Research guides: WGS202H5: Fundamentals of Research in Women and Gender Studies: Foundations, Foundational Resources

Recommended Book and References

Please consult your course readings first. Secondly, if you have taken WGS101H5, you probably have this book:

Feminist Research Practice: A Primer by Sharlene Hesse Biber (Editor)
Call Number: HQ1180 .H47 2014
Publication Date: 2013
WGS202 COURSE TEXTBOOK
Women's Realities, Women's Choices: An Introduction to Women's and Gender Studies by Joan Simalchik
Call Number: HQ1181 .U5 W6532 2017
Publication Date: 2017
This is the textbook for WGS101.
Handbook of Feminist Research by Sharlene Hesse Biber (Editor)
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2011
The Oxford Handbook of Multimethod and Mixed Methods Research Inquiry by Sharlene Nagy Hesse-Biber (Editor); R. Burke Johnson (Editor)
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2015
― Feminist Approaches to Multimethod and Mixed Methods Research: Theory and Praxis
― Feminism, Causation, and Mixed Methods Research

Definitions and Key Concepts

When scholars define key terms and concepts in their publications, some use the Oxford English Dictionary (OED) or Oxford Reference Online while others cite terms and concepts that were coined and/or explained by other scholars.

The OED offers general definitions and etymological information while Oxford Reference Online focuses on disciplinary definitions.

Oxford English Dictionary Online (OED)
To take advantage of OED, take a look at the Video guides
Entries in the OED are supported by quotation evidence with real examples of words in use shown throughout the written record.
The primary function of OED quotations is to illustrate the way a word or sense is used through its history from its earliest use to the present day or, in the case of obsolete words and senses, the last period during which it was in use.
Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Bibliographies Online

★ Oxford Bibliographies Online provides annotated bibliographies, which help you find primary sources and secondary sources, such as scholarly books, chapters, and articles.

Click and login with UTORID:

Oxford Bibliographies Online

0:00 -- Oxford Bibliographies Online is a tool, not for citing
1:38 -- Simple Search
3:01 -- Advanced Search
4:36 -- Abortion (Entry) as an Example
6:30 -- Finding Scholarly Articles and Books and Primary Sources
10:16 -- Disciplinary Differences
11:01 -- Get Help