Skip to main content

Mineral Engineering

A research guide to help you find relevant books and articles in the field of mineral and mining engineering

Search the Library Catalogue

Search the library catalogue:

 Advanced Search

 

Searching the catalogue is one way to find books, handbooks, dictionaries and encyclopedias. You can use the catalogue search in the box above, or you can search from the Engineering & Computer Science Library's homepage.

Some possible keywords related to Metallurgy and Materials Science are:

  • mineral industries
  • mining law
  • mining machinery
  • strip mining
  • engineery geology
  • mineral resources

 

 

 

You might want to focus on a specific mineral, such as: 

  • gold mines
  • silver mines
  • coal mines
 

 

 

 

Or a specific aspect of Mineral and Mining Engineering, such as:

  • environmental aspects
  • economic aspects

 

Types of Books

When should I use handbooks or manuals?

  • You already know a bit about the topic
  • You want to find instructions, guidelines, or rules

Suggestions:

 Book Cover Image  SME Mining Engineering Handbook (print) 

Call Number: Reference TN145 .S56 1992 2 vols.


 Book Cover Image  Rock Blasting Terms and Symbols (print)

Call Number: Stacks TN279 .R63 1998


 Book Cover Image  Canadian and American Mines Handbook (print)

Call Number: Reference HD9506 .C22 C36

When should I use dictionaries?

  • Finding definitions for terms or concepts

Suggestions:

 Book Cover Image  Dictionary of Mining, Mineral and Related Terms (print)

Call Number: Reference TN9 .D564 1997X

When should I use encyclopedias?

  • Background information
  • Familiarizing yourself with a new topic

Suggestions:

 Book Cover Image Encyclopedia of tunneling, mining and drilling equipment (print)  

Call Number: Reference TN345 .S83 1995 3 vols.

Loading