed by Pope Clement XIV in 1773 and restored by Pope Pius VII in 1814.
The Oxford Handbook of the Early Modern Sermon by Peter McCullough (Editor); Hugh Adlington (Editor); Emma Rhatigan (Editor)
Publication Date: 2011 (E-Book)
It is divided into sections devoted to sermon composition, delivery, and reception; sermons in Scotland, Ireland, and Wales; English sermons, 1500–1660; and English sermons, 1660–1720.
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment by Alan Charles Kors (Editor)
Publication Date: 2002 (E-Book)
It covers the “long” Enlightenment, from the rise of Descartes' disciples in 1670 to the restoration of the Bourbon monarchy in 1815. The geographical coverage includes not only Western Europe but also North America, Brazil, and Iberian, Russian, Jewish, and Eastern European cultures.
A History of Law in Europe: From the Early Middle Ages to the Twentieth Century by Antonio Padoa-Schioppa; Caterina Fitzgerald (Translator)
Publication Date: 2017 (E-Book)
Part III - The Early Modern Period (16th–18th centuries)
Part IV - The Age of Reforms (1750–1814)

Biography

Encyclopedia of World Biography (2nd. ed)

These collections can provide valuable information about key figures in history. Many entries will list sources for the individual and identify key works written by the person. Once you can identify the title of a publication, you can search in the UTL catalogue or primary source text collections.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (DNB)

OED: Origin of Words

Oxford English Dictionary Online (OED)
To take advantage of OED, take a look at the Video guides
Entries in the OED are supported by quotation evidence with real examples of words in use shown throughout the written record.
The primary function of OED quotations is to illustrate the way a word or sense is used through its history from its earliest use to the present day or, in the case of obsolete words and senses, the last period during which it was in use.