HMU111: Introduction to Music and Society
This is a research guide for the course HMU111: Introduction to Music and Society
Books
The reference section of the library contains research guides for different composers, musical genres, and areas of study. Research guides are a great place to start because they will provide an overview of the topic and point you in the direction of the most important publications on a particular topic. Examples:
The library has handbooks on music from all over the world:
The Garland Handbook of Latin American Music by Call Number: e-bookThe Garland Handbook of Latin American Music is comprised of essays from The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music: Volume 2, South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean.
Olsen, Dale A., and Daniel Sheehy, eds. The Garland Handbook of Latin American Music. New York: Routledge, 2015.
The Garland Handbook of African Music by Call Number: e-bookThe Garland Handbook of African Music is comprised of essays from The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music: Volume 1, Africa.
Stone, Ruth M., ed. The Garland Handbook of African Music. 2nd ed. New York: Routledge, 2008.
North American Fiddle Music by Call Number: ML128 .V4 B45 2011North American Fiddle Music: A Research and Information Guide is the first large-scale annotated bibliography and research guide on the fiddle traditions of the United States and Canada.
Beisswenger, Drew. North American Fiddle Music: A Research and Information Guide. New York: Routledge, 2011.
Baila! by Call Number: ML128 .D3 G73 2013This extraordinary new work, a companion to the recent ADP title Afro-Cuban Music, picks up where that volume leaves off, focusing on the diffusion of Cuban popular musical styles throughout the Americas as well as the creation of new hybrids in places such as Puerto Rico, the Dominican Republic, Mexico, Colombia, Venezuela and Latin New York.
Gray, John. Baila!: A Bibliographic Guide to Afro-Latin Dance Musics from Mambo to Salsa. Nyack, N.Y.: African Diaspora Press, 2013.
Blues, Funk, Rhythm and Blues, Soul, Hip Hop, and Rap by Call Number: e-bookThis much needed bibliography fills an important gap in this research area and will prove an indispensable resource for librarians and scholars studying African American music and culture.
Meadows, Eddie S. Blues, Funk, Rhythm and Blues, Soul, Hip Hop, and Rap: A Research and Information Guide. New York: Routledge, 2010.
Ethnomusicology by Call Number: ML128 .E8 P67 2011Ethnomusicology: A Research and Information Guide is an annotated bibliography of books, recordings, videos, and websites in the field of ethnomusicology.
Post, Jennifer C. Ethnomusicology: A Research and Information Guide. 2nd ed. New York: Routledge, 2011.
The reference section also contains guides for researching and writing about music more generally. Examples:
Music Library and Research Skills by Call Number: ML3797 .G68 2016Concise and engaging, this text covers a wide range of reference sources for research in all genres of music.
Gottlieb, Jane. Music Library and Research Skills. 2nd ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2016.
Writing about Music by Call Number: ML3797 .W75 2008A revised and updated resource for authors, students, editors, concert producers--anyone who deals with classical music in print.
Holoman, Kern. Writing about Music: A Style Sheet. 2nd ed. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2008.
Writing about Music by Call Number: ML3797 .W54 2009Helping users write clear, convincing, persuasive prose on musical topics, this practical guide focuses on general writing issues as well as special challenges of writing about music-with clear, step-by-step explanations of the process of writing a paper.
Wingell, Richard J. Writing about Music: An Introductory Guide. 4th ed. New Jersey: Pearson, 2009.
Finally, the library has books on the major themes of the course:
Music and Meaning by Call Number: ML3920 .B88 2004This fascinating and illuminating study brings together a wealth of information gained from individuals who reveal how music has had an effect on their lives.
Butterton, Mary. Music and Meaning: Opening Minds in the Caring and Healing Professions. Oxford: Radcliffe Medical Press, 2004.
Rebel Musics by Call Number: ML3916 .F57 2003A fascinating journey into a rich, complex world, where music and politics unite, where rebel musicians are mobilizing for political change and social justice.
Fischlin, Daniel, and Ajay Heble, eds. Rebel Musics: Human Rights, Resistant Sounds, and the Politics of Music Making. Montreal: Black Rose Books, 2003.
Music Sociology by Call Number: e-bookMusic Sociology explores 16 different genres to demonstrate that music everywhere reflects social values, organisational processes, meanings and individual identity.
Horsfall, Sara Towe, Jan-Martijn Meij, and Meghan D. Probstfield, eds. Music Sociology: Examining the Role of Music in Social Life. Boulder, C.O.: Paradigm Publishers, 2013.
