Skip to main content

Civil Engineering

A research guide to help you find relevant books and articles in the field of civil engineering

Search the Library Catalogue

Search the library catalogue:

 Advanced Search

 

Searching the catalogue is one way to find books, handbooks, dictionaries and encyclopedias. You can use the catalogue search in the box above, or you can search from the Engineering & Computer Science Library's homepage.

Some possible keywords related to Civil Engineering are:

  • civil engineering  
  • systems engineering
  • structural design
  • product testing
  • building codes
  • product design
  • environmental design
  • construction

Types of Books

When should I use handbooks or manuals?

  • You already know a bit about the topic
  • You want to find instructions, guidelines, or rules

Suggestions:

Book Cover Image Eshbach's handbook of engineering fundamentals (ebook)


Book Cover Image  Formulas for stress, strain, and structural matrices (print)

Call Number: Reference TA407.2 .P55 2005X


Book Cover Image  Handbook of civil engineering calculations (ebook)


Book Cover Image  Highway engineering handbook: building and rehabilitating the infrastructure (ebook)


Book Cover Image  Standard handbook for civil engineers (print)

Call Number: Stacks TA151 .S8 2004


  Book Cover Image  Structural steel designer's handbook : AISC, AASHTO, AISI, ASTM, AREMA, and ASCE-07 design standards (print)

Call Number: Reference TA684 .S78 2006


Book Cover Image  Civil Engineer's handbook of professional practice (ebook)


Book Cover Image The Engineer's Manual of Construction Site Planning (ebook)


Book Cover Image  Steel Designer's Handbook (ebook and print)

Call Number: Stacks TA684 .G65 2012

When should I use dictionaries?

  • Finding definitions for terms or concepts

Suggestions:

 Book Cover Image The new Penguin dictionary of civil engineering

 

When should I use encyclopedias?

  • Background information
  • Familiarizing yourself with a new topic

Suggestions:

Book Cover Image  Encyclopedia of bridges and tunnels (print)

Call Number: Stacks TG9 .J64 2002X

Loading